We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shopping trip!”
Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great shopping trip!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

If you're headed to the Sommerset Collection for shopping, this hotels location doesn't get any better. You can walk across the street to Neiman Marcus! How can you go wrong? Hotel staff was friendly. Rooms were clean and well kept. Free Wi-fi is always a nice bonus. Hotel wasn't very busy, which was nice. Breakfast was quite good in the hotel restaurant. I would return in the future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Orchidaceous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for the wonderful remarks regarding the Somerset Inn. We appreciate your kind comments and we're thrilled that you had a pleasant stay. On behalf of the hotel thank you for choosing the Somerset Inn. We loved having you as a guest and we hope that you'll visit again soon! Thank you and warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    79
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
34
31
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lewisberry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My room had bugs.Mostly eight legged type,including a couple of crushed one's in my bed when I woke up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Martin G,
I had hoped that you would reply to my personal message to you, but to date I have not heard from you. Therefore I must respond to your post online. To reiterate my personal message, I’d like to apologize to you on behalf of the hotel for the spider that you had in your room at the Somerset Inn. Our Front Desk associate that you spoke with upon departing the hotel advised me that according to your verbal complaint at the desk, it was a spider at issue.

I must say that I completely understand the annoyance of a spider. I too don’t like it when I travel to other areas and have a spider in my hotel room… but I also understand that it can happen, anywhere, because these are no doubt pesky little nuisances. However, to go online and post a review that’s titled “BUGS,” is completely misleading. The heading absolutely infers something totally different than what the actual issue was. In the future a more fitting headline would not only be fair-minded, but appreciated. Nonetheless, you did have a spider in your room and for that we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Ended up switching to this hotel at the last minute and glad I did.
Very clean, nice guest shampoos and soaps!

Need extra time at the restuarant for breakfast though and not the most friendly service, unless you are a regular.

Also, had a BIG with problem with the front desk help. Room was paid for by one party and they indicated there was no way they could switch to another party's card - extremely frustrating, but the most frustrating part was that the front desk employee really did not understand what we actually were asking her to do.

Oh well. Still great place to stay.

Room Tip: The elevators are a bit slow, so the higher up you are, the longer it will take so do not be in a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaBrSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We frequently stay here as it is located adjacent to Troy Mall. Staff are extremely attentive and at slow times of the year, suites with living areas are reduced in price. Keurig coffer makers in the rooms. Sorry, no free breakfast but the on site restaurant offers good menu options.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okieOKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for the wonderful compliments about the Somerset Inn. We appreciate your kind comments and we're thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. On behalf of the hotel, we loved having you as a guest and we hope that you'll visit again soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Komoka
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Lovely hotel and the restaurant is really good. Room service was prompt, friendly and reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katharineb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

First time staying at Somerset Inn. Overall experience is good. Rooms are a good size. Hotel staff are friendly, greeting us as we come and go. Located next to the Somerset Collection so it is an excellent location for shoppers.

Bathrooms need to be updated. Beds are not the most comfortable, but lots of pillows available.

Parking is free and so is wireless internet in the rooms.

Will stay here again.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lainie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend. Anything one can expect from a mid range hotel. Clean and specious room, good bed and shower. Good restaurant - had two breakfasts and one dinner, good food and excellent service at a very reasonable price. Two minor issues: in the morning every door save for our room had a newspaper in front of it. Asked reception for one and was charged $2.50. Would have accepted it, but printed price on the paper was $1.00. Guess business is good if margins are so high. Second, beware of room 201. The cooling and heating unit is not good at taking instructions. It either full blast cold or hot, nothing in between.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanchoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
1.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Property: Somerset Inn
Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Somerset Inn Troy, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing