We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff, nice pool area. The breakfast was more than adequate and coffee/tea and light snacks seemed to be available 24hrs at no charge. Comfy beds, spotless bathroom, Great bathroom products and clean working appliances. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It is our mission to provide the highest quality of service and products to our guests. Your feedback is is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the States!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    38
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
16
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I had the change to stay here in a two queen suite this past weekend. Room was very clean, fresh and the beds were quite comfortable. I love how the Holiday Inn makes sure to give you a variety of hard and soft pillows and the pillow cases are marked so you know which is which. The hotel door however, was paper thin and our room was right by the elevator so there was lots of noise. One morning we had no hot water at 9:30am for showers but otherwise it was fine. Kids had the chance to use the pool. It was a bit chilly but bearable, they enjoyed it just the same. Exercise room has everything you need. The free breakfast was pretty average. Biscuits, egg, sausage, pastries, etc. Pancake machine was out of order. The staff was quite slow at keeping the hot food stocked which was a bit disappointing. They should have been prepared during the busy hours. I would definitely stay here again though because for the price ($120/night) it was a great place to stay. It's comfortable, clean and the staff is quite friendly. Great place for families too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators as the doors are not insulated well so lots of noise during h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronjr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express - Utica!! We strive to make everyone feel right at home while they are at our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear about some of the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I can ensure you that the problems with the water heater and pancake maker were corrected immediately. I have forwarded this survey so that the breakfast service issues and noise levels will be addressed immediately.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete this survey! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This time, we decided to use a different HI location for business in the Sterling Heights area. Location close to many various eating places. Across the road from a Best buy and Sams Club. Easy access to roadway and a decent place to stay. Staff was polite; gym equipment was decent, pool looked good and generally a decent stay. Negatives were the stale bagels every morning and the bed had a mattress cover which seemed to be plastic.........heat, sweat box problems. Other than that, all was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossieosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. I can ensure that the issue with the bagels will be resolved immediately. We do have protective covers over our mattresses to ensure sanitary safety for our guests. Again, I thank you for your feedback as it opens opportunity for us to look into a better option for mattress protectors that will satisfy all of our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of November. We found the staff very friendly, the rooms very clean, quiet and the location was excellent. Our purpose of the trip was primarily for Christmas shopping and this hotel is centrally located in the heart of the shopping district. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well. This was our first time shopping and staying in this area. We usually go to Auburn Hills. We would definitely stay here again because the hotel was as excellent as the shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
We always look forward to seeing our Canadian neighbors during the holiday shopping season. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for completing this lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed here for three days / two nights of work and catching up with old friends. The breakfast was plentiful Holiday Inn Express fare; the rooms, aisles and meeting rooms were clean. Staff was friendly and casual. The location is fantastic!! Close to popular restaurants and easy access to Macomb County along M-59. Downs: small work-out room, elevator.

Room Tip: Nice view from 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
The staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this wonderful review. We are constantly striving to ensure that each and every guest feels at home while they are staying with us. I will also look into the issue with the elevator right away. Thank you and have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Utica for my cousin's wedding while most of the rest of the family stayed at the Courtyard (I was using an award night). On check in, I was greeted very warmly as a Priority Club member. The staff at the desk thought I had stayed there before and were surprised to learn I had not. They were very helpful and wanted to be sure I would ask if I needed anything. Next to the desk they had an awesome touchscreen display you could check flight status, weather, local attractions and news on. I played with it while I was waiting on family to get me in the lobby. The room itself was extremely clean and well kept. They had left me chips and water and a thank you for being a platinum priority club member in my room, as well as plenty of towels. In the morning, the family who didn't stay at the Holiday Inn Express was disappointed they didn't get a free breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express had eggs, fresh baked cinnamon rolls, sausage, biscuits, cereal and more... just about everything I had been expecting and used to from the Holiday Inn Express brand. I would stay here again and again should the need arise.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a nice review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I have passed this review along to the staff and thanked them for helping you feel at home while you were here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed with my family. Nice room, very clean. Comfortable beds. Quiet room. You can walk to Dave and Busters and there are a lot of restaurants and shopping very close by. Pool facilities were clean, clean towels avaiable. Pool was a little chilly, but kids didn't mind. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choices, including hot items, but not very well stocked. I would definitely stay here again. A little pricey though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarah S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. We really do appreciate it and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#3 of 6 in Sterling Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Address: 45555 Utica Park Blvd, Utica, MI 48315-5948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations near Detroit at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica. Our Michigan hotel is just a short drive from the Motor City and its activities.Your family will love staying at our hotel in Utica, Michigan, which is located just off Highway 59 with easy access to numerous area attractions. Nearby sights & activities include Stony Creek Metropark, the Palace of Auburn Hills - home of the Detroit Pistons downtown Rochester Hills, the casinos of Detroit and shopping at the Lakeside Shopping Center and Partridge Creek Mall.Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our accommodations near Detroit. Situated in the suburbs of Utica, MI, our hotel offers close proximity to many area businesses. Some of these companies include DaimlerChrysler, Ford Motor Company, St. Gobain Sekurit, Inc., Delphi, Selfridge Air Force Base and the General Motors Technical Center. While lodging in Utica, Michigan use our Business Center with a fax machine, copier, printer, available computer and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for all your business needs.Treat yourself right when you visit Utica, Michigan. Our hotel offers amenities including a heated, indoor pool, a modern Fitness Center and our famous complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to enjoy our great Utica, Michigan hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Utica
Holiday Inn Utica
Utica Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing