We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Overall good hotel for the money . I was expecting a little more from the hotel as it relates to sommerset but basically a rebadged Holiday Inn with some cosmetics to make it look a little fancier. By the way rooms on the first floor towards the opposite end of the mall the hallway to the room smelled like a gym locker (not sure if I caught it at a bad time or what)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Victor K. -- Thank you for selecting the Somerset Inn during your recent visit to Troy. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Be assured our housekeeping department is very diligent and they will swiftly take care of any odor, should it still exist. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    78
    55
    20
    5
See reviews for
31
31
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

There for a night on business. It was the only place available during the Auto show week. The location is ok, across from a shopping mall but it was a 10 min drive from where I needed to be (downtown Birmingham).

The room itself was a good size but flooded with cheap 'bright white LED' lighting in the main area (I was glowing) The bathroom was the only normal lighting.

Food was ok from room service. Better than anticipated (had a burger).

The downside was that the room walls were thin. I had more than enough entertainment from the rooms adjoining mine (no need for TV). Good range of programming too:) from X-Rated (quite vocal 'passion' coming from one room) to comical (a loud talking lady reminiscent of Phyllis Diller on the other side complaining about her laptop.

All in all - it's a decent hotel but not my first choice if/when returning to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
568 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business for a tradeshow. Hotel in the middle of Troy and Somerset mall which is upscale. This hotel though is not upscsle. My room was small with aqueen bed and a small bathroom. Heater was loud. Fitness center was sparse at best. Had no weights, water or windows. Staff friendly. Bed comfortable and good location.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,422 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at Somerset once again for our annual Black Friday weekend shopping marathon. You just can't beat the convenience of the location!

Once again check in and check out was very quick, and the service at the front desk was very friendly and professional. Our room was similar to the one we had on our last stay (not too large, a little dated, but very clean) and it overlooked the residential area behind the hotel.

On our second night we didn't feel like venturing back out, so we ordered a bottle of wine and a couple of club sandwiches from room service. The prices were very reasonable and the quality was decent if not exceptional. Delivery was very prompt.

When we checked out Sunday morning we were very pleasantly surprised to discover that one of the employees was blowing the snow that had fallen overnight off of all of the guests' cars! This was a first for us, and a very pleasant and memorable way to leave the Somerset Inn.

See you next November (if not sooner)!

Room Tip: If you want more space and updated decor, choose a room in the two-story annex (we will next time).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kodachrome_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We at the Somerset Inn appreciate your thoughtful remarks. It is always our pleasure to be at your service whenever you visit the Somerset Inn, and it is our hope that you will do so again, soon. Kind regards, The Somerset Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

While we were booked with a group we arrived 2 days early to visit some other attractions in Detroit. Very friendly courteous staff, nice room with comfortable bed. Location was great as we enjoyed a couple local dinners and walked the mall. When the rest of the group arrived, the hotel service for the large group, about 180 folks was top shelf. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write such a complimentary review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and grateful that you shared your experience. We hope to see you again when you're back in our area. Kind regards, The Somerset Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

This appears to be a very old hotel that has been remodeled. I think they did the best they could with the remodel but the bathroom was 1960's size and the heat was one of those outside wall units like you used to find at the original Holiday Inns. The unit,was loud and the room would cycle from cold to hot. The price was appropriate for the room and staff were fine. I might try it again but will have lower expectations of what to expect.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Indy_traveler-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snover, mI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed at the Somerset Inn in Troy for business. I also had a two day conference at the hotel as well. The rooms were clean and comfortable. All of the workers were kind and courteous. Room service was reasonably priced and tasted wonderful.

I would recommend the hotel for business travelers, if you can get a discounted rate. Full price seemed a little steep for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyshawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Property: Somerset Inn
Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Somerset Inn Troy, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing