We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo(New Buffalo)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo(New Buffalo)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(New Buffalo)
US$69
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgman Inn(Bridgman)
US$76
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
US$136
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
268
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmy husband and iwonderful hostsjacuzzi tubcreekside cottagewine and cheesegalien riverstayed longerwalking trailsfarm to tablewhite birchbeautiful groundsget awaygas fireplacerelaxing staycommon areasoutdoor space
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The innkeepers, Julie and Eric, and staff are very welcoming and friendly. They make you feel like you are at home as soon as you walk in the door. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed is very comfortable and there is a big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The room themes of handcrafted beds made of different types of wood is a novel idea. I tried the Silver Maple room. The inn has an overall contemporary vibe ranging from delicious farm to table breakfasts and local wines paired with late afternoon snacks to the decorating scheme throughout the common areas. There are games and movies available to borrow, free wi-fi, as well as bikes and a trail on the property that leads to the river. The beach in nearby New Buffalo is a great place to watch a sunset and see its fading rays dance among the clouds while enjoying an ice cream cone from one of the local shops. Restaurants are plentiful and there is quaint small town shopping including several antique stores along Red Arrow Highway. It is definitely a place I plan to visit again and to see how their microfarm and orchard expands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwjpstryr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay last week. The breakfasts (and late afternoon snacks) were fresh, creative, and tasty. The grounds are very inviting. The hosts are charming and oh-so helpful and friendly. And the room we had was huge, clean, and comfortable. It was called the American Hornbeam room because that is what the bed frame was made of. Wow, was it cooll looking. (Each room has a bed made from a different type of wood and is named accordingly.) Besides the two person Jacuzzi, we had a patio door that opened on to a roof deck surrounded by trees and set up with with comfortable furniture. The first night was rather warm so we slept with the windows closed. The second night was cooler so we left the windows open. I knew the train tracks were near, but about 11:00 PM I thought the train was coming through the room! What a difference closing the windows makes. Despite that minor inconvenience, I look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We really liked the walk out deck available to the American Hornbeam and Sassafrass bedrooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earlmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our stay at Goldberry Woods was wonderful! I wish we could have stayed longer! The innkeepers have obviously put a lot of time and effort into making this a comfortable, welcoming place to stay. The room: was spacious, beautiful but not overdone with a contemporary, updated style with a beautiful, unique handcrafted bed made of local wood! (See the pictures!) We stayed in the sassafras room which had a nice balcony, shared with another room. The bathroom was not cramped and had a huge jetted tub. The room had a large flatscreen tv with dvd player, cable and netflix. The grounds: 26 acres to roam around in with a trail that runs along a river. There's also a growing microfarm with plans for expansion. There are bikes for borrowing as well as outdoor games and chairs for the beach. The breakfast: each of the three mornings we were served delicious, interesting, creative items that were magnificent. In nice weather guests may eat outside on the deck just off the Dining area. The beach is a quick car ride or even bicycle ride away. The innkeepers guided us on local attractions and Chicago sites as well. These people are relatively new at this (a little over a year) but you would never know!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As a frequent traveler I have learned to appreciate great service and great food. Sadly this is a rare combination. Goldberry is a standout by providing a great experience in every category. This is a beautiful property that is impeccably maintained. The breakfast is fantastic food that you can feel good about. Will come again...and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last summer. It was our first b&b experience. We loved it. This place is awesome. The rooms/beds are all very unique and spacious (and not so super country). We had a very jacuzzi tub and a fireplace in our room (the sassafras) on top of access to a shared balcony. Common areas were beautiful. This place is located in the woods with paths for walking. Breakfast was AMAZING. I could go on and on. This summer we went back to a different part of Michigan and stayed in another b&b. although it was nice I spent the entire time comparing to Goldberry and wishing we were there!! We will def be back to Goldberry for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews