We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL, nothing to do, nowhere to go, nasty room, NOT AS IMPLIED ON WEB”
Review of Gordon Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gordon Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2008

If you want to sit in a cramped, cold, noisy room, with a 9 inch TV with bad reception and broken remote, old ratty linens, wallpaper peeling from walls, paint peeling off floors and no control of temperature, curtains looked like they were hand sewn from old sheets, this is the place for you.

My husband surprised me (and how) with a romantic night away on my birthday, supposedly to walk along the beach, which was almost 1/2 mile away (not a few steps) ; we were gonna have a romantic dinner which the owner could not give us a reservation even though it was not full that evening, so we ate at some Mexican place; we were going to walk hand in hand to downtown shopping, which was nothing more than a closed bakery, a liquor/deli and another closed establishment and that was it! There is no tourist shopping/sightseeing, there is no nearby beach, there is no ambiance of warmth, just an old place with owners as cold as the room. Needless to say we left before 10pm the evening we arrived to salvage what was to be a beautiful romantic evening. Trying to get our money back, will NEVER GO BACK OR RECOMMEND. Beware read the reviews before you go to these places.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nander59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2007

The previous review from Packer Backer on Aug 27, 2007 hit it right on. They could care less for whoever stays at the Inn. This place has no common area for guests where you could relax and enjoy wine from the many fabulous wineries. The little area they do have is shared by the restaurant and has many people coming in and out of the restaurant. We were very lucky to find parking at night as someone just pulled out as we came back late Saturday evening. They do not have a designated parking lot for Inn guests. The rooms are very small with rock hard beds. The whole place has wooden floors so you can hear everyone coming or going out of their rooms. The walls are very thin and you can hear the TVs on from the next room. Why would you even want to go to a place that you have to wear ear plugs? The people working at the desk just did not seem to care that we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We recently stayed at the Gordon Beach Inn for a long weekend. It was ok, not what I expected for the money we paid. The main focus of the Inn is the restaurant, Timothy’s, with little attention to the guests of the Inn and the rooms. Some of the staff was very helpful, and others were less than helpful. The furniture in our room was in disrepair. The bed frame was coming apart, which made the bed very unstable, the wicker night stand was frayed, and only one lamp worked. The bathroom vent fan did not work; my daughter injured herself on a sharp edge of the broken toilet paper holder. The 13” TV had poor reception. We checked in early and spent the day at the beach. We came back to the Inn to relax in the nice lobby. The parking lot was over-filled with cars. The nice lobby was now a restaurant packed with nicely dressed people, to get to our room we had to walk through the (lobby) restaurant in our swim suits. We ended up going out to eat and driving around town that night. There was too much hustle and bustle from customers going in and out of the restaurant. We could not sit in front of the fire place in the lobby and relax, in fact we couldn’t sit in our room and relax, and it was very noisy. Our room overlooked the back of the restaurant and a lawn that was cluttered with extra tables and chairs from the restaurant. Both nights we stayed at the Inn there were disturbances in the night. The seconded night around 1:00 AM there were some loud and obnoxious adults yelling profanity’s running and slamming doors in the hall. After the restaurant closes the staff locks up and leaves, there is no on there to take care of these types of issues. The brochure it is two blocks from the lake. It’s closer to ½ mile, and there is no car parking. The private beach was dirty from previous camp fires. We ended going just a little further down (about two blocks north) to the public area with parking, and a clean beach where no fires are allowed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Packer_Backer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

I have stayed here several times and really like the location. It is close to the beach and close to town (both about a 10 minute walk). It is in a nice residential neighborhood that is also good for walking around. The rooms are very basic, but also reasonably priced and were clean. They only provide soap, so make sure you bring your own toiletries. I have not eaten at Tiimothy's, but the menu looks very interesting. It is kind of pricy, but most of the restaurants around are expensive, so I am going to definitely try it the next time I am at UP.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank mcd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We decided to go to Harbor Country to visit some friends in Michiana with only a month to find accomodations. Accordingly, our accomodation choices were slim. However, we found a very reasonably priced room at the Gordon Beach Inn that was clean and comfortable. The Inn is nestled in wooded neighborhood about three blocks from a wonderful private beach. The place really grows on you.

As mentioned in another review, the biggest draw of the Gordon Beach Inn is its restaurant, Timothy's, which serves fantastic food at Chicago prices. The biggest drawback of the Inn is Timothy's as well. The restaurant is extremely popular and literally takes over the place in the evenings. In one word it was LOUD. Unbearably so. In fact, the Inn, which is an old wooden structure, is very noisy most of the time due to the hardwood floors and thin walls. My advice, take your earplugs!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
15
Reviewed 27 March 2006

We recently stayed at the Gordon Beach Inn for a weekend retreat. It was a nice, although antiquated, property. The main draw of the Inn is the restaurant, Timothy’s. We really enjoyed our meal there. The food, service, and wine list was top notch. The restaurant, however, is also the main drawback about the Inn. It is apparent that the Inn’s main focus is Timothy’s and not the guests of the Inn. To get to our room after checking in, we had to walk through the restaurant – which is fine when the restaurant is not open. When it is open, we had to go outside and walk around the building to get to the front desk. Additionally, the Inn has a nice fireplace in the entrance. We wanted to sit in front of the fire place and read Saturday night but there was so much hustle and bustle from customers going in and out of the restaurant, it was not relaxing. Also, when the restaurant is open, the parking lot fills up. If you come back later in the evening, you may have a long walk to your room. As far as the rooms go, they were not great but satisfactory. Our deck overlooked the back of the restaurant and a lawn that was cluttered with floor mats and extra tables and chairs from the restaurant. Lastly, the website says it is two blocks from the lake. I don’t what the official distance is for a block, but those are two really long blocks.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
216
Reviewed 18 January 2004

A quit place in a wooded area in Union Pier, Michigan. Just one thing bothered me about the place. To start off, the parking was great in the morning when I checked in. So we get are room and head out to town. When we came back in the evening their was not one place to park since they have a restaurant in the bed and breakfast. The only choice you have left is to park on the street. So, that s what we did. We ended up parking about a block down on the side of the road. We ended up with about a pound of mud on are shoes since it was dark out and the side of the road was nothing but mud. The crowded parking area would not of bugged me if I had a reserved spot since I put $250 in their pockets. Good place to stay if you plan to leave your automobile in the lot all day.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
13.7 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#6 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fire Fly Resort
Fire Fly Resort
#2 of 3 in Union Pier
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Beach Inn

Address: 16220 Lakeshore Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129-9329
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Gordon Beach Hotel Union Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing