We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming !”
Review of Inn at Union Pier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Union Pier
Ranked #2 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is our second time staying at the Inn. Took advantage of the winter deal - pay for one night and get the other half price. This time in lieu of staying at the main house we booked the Lakeside room on the second floor of their other building. Large room with a partial view of the lake and of course a private bath. Also had a balcony which we used to take some beautiful photos of the snow covered area. It was perfect conditions for my husband to start the fire in our room while we sipped wine. Great home cooked breakfast of vegetable frittatas, potatoes, muffins, yogurt parfaits, orange juice and coffee on day one. Waffles, sausage, fruit, cottage cheese, mandarin orange and chocolate muffins the next morning. You can call ahead with any special dietary needs or substitute oatmeal or cold cereal if you prefer. The owners make a special effort to make you feel welcome! Location is convenient to the many area wineries, Greenbush Brewpub ( a must if you're a beer snob) and Four Winds casino. Plenty of restaurants in the area including the yummy Red Arrow Road House which is walking distance from the inn. It's more than your typical 'Road House' with menu choices such as glazed baked tilapia, meatloaf as well as sandwiches. The Inn at Union Pier is a great value with cozy rooms and a friendly staff. Oh and did I mention the complimentary wine and popcorn each night in the main room.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the winter months and don't want to walk outside to the main house for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Wow! What a wonderful review! Reading your review I was getting hungry. Thank you for taking so much time and commenting about your 2 night Special Deal stay. I don't know how anyone could resist coming to the Inn after reading your review. Everyone seems so relaxed and in another world away from Chicago's hustle and bustle of the city life. People are really loving the Swedish wood burning Kakelugns this cold winter season and the wood smells so inviting especially the large one in the Great Room during Wine and Popcorn Hour. Hope to see you again, maybe in the summer or fall? Don't wait too long. We are booking up quickly on the weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Inn at Union Pier did not disappoint! My boyfriend proposed while in Michigan and our wonderful stay here helped to ensure a great experience the entire time. Could not ask for a better experience. Bill and Mari Ann are genuinely happy to have you as guests. Glad we had a Living social Deal. We will be back and highly recommend others to give it a try too! Within close proximity to decent Restaurants too! Timothy's and the Red Arrow Roadhouse were delish and have specials thru the slow months.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been updated from the website pics. Dandelion was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 654samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Congratulations on your engagement! You were an awesome couple and so happy to know you got engaged in Michigan. Thank you for purchasing one of our Living Social Specials. Hopefully you will return to the Inn during the summer or in the fall when it's a little warmer. The public beach access is very close and we have bikes for your use. You definitely won't have to run to and from the hot tub. Stay warm.

Best Regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked our 2 night stay with a Living Social voucher. We were impressed with the size and quality of the room. The fire stove in the room added to the ambiance. We enjoyed just being able to stay in our room to read and relax. The main room of the inn was also a great place to hang out. The owner and inn keeper were very warm and personable when we arrived and throughout our stay. The breakfast each morning was delicious and beautifully presented. One of the best things about it was it's only 1 1/2 hours from our suburban Chicago home yet we felt like we were truly away on vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. It really makes a difference when people read the reviews of guests who have stayed with us. Many people have found us on Trip Advisor and have come to stay with us because of the great comments about our food, staff, and comfortable stay at the Inn. We just sent an email blast to our former guests about this Great Deal with the second night half off or three nights for the price of two. Hope to see you again, maybe in the summer when you can walk to the beach and see the gorgeous sunsets.

Regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Welcoming, comfortable, private and so beautiful! My husband and I had previously avoided B&B's, being a little freaked out by the concept. We weren't so keen on potentially having a community bathroom, not having any privacy, and if the food isn't any good then you're out scrounging an hour later at local restaurants anyway. So when my parents booked a weekend at The Inn, we didn't know what to expect. We could not have been happier with the experience. We stayed in the Larkspur room and had our own private full bathroom and a fireplace. The room was really good sized so if we wanted to, we easily could have relaxed and hung out in our room comfortably, without feeling claustrophobic. But the common areas were so comfortable and welcoming, we honestly didn't spend too much time in our beautiful room. There was a happy hour with wine and popcorn, and another huge beautiful fireplace in the main room. Plus, there was the largest selection of tea that you could help yourself too at any hour. The whole environment was cozy, friendly, and calming. Our concerns about the quality of food were put to rest upon the olfactory experience alone of just walking down the stairs in the morning. By the time we sat down to eat, our mouths were absolutely watering, and we were not disappointed. Our breakfast was nothing short of delicious, impressive, healthy and perfectly suitable for my me and my husband, who have varying diets (vegetarian and garbage disposal, respectively). Overall, Bill, his family, and his staff should be very proud of their little oasis by the lake. We can't wait to go back, anytime of year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Wow!!! What a fantastic review. We're so happy you gave our Inn a chance and so happy to hear you will be back soon. Our breakfasts are so filling and delicious that most of our guests skip lunch and wait for dinner. We can't wait for people who come and stay in the Great House to see the new renovations in Larkspur, Chardonnay, Dandelion, and Sandpiper. Bill's daughter Laura and friend Elise did a fabulous job redecorating the Great Room, restrooms, and guest rooms. Looking forward to your next stay with us maybe in the spring, summer, or fall.

Regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Inn for 2 nights after our wedding this past week. We had booked the LivingSocial deal and were very pleased with the value. Bill was very accommodating when we had to push our check-in back a day due to the major snow storm that hit. From the moment we arrived we were treated with such generosity and care. The Inn is BEAUTIFUL and we loved our room/accommodations. The fireplace in the room was excellent- we loved starting a fire each night and relaxing; very cozy. Breakfast each morning was fabulous and never left us feeling hungry.

Despite visiting mid-week in January, we were never bored. There is plenty to see in the surrounding area. We went to Timothy's for dinner one night- we HIGHLY recommend dining there. After returning, Bill made us a fire in the main room and had popcorn and wine available for us as well. There is a large cabinet with games available for use.

The entire staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Needless to say, we regretted having to leave but plan on returning to the area again. We HIGHLY recommend The Inn at Union Pier!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chedago11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your mini-honeymoon at the Inn. We have a wonderful staff that wants to make sure every guest feels at home when they are here. Many of our guests don't want to leave because it's so relaxing and the delicious breakfasts and homemade cookies and muffins. We even have our baker bake gluten-free peanut butter chocolate chip cookies for those who are on a gluten free diet. Hope you enjoy your real honeymoon in March as much as you did here. Look forward to seeing you again sometime this year. Some of our guests come back every year to celebrate their anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Such a beautiful inn tucked away near the beach. We are big fans of B&Bs and this one is at the top of our list. Quiet, peaceful and oh so calming. We stayed one night to celebrate our anniversary between Christmas and New Years (making our reservation on Christmas Day - yes, Bill called us back that day). This is a beautifully restored old inn with rooms in two buildings and a warm, inviting great room in which "happy hour" (wine and popcorn are available) takes place. Breakfast was excellent with a wonderful server. Ask for Vandercow the milk pitcher at your table. He's a cute addition to the service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the Inn to celebrate your anniversary. Yes, it is only a three minute walk to the beach and wasn't too snowy yet so you could get down to see the gorgeous frozen waves. We just love Vandercow and have other cows too in our collection plus a tiny little elephant. Hope to see you again and you are able to stay 2 nights. Have a healthy and happy New Year!

Best regards,

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our son gave us this trip for Christmas. We almost got snowed in! The last night of our visit, everyone left to beat the snow, except us and Bill, the owner. It was a very quiet night! The rooms are cozy and warm thanks to the wood burning stoves. I cannot eat dairy products so Bill and the staff made sure that my breakfast was appropriate. We stayed in the Larkspur room which was decorated in the most pleasant shade of bluish/purple. Loved it! The only issue we had with the room was the bed, it was very hard and uncomfortable. I really didn't sleep well.Other than that, we enjoyed the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseMarcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatUnionPier, Front Office Manager at Inn at Union Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

What a nice son you have! I can't think of any better place to be snowed in then at The Inn at Union Pier. The fireplaces will keep you warm all day and night and between the full breakfast in the morning, oatmeal chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon, and wine and popcorn in the evening, you'll be extremely content. Sorry to hear you didn't sleep well though. Many people request that bed because it is so firm. Next time you make your reservation request the Sandpiper, Chardonnay, or Dandelion. Those beds are not as firm and very comfortable. Hope to see you again, maybe in the spring or summer, or next year. Hope 2014 brings you good health and happiness!

Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
22.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
4.1 mi away
Lake Country Inn
Lake Country Inn
#1 of 7 in New Buffalo
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Union Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Union Pier

Address: 9708 Berrien St, Union Pier, MI 49129-9458
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Price Range: £137 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1920's era Bed and Breakfast Inn with 16 guest rooms, private baths, real wood burning fireplaces and 250 foot steps to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Stay includes full breakfast, snacks & beverages during the day and wine & popcorn in the evening. Located in a quite residential setting within minutes of restaurants, shopping, antique shops, art galleries and wine tasting. Enjoy our hospitality in the casually elegant surroundings of a true country Inn. Open year round. Also available for family gatherings or corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Union Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Union Pier Hotel Union Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing