We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timothy's in September”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Timothy's

Timothy's
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Union Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Timothy's in September”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Timothy's has always had a great upscale menu. Now post Labor Day. They introduced 10 for 10$ to attract off season business. It's great with diverse selection good food. And you can still select their wonderful appetizer list or desert list. Their clams and sausage and egg roll appetizers are excellent and almost a meal. They pair well with the reduced portions of their 10$ meals. If your in the new buffalo area you must try Timothy's .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    52
    26
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This describes the menu and the decor. Food was great, service was good. Soft shelled crabs were in season and were tempura style. In the fall they are open for dinner only Wed-Sun.. so plan accordingly!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRB_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this chef knows what he's doing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Gordon Beeach Inn and did not plan on eating at Timothy's, which is in the same building. We could not ingore the amazing scents from the kitchen and ate there both evenings. There's a creative and gormet menu with items I have never eaten. Do order the GRILLED ceasar salad! It is out of this world. The staff is wonderful and fun, and the decor is charming. We will make a point of dining there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hot Mess”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Goodness... this was the most bizarre dining evening we've had in ages. We went to Timothy's for my birthday dinner. Slow to get seated, slow to get service and the dining room was crowded and noisy. Our drinks took forever to get to the table, but our appetizer, the calamari, was amazingly good! My daughter and I had the roasted tomato soup for our salad/soup course and it was delicious. That ended the positive portion of our evening.

Our waitress often stopped in the middle of dealing with us to go serve someone else. Then, the poor dear brought our wine and a standing ice bucket over and proceeded to dump the ice bucket all over the floor, much to the dismay of our nearby dining companions. The table behind us sent their entrees back and just asked for the bill. Not good signs.

Our entrees finally came and, really, it was the most disgusting plating of food I have ever seen. The "sauce" that was piped around the edges separated and slid toward the center of the plate. Our food was just piled together in the middle of the plate. I had to dig to find my shrimp and scallops. My daughter worked to separate the duck done two ways from the rest of the mess that was on her plate. What in the world was the salad mess? And it was so dark in the restaurant that I had to dig around to find the asparagus. I caved at this point and spoke with the manager, sharing with him what a hot mess the whole evening was. He really didn't seem to care.

To add insult to injury, this wasn't an inexpensive meal. All of our entrees where upwards of $25+, plus appetizers, and wine. (Oh, and what a sad wine list. Really sad).

I am missing living in Valparaiso.... now that is a town with excellent restaurants!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravBug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Timothy's has some creative choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

While the shrimp and scallops left something to be desired as the shrimp seemed a bit overcooked and they were both covered in salad and some kind of brown sauce, the fish dishes (specials & walleye) were delicious and inventive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDMo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timothy's also viewed

Union Pier, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 
Union Pier, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Timothy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing