We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Utica
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay. Staff were great and everything was super! Great rates and comfortable beds. Food in the morning was excellent too and i look forward to my next stay. They even gave us a discount on my next stay because the people upstairs were up all night walking around making noises on our ceiling.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Award Winning Comfort Inn of Utica. We pride ourselves on offering our guests a clean, comfortable place to stay, and true hospitality with exceptional service. Reviews such as yours show us that our goal is being met by our fantastic team members, and I am pleased to share your compliments with them.

I’m so glad you were able to stop in our morning breakfast cafe and sample some of the new and exciting menu items that have recently been added to our hot breakfast buffet. We have been receiving some wonderful feedback on our new Comfort Cozy Bedding package and are delighted to hear you also found it to be a wonderful sleeping experience.

Thank again for taking the time to share your opinion with the many travelers on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    63
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
58
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked a block of rooms for our wedding and it was a big mistake. We had many out of town guest and some local that needed a place to stay after the wedding reception. We liked that the comfort inn offered a free shuttle with 15 nights booked. Unfortunately we had an awful experience. Our first issue was that many guest called to book rooms and the front desk told them that either the hotel was full or they couldn't find our group rate. When trying to resolve the issue it took 2 weeks until I received a response back from the booking agent. By then my guest booked elsewhere. As for the shuttle was supposed to run until 12:30 which really means they stop at 12:15 it only fits 14 people in each trip and they left 8 people stranded at the reception with no ride home because they couldn't fit in the last shuttle. Would one more shuttle really have hurt them? Overall I do not recommend booking for a group rate here. Too much hassle.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWings88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We take pride in our exceptional level of service and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay.
We are embarrassed and truly regret the inability of our contracted shuttle service, Personal Touch Limo Service, LLC to properly fulfill the after reception guest pick-up and transport as requested. While this is a rare occurrence, we are proactively taking steps to guarantee the hotel's contracted shuttle service places the same emphasis on customer service and satisfaction as we do. On the evening of your reception, when an additional shuttle pick-up was needed, the hotel contacted Personal Touch Limo and requested the extra pick-up be billed directly to the hotel and that it would be taken care of at our expense. We regret that Personal Touch Limo did not honor our request.
The problems you expressed with your guests inability to reserve rooms is of concern to me. I have discussed your comments with our Director of Sales and our Front Desk Manager and we cannot locate any record of this incident. The original number of rooms you reserved in your block was 20. A few weeks prior to your arrival date, 22 rooms had been individually reserved for your group with 5 of those rooms cancelling several days before arrival. If your guest's experienced reservation difficulties, I take such matters seriously and certainly want to take action steps to prevent similar situations from occurring. Kindly contact me directly to discuss so I may better address this concern for you.
I know that our sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for the poor shuttle service received on such an important night. Please contact me, so I can try to make amends to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting relatives. We were pleasantly surprised at the luxurious bedding and size of the room. For the price we paid, we were expecting more basic accommodations. The breakfast was tasty with a wide variety to choose from and a clean dining room. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We normally stay at another hotel when in this area and pay about $30 more a night for similar accommodations. We will stay at Comfort Inn from now on!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6267JudyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much! I am so pleased that you choose to give us a try this visit and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted that you found our new Comfort Cozy bedding package to be soft & inviting. We are glad you also had an opportunity to stop in our morning breakfast café and sample some of the terrfic new menu items we have recently added to our hot buffet line.

We strive to make everyone's experience exceptional. On behalf of our entire Comfort Inn team, we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Traveled to area with elderly parents for funeral and chose the Comfort Inn based on reviews here and also price. This was an excellent experience, from the extremely friendly and helpful staff at time of reservation to the checkout process. Everyone, including housekeeping staff were very pleasant-made you feel that they wanted you there!!!Staff helped place us where parents wouldn't have too far to walk to room. Room was very nicely appointed, clean and pleasant. Absolutely recommend for value, location and cleanliness (my disinfectant wipes couldn't find any dirt!!!)

Room Tip: Never stay by an exit door if you want total quiet-at any hotel. We stayed in room facing Hall road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Comfort Inn of Utica and for such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and outstanding service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here twice recently, both times we were able to get the price reduced by 30% through simple negotiation. The people at the desk clearly have directions to not let anyone walk out the door.

Overall the place is clean, well lit and at a decent price. It was quiet as well. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday. Small breakfast area similar to most every other breakfast offered by most hotels. Centrally located to all of the "attractions" (shopping) in the area.

Room Tip: When you reserve a room and you need a fridge, you need to verify that your room will have one. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebel-Miles-Photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that overall you found your stay with us to be enjoyable. I am glad you had an opportunity to take advantage of our 25% off room promotion. Comfort Inn of Utica always provides the very best value, service and accommodations possible. Throughout the year, Comfort Inn will offer a limited number of Tradtional rooms at a promotional same day rate if occupancy permits.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Utica, MI location for two nights. The first was ok, but the second night was very noisy. There was about an inch gap around our entry door, and we heard everything in the hall. This location is a hot spot for wedding parties and when I called downstairs, I was told there was nothing they could do about the noise, there were five wedding parties checked in. Also, we were right above the entrance to the hotel and all the smokers milled around the front door and quiet it was not! I also did not like wAlking between a lot of smokers to get inside, thought the smoking area should be away from the front door.The first day there were some really a fuzzy men standing around and I felt afraid to go near them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Comfort Inn of Utica..

I was certainly disappointed to hear that your second night was less than perfect due to the noise level of other hotel patrons and I do apologize for this. It is certainly not indicative of the fine quality we represent over the past years. The local nightlife is indeed vibrant, especially on weekends, which is part of what attracts many of our guests and more often than not, our guests are all very considerate of quiet hours. I apologize that we did not resolve the situation to your satisfaction. We do offer quieter rooms on our Business Class Level, North side that can be reserved upon request.

Comfort Inn offers an attractive Patio area on the far East end of the hotel grounds for our guests that prefer to smoke. Smoking is discouraged near all hotel entrances and I can certainly understand how unpleasant it is to be exposed to the odor of smoke caused by others.

On your next trip to Utica, please come and speak to me personally so I can make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Utica

Property: Comfort Inn Utica
Address: 11401 Hall Rd, Utica, MI 48317-5900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 10 Time Platinum & Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn of Utica offers guests Exceptional Quality and Service. Guests will enjoy Free WiFi throughout the hotel and premium cable television with 122 channels of premium in-room entertainment including 88 High Definition channels plus HBO & Cinemax. All Guest Rooms feature 42' Flat Panel LED TV's, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, and more. 70% Of Guest Rooms offer Microwave & Refrigerator's for your added convenience. 24 Hr Fitness Center and In-Room Whirlpools add to your relaxation. The Comfort Inn Cafe offer's Free Hot Buffet Breakfast featuring a rotating menu of Eggs, Ham, Bacon, Sausage, Hash Browns, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurt, Fresh Seansonal Fruits, Hot & Cold Cereals and much more including your choice of Warm Freshly Made Waffles. The Lobby Business Center is available 24 hrs a day for our guests. Be sure to take advantage of the hotel's on-site Conference Room and Business Services. Join us every Tuesday for our complimentary guest reception. Located near all Detroit area attractions as well as World Class shopping. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to a wide selection of corporations, hospitals and medical centers, including Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Henry Ford Macomb Hospital - Clinton Township, St. John Macomb-Oakland Hospital and Mount Clemens Regional Medical Center. The Comfort Inn is conveniently located at Hall Road and Van Dyke near fabulous shopping that includes the Lakeside Mall, Shelby Town Center and the Mall at Partridge Creek. Whether it is shopping, eating out or enjoying Michigan's fine parks and recreations, Comfort Inn of Utica is the place to be. Experience the fashion, dining, and entertainment destinations in Macomb County. The Mall at Partridge Creek is home to over 90 distinctive stores and restaurants; the 130 fabulous stores at Lakeside Mall; or catch some amazing deals at the Great Lakes Crossing Outlet Mall. The nearby Stony Creek Metropark Nature Center provides opportunities for hiking, biking, boating, and ice skating. Mark your calendar and enjoy the local festivals, orchards and cider mills. ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Utica Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing