We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utica Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Utica Gem”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have stayed at Staybridge Suites before and this one is no different. Solid place to stay, with plenty of room. All the comforts of home in a safe and clean setting. Front desk was helpful on dining options on the days they don't offer an evening meal. Just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeSuites85, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dennis M -

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to be described as a spacious, clean, and comfortable hotel. We are surrounded by delightful dinning and shopping options. The front desk is always happy to provide recommendations, coupons, and directions to any of our local hot spots.

Please contact me if I can be of assistance if in the future.

Warmest regards,

Paula Potter, Director of Sales Staybridge Suites Utica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    38
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
25
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MACOMB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We searched high and wide to find this gem. It was by far the best value for us. We have a small dog and needed a place to stay for over a month. Many would not accept dogs, so that elimated half or more of the choices. Some had a nightly pet fee which cost more than boarding the dog. Staybridge has a one time charge whether one night or months. Fair enough, they do a deep cleaning when you leave so that justifies the cost. The staff is extremely friendly and seem to have a genuine concern to help your individual needs to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They specialize in insurance cases where family needs a place to stay while their home is being reaired or remodeled etc. The breakfast meal is included, a buffett every morning the same but lots of choices. The hotel is near the freeway but the windows block most of the noise. There is a large field next to the hotel of open grass to play with kids or animals. You are expected to do your own clean up, and most guest complied. The pool is good size with a hot tub. They have a free laundry where you can wash and dry clothes with your own detergent. Paula was kind enough to give us a storage closet for our luggage so we didn't have to use the space in the suite. There was some interuption with the cable a few nights but I guess that was Comcast fault not the hotels. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to all. They have a nice business area with free c omputer and printing available. We earned enough points to stay a free night on our return to Az along the way.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor because of walking the dog. The east side is farther from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I'm a business traveler with only myself and a small carry on sized suitcase. The rooms are nice. My room looked like the one in picture 26 of the traveler photos. I had the king sized bed option. The room was clean with a ton of space. The HD cable works really well. Internet was fast and easy to login. The dishes were all clean. Refrigerator was clean. Bathroom was clean. Toilet was clean. Bedding was fresh and clean. The bed was too stiff for my liking, but it was still comfortable. There is a selection of pillows to choose from on the bed (stiff to soft). The breakfast was decent with a choice of 2 fruits, cereals, milk, multiple juices, and the hot bar with eggs and a meat (sausage one day, bacon the other). The dinners left one lacking, the food was usually tasteless and poorly cooked. But it is free. Get to the breakfast/dinner early though, the dinning room is extremely small for the amount of people that will be there (aka not enough seating).

Luckily, the hotel is in a great location. If you map it, you'll see all the restaurants and stores nearby. If you are a games fan, the Dave and Busters is literally next door, you can walk there. Multiple decent restaurants, Target, Best Buy, Dick's Sporting goods, and a Home Depot (if you need to work on your hotel room for some reason, I'm not judging). I did not use the pool, gym, or hot tub. If you are a runner, there is the start of a trail that people use for walking that will get you over a an area with sidewalks. About 1.5 miles one way before you hit a major street that will turn you around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica July 2013. We came to town for a class reunion and stayed for 3 nights. From my initial call until we checked out, the staff were polite & accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was great, I had a strawberry Belgium waffle : ) Our room was spacious with a pull out sofa sleeper and kitchenette. A nice outdoor pool and hot tub. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping Thank you to manager Paula, front desk attendant Sierra & the rest of your staff. Will definitely return :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMePfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeSuites85, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
JustMePfromMi-

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I just shared your positive review with our staff during their lunch break. We appreciate being described as a nice, clean facility with an awesome staff. Thank you for brightening our day!

Please let me know if I can be of assistance with your future hotel needs.

Warmest regards,

Paula Potter, Director of Sales
Staybridge Suites Utica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

In fairness, this is the first time staying at a Staybridge Suites and I didn't read the details on the website explaining it was an extended stay hotel. That being said, I still think they should do better than what we experienced.

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for 2 families, taking advantage of the advance purchase rate, specifically choosing one king bedroom and the other with 2 queens. We required this in order to be able to enjoy the living room and kitchen in the evenings. Upon check-in our family was informed that we could not have the room we booked because insurance claim families were staying longer than expected (sorry, not my problem). We were offered 2 choices: 2 rooms across from each other or another 2 bedroom suite with one king and one queen, which meant someone had to sleep on the sofa bed, which meant that we could not use the living room to relax in at night. No amount of discount or apologizing from staff makes up for that. We unhappily stayed in the 2 bedroom suite offered.

There was no manager on site, we were told they were on vacation, which is bad since it was a holiday weekend and there were bound to be issues. In our opinion, there should be a manager on site, I don't want to be called the next day, I want my issues addressed when I have them, that is why they have a manager, to manage. If they need a vacation, it is their responsibility as a manager to have someone with authority onsite in their place, period.

The next morning, breakfast was a disaster. We arrived to find a total mess, much of the food was either empty or what was left was unappetizing. There was a lot of food crumbs, cereal and milk spilled, fruit bowl was empty. The sausage and bacon chaffing dish had some meat that was stuck and burning on the bottom, obviously it hadn't been checked in a while. The baked goods hadn't been re-stocked. The oatmeal was caked and a solid lump. The configuration of that area makes it almost impossible for 2 people to pass each other around the back, creating a traffic flow issue and frustration mounts. They could not keep up with the amount of people there. There was one person attending breakfast (who we could not find), no way was that enough, at least 2 people are required. I did bring this situation to the attention of the front desk, but breakfast was pretty much over by then.

Later that morning, the "acting" off-site manager called to express her sincere regret in our room and breakfast and offered a discount. While this made my charge card feel better it doesn't make up for poor breakfast service and lack of use of our room, both of which are extremely important.

We left and came back later than day to find our room hadn't been serviced, at all. When we inquired at the front desk we were told that each room should have received a letter stating there would be no housekeeping service due to the holiday. What? Never in my life have I experienced that at any hotel, totally unacceptable. Also, the maid service at this chain is extremely light, which is explained on the handy little sign on the toilet tank, but if you are used to full service, you would be disappointed. We had to go down to the front desk for towels, toiletries, coffee, a hassle at the end of a long day.

The single temperature control for the 2 bedroom suite is inadequate. While one bedroom was warm, the other was a freezer. The air conditioning units were noisy, which required the TVs to be turned up loudly and there was mold in both bedrooms around the air vents. The wallpaper around the vents in the bedrooms was pealing as well. Cleanliness and attention to detail are lacking here.

The kitchen area was small but adequate, clean and served it's purpose. The dining table was fine as well. The suite overall was spacious and comfortable, except for the bed pillows...wow, those were troublesome. Ask for foam ones.

One family used the pool, which was overrun with rude people, but that is not the fault of the hotel or staff....seems to be a trend wherever we go.

Great location, near Lakeside and Partridge shopping, tons of restaurants from fast food to fine dining in the area, activities, great place for families to stay. Close to the Van Dyke Fwy, easy to get around.

We stayed 4 nights. The breakfast service improved somewhat and our room was cleaned somewhat, but overall due to the unexpected lower quality of service and lack of management presence at this hotel, I would not stay here again.

We believe the issues with this hotel lie directly with the management staff (or lack of). The management staff should be there, spot checking the breakfast area/food presentation and housekeeping quality on a regular basis to ensure standards are met and kept up for the guests. They should also be checking the rooms for comfort and repairs that are needed. Discounts and apologies after the fact just don't make up for a poor experience. While appreciated, I would rather know that the management staff will step up their game and improve this property and not have to experience all this in the first place.

We chose to stay here, partly based on the good Tripadvisor reviews and feel sort of let down.

Room Tip: This location caters to many insurance claim families and your room selection can get bumped by some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accobend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeSuites85, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
accobend -

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback. I am sincerely sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel.

I appreciate the opportunity to clarify to future Trip Advisor travelers that we are not a full service hotel. Both corporate and leisure guests enjoy our spacious suites with full kitchens. We specialize in providing temporary housing for families that have had a disaster in their home, are relocating and/or working in the area. Our suites are deep cleaned once a week and freshened with a light touch each day.

I will continue to work hard to insure each guest in comfortable in their suite.

Warmest regards,

Paula Potter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czestochowa, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel 4 times, for quite a long time. I stayed there during my business trips for about 2 months each stay. What was very nice is the location of this Hotel regarding the whole city. It is close to a road where lots of shops and restaurants are located, but even though it's close to this road, it's on a side, behind couple of other hotels so it isn't that loud there.
Staff is nice, there's an outdoor pool.
Can't tell bad word about that place.

Room Tip: Ask for the room pointing east side - these are the quiests rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 weeks. It was a great stay. The staff was always helpful and kind. Big thanks to Pamela (the sales manager) she not only booked our long stay but she always made sure we had everything we needed. They have some delicious dinners from tues~thurs for free! They have a great variety of coffee offered throughout the day for free as well! It's back from busy Utica road. Dave and Busters and a lot of restaurants in walking distance!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtravel670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica

Property: Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
Address: 46155 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315-5919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Staybridge Suites hotel is located in Utica, a suburb in Northern Macomb County about thirty minutes from downtown Detroit.We offer a choice of three spacious suite accommodations, excellent for extended stays: studio, one bedroom and two bedroom/two bath suites. All suites feature fully appointed kitchens, including microwaves, coffee makers, dishwashers and full-size refrigerators with ice makers.We offer a deluxe complimentary breakfast buffet featuring Wolfgang Puck Coffees, freshly-made golden malted waffles, hot oatmeal or choose our 'On the Go' breakfast, a Continental breakfast bagged to go as early as 5:30 AM. We also offer a complimentary Sundowner Reception that includes a meal and beverages Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. The hotel offers an outdoor pool, whirlpool and barbecue pavilion seasonally. Our on-site convenience store, complimentary laundry facilities, business center and fitness center are all open 24-hours a day.Our suites have separate living and work areas complete with free high-speed Internet access, two-line speakerphones with data ports, direct dial telephone numbers and personalized voice mail. We also offer free local calls, video cassette players and in-room movie rental. An ATM machine is also available.We invite you to come 'Make It Your Place!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica Hotel Utica
Staybridge Suites Utica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing