We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok, Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

In a very busy area of Troy. We've always wanted to try a Drury, because they are often highly rated.
The room was small but comfortable and clean. The breakfast room was small but nice. Breakfast was good and included.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    157
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
234
125
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here 5 nights (actually writing this on our last night here). This hotel is a remarkable bargain ($90/night) in the greater Detroit area. We were visiting the Detroit Zoo, the Detroit Institute of Arts, Greenfield Village and the Henry Ford Museum. Plus visiting old friends in Royal Oak. The hotel has easy access to the highways so we were never more than 25 minutes from our locations.

The rooms and lobby were very clean and the free breakfast and free evening snacks (more like dinner!) were substantial. We saved a lot of money since we only had dinner out one evening! The wireless internet worked perfectly.

Only one significant complaint-the pool area. It is unsupervised and during our entire stay we never saw a hotel staff member even walk by or glance in. Although the rules state that children cannot be in the pool or hot tub without a parent present, this was a problem every night of our stay. Kids were running on the wet pool deck, jumping in without looking and leaping into the hot tub as if it were a pool. No parental supervision. This made the pool area unpleasant for others. We did finally complain tonight after leaving the pool. Hopefully the management will address this issue before someone gets hurt and they get sued. This kind of behavior is certainly a turn-off for other guests who are watching their kids and for those without children.

The hotel does have adult swim time only on Fri. and Sat. nights (should be every night) from 10-11 p.m. per what staff told us. Unfortunately for us, last night. (Sat.) there was a large male choir group-at least 35 men who thought it was cute to stuff 25 of them into the hot tub during adult swim. No staff intervention at all so we exited the pool area without even getting in. Again another night where unsupervised rude behavior ruins the pool area for others.

We hope management addresses the pool problems because this is otherwise a very nice hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the complimentary amenities. Your feedback regarding the indoor pool area is very much appreciated and your comments will help us improve. Thank you once again and we look forward to being at your service the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dru_travels_alot
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Nice, clean, mid-class hotel. Homey atmosphere. Wireless internet is included. Free breakfast buffet offered. Location close to I75 and pretty much attached to a TGI Fridays. Close to shopping (Somerset Collection) and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DES_travels_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed here for a weekend when in town for a family function and was very pleased. We needed 2 rooms, called after booking online and they said they'd try to get us near each other. When we checked in, had adjoining rooms. Rooms were very clean, bathroom was large, and very quiet. Reasonable rates especially when you factor in the hot breakfast (many options). I was just sad our plans did not allow us to try out the happy hour. Would definitely stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I made a reservation online at the Drury Inn for a long weekend in June as we were in town for a family wedding.....we were actually scheduled to check out on Saturday morning. Prior to our arrival, I was on Facebook and "Liked" Drury's Inn & Suites. They ran a promotion one weekend and gave out certificates for a free room upgrade. We were already booked in a suite, but when we checked in, Kay at the Front Desk adjusted our reservation and gave us the suite for a corporate rate standard room. Any other chain hotel would have told us "sorry we can't help you now". ALL staff at Drury are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are great and the breakfast and evening offerings are substantial and enjoyed by all guests. We actually decided to cancel our Saturday night reservation at another hotel and stay the additional night at Drury. We would definitely come back to the Drury Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are excited that you were able to use the free upgrade coupon from Facebook! Can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at the Drury Inn in Troy for just one night to attend a Tigers game. The hotel is in a great location – only about 15 minutes from the city center and Comerica Park, but in a nice suburb of Detroit. The property is connected to a T.G.I Friday’s, which is also very convenient. The room was impeccably clean and the entire staff was great. The hot snacks in the evening – hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, salad, baked potatoes – plus the complimentary drinks - were really an incredible value. The general manager – Mr. Del Serrone - was in the lobby during the entire evening reception, serving drinks and socializing with all of the guests. It was a nice touch to see a manager who was not afraid to do some “dirty work,” and was willing to interact with guests. We always look for Drurys anywhere we travel, and consistently receive a clean room with superior service.

One great thing about this location that we did not see at other Drury properties… the pool is open from 10-11 just for adults, which is extremely nice, especially with a hotel full of kids. We appreciated it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I will start off by saying that I am a HUGE Embassy Suites fan because of the size of their rooms, their great made-to-order breakfasts and their unlimited free (minus tip) beer, wine and liquor beverages every evening.

I was unaware that Drury Inn's offer almost the same amenities at a much lower cost that Embassy Suites.

I will start off with the access to the hotel. The Drury on Big Beaver Rd is very convienent with a location just off I-75 and is very close to a large amount of retail shopping and eateries. The access road off Big Beaver is not marked, to my recollection, however I had no probelm finding it. The hotel entrance for vehicle traffic is crammed into a small space and trying to park in front of the doors to check-in was not easy.

The check inn process was VERY quick, however the two guests in front of me were not processed as fast resulting in a little wait. I walked in to the hotel as these two guests were already being helped therefore I do not know what the hold-up was about. Again, when it was my turn I was processed very quickly, given directions and was explained about what the hotel had to offer.

The "5:30 Kickback" as they call it offers hotel guests three free adult beverages and a nice assortment of snacks or dinner if you so choose. The hotel provides you with a card in which you have to present to the bar so they can check it off, keeping your number of drinks to three. The food comprised of hotdogs with classic fixings, and ingredients for classic nachos. Also available 24/7 was a soda fountain with an assortment of pop.

My family used the indoor pool at the facility and found it to be very nice. The pool was clean, the pool deck was clean and the towels were always kept stocked. The pool was also open until at least 10pm.

The rooms & bathrooms were very clean and the beds & pillows were comfortable with an easy to use climate control dial. The television was in HD which is a nice touch. Our room also had a small fridge and microwave. I will say that the hotel is a little bit of a maze with several winding hallways. There is also no shortage of elevators at this hotel which made getting up ando

We did seek suggestions from the front desk staff for recommendations on pizza joints in the area. I had done some homework prior to arriving and found about 15 different places with only about five being large chains. We hoped that the staff would have some insight on some great pizza espcially since there were so many options. (Just ask me about pizza joints, or any other food for that matter, and be ready for some options.) The desk staff provided us three options, two being large pizza chains. Knowing how many pizza places were close by we were a little surprised we were simply handed menu's to only three different places. I don't want to be overly critical and will add that there is no dedicated concierge and I believed that the staff was appropriately helpful and ended up using one of their options.

There was no option to check out or view your bill on the television which I enjoy as it is convienent. Also, no bill was delivered to the room for my review either. However, checkout was a breeze with a simple call to the desk.

For the price we paid for this room, $89.00 with taxes included, we could not have found a better deal anywhere around Troy, which historically is a high dollar area. Our visit has opened my eyes to this chain of hotels and will certainly look for other Drury Inn's the next time we search for a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilligaf462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Address: 575 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-5221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troy
#3 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy is 20 miles north of Detroit off I-75: a convenient hotel close to the Canadian border and Lake St. Clair. Upscale shopping at Somerset Collection is two miles away. Guests enjoy Drury's clean and comfortable rooms, waking up to a free hot breakfast and relaxing with free evening beverages at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Troy Hotel Troy
Drury Inn And Suites Troy
Drury Inn Troy
Drury Inn Hotel Troy
Drury Troy
Troy Drury
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing