We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Top notch! Loved the Woodland Suite! Breakfast was lovely. The in-room massage by Angie...luv her! Perfect weather to be snowed in with your loved one in front of the fireplace. We like to travel to different b&b for our anniversary.....this place is right up there for #1 in our book.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarylandNayaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We decided to spend 2 days in our usual B&B town of South Haven and try another area for the other 2 days. This was it-Union Pier/New Buffalo. We really enjoyed this area. There are sand dunes near by. Casinos. Wineries. A short drive to an outlet mall in Mich city. Great restaurants. We used their BOGO deal and it was a deal. The room was excellent. Jerry and Paula were excellent hosts. Jerry was great in provided intel on eating and we are glad he did. We ate at Timothy's and the Red Arrow Roadhouse. Both were excellent meals. We are B&B veterans and this one is right up there with any others that we stayed in. We will defintely be going back to this B&B in the future. Thanks Jerry and Paula.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelbymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First discovered through Groupon 2 nite stay. Enjoyed the property and hospitality, while there we came upon the idea to reserve all 7 units of the B & B for a special 4 day family event during fall foliage season. All went well, with run of the property and each participant loved their room. Jerry and Paula made us feel comfortable and were there when needed, and disappeared during the family time. 10-15 minute walk or drive to lake, activities and eateries. Too cool for lake entry, but nice lake shore and dune excursion. Lovely experience.

Room Tip: Couldn't delete,swimming pool rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejsalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I wife and I stayed over the long Labor Day weekend. The room was comfortable and kept clean, including the private bath and sitting room. Breakfast was very good every morning. The location is close to the beach, Three Oaks and the wineries. Paula and Jerry were excellent hosts. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbyOldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My fiance and I came from Chicago to Garden Grove at the last minute for my birthday. We had been to another bed and breakfast in the area but wanted to try somewhere new (the other place is considerably bigger than Garden Grove). It was a GREAT decision.

The location is great! It's right by all the wineries on a quiet little property. There are bikes, outdoor chairs, and a grill. We stayed in the violet room and we were shocked with the size of the room! There were two comfortable chairs, a bed, full bathroom, and plenty of extra space. The bonus...there was a really great outdoor patio that was private to us. It was really fun to sit outside in the quite and have a glass of wine.

One of the funny things is the TV/VCR. Thats right....TV AND VCR! They even have a whole "library" of VHS tapes that you can use (hello Father of the Bride!).

The food in the morning was really good. We came down and got some freshly brewed coffee. We sat at one of the two top tables and were served a two course plated breakfast! All of the food is homemade and absolutely delicious!

The owers were great. We were greeted by Jeff (the owner) and he pointed out a few good restaurants in the area. He also suggested an alternate route so we could see some nice houses and the water. In the morning we met his wife (We assume...) who served the breakfast.

Overall - this is a really fun place to stay for a quite getaway and we would definitely return!

Room Tip: The violet room has a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmsoko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I were looking for a last minute get-a-way and came across Garden Grove. The location is perfect as it is near several things that we like. It is just off of the expressway so you don't have too far to drive once you get off. It is near some wineries and there is a tasting room next door. It is also very close to the beach as well as a nice upscale restaurant - Timothys (the dinner was wonderful there). It is also down the road from an antique store and New Buffalo is also just a short drive away.

We stayed in the Sunflower Room which was a nice room with a hottub and a little deck. There are murals upstairs outside of each room which I thought was a nice touch. The breakfasts were delicious (blueberry pancakes/veggie omelet and fresh berries).

If you like wine and are staying in the area you must check out the wine-o-wagon tour. This tour takes you to 4 different wineries in an open air wagon that is pulled by a tractor. They also supply you with a box in case you would like to purchase some wine at the various wineries.

All in all, I would stay here again but would try to get a room in the Carriage House which is a separate building from the main house with bigger rooms.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank chgowinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We recently vacationed at the Garden Grove B&B. We stayed in the Garden Retreat room adjacent to the main house. We could not have been more pleased. Our room was cheery yellow with a corner fireplace and a jetted garden tub in the large bathroom. What a nice treat after a day sightseeing and having a delicious dinner, at a restaurant recommened by host, to relax in the jetted garden tub. The breakfast each day was a gourmet treat! With fresh baked muffins, egg casseroles, blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit...yum,yum! We had no problem with the WIFI connection in our room. My husband used WIFI daily, he cannot go a day without checking his email. There was a nice selection of videos available to us to watch in our room. We found our hosts very friendly and an excellent source for tourism and restaurant information in the area. I have recommended this B&B to several friends for a unique getaway, close to Indy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eriter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
0.7 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
0.5 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
234 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lake Country Inn
Lake Country Inn
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fire Fly Resort
Fire Fly Resort
#2 of 3 in Union Pier
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9549 Union Pier Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129-9411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range: £60 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're hoping to celebrate a Summer honeymoon or simply a Winter getaway, Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast is the right place for any season! Located in Southwestern Michigan's picturesque Harbor Country, Garden Grove is just a short drive from Chicagoland and a quick walk to Lake Michigan's sugar-sand shoreline! Escape from the city's hustle and bustle to enjoy the area's many nature trails, wineries, golf courses, and restaurants. Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast is nestled into a secluded acre of mature pines, maples, and lush gardens for the ultimate in peace and comfort. Take in the sunshine on our enclosed porch or enjoy a delicious in-room breakfast each morning! A romantic and relaxing retreat from your busy day-to-day, our amenities are truly second to none. With beautifully decorated, spacious rooms and deluxe features such as double Jacuzzi tubs, wet bar sinks, air conditioning, and high-speed internet, our country cottage features a variety of modern conveniences. The luxurious 3-room Carriage House is truly an unforgettable experience and a popular choice for celebrating special occasions with its cathedral ceilings, in-room fireplaces, and privacy. Join us to relax, recharge, and renew with a memorable getaway full of outdoor adventures or romantic seclusion at Harbor Country's Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Garden Grove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing