We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best customer service”
Review of Comfort Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Utica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Unexpected stay. I booked on hotels.com for a much cheaper price than their website offered. Satellite TV had issues throughout the evening. Called to front desk to see when it would come back on and the front desk clerk was extremely rude. Breakfast was nice. Checkout-desk clerk (different one) was too busy listening to ear phones to print me out a receipt. Said I had to get it from Hotels.com. I've never had that issue before, but luckily I had my confirmation email to send in for business reimbursement. Nice hotel, front desk customer service could have been friendlier and more professional.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rivergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am disappointed that you found our Guest Services Team Members to be lacking in Customer Service Skills. We pride ourselves in providing an exemplary experience for all of our guests and I cannot apologize to you enough to make up for the disappointment that you felt. Our guest services agent should certainly have been more understanding of your concern with the satellite reception and should have properly explained the circumstances that had adversely affected our Television Satellite reception; On August 11th just a few hours after you checked into your room, devastating rain storms and floods ravaged parts of Oakland, Macomb and Wayne counties, Some of the heaviest rain came in the 6 p.m. hour, when 1.24 inches of rain fell at Detroit Metropolitan Airport in just 24 minutes, part of a record-breaking 4.57 inches of total rainfall for the day and up to 6 inches in some suburban areas. It is the second-heaviest calendar-day rainfall on record in the Motor City, behind only a 4.74-inch deluge on July 31, 1925. Our Guest Services Team was handling an extremely high volume of incoming calls due to over 17,000 residents experiencing power outages. The weather conditions affected and interrupted satellite reception throughout Metro Detroit and the surrounding suburbs. We apologize for this highly unusual and isolated incident.

Your comment that described a front office team member wearing a headset is puzzling; we can find no record of this incident and take such matters seriously. Kindly contact me directly to discuss.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for problems caused by the storm. We thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share the details from your stay. My team takes all of your comments very seriously as opportunities for improvement in the weeks and months ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel came pretty well-recommended on TA. We had to be in Detroit 2 nights for a wedding. The hotel where the wedding reception was taking place had bad reviews, so we decided to stay at this Comfort Inn, Utica which was within a 10 minute drive to the other place.

We also picked this hotel because they allow pets there. We have a 70 lb golden retriever, so it's important to have easy access to the outside. We requested a first floor room so we could get out the hotel with our dog quickly and easily. There is a 2 acre field in front of the hotel which served as a lavish restroom for our dog.

Check in: easy
Room: 2 queen beds, decent sized room (though not huge), enough space to fit a dog crate, coffeemaker, microwave, fridge, iron, ironing table, hair dryer (which had a nightlight built in--cool feature for middle of the night restroom use). 2 SINKS!! One in the bathroom and another in the room, so two people can easily brush/shave/do makeup simultaneously. This was an awesome feature for saving time!! All hotels should have this. My only complaint was that the bright light from outside our room could not be completely blocked out by the room-darkening curtains.
Parking: ample, safe, easy access
Breakfast included: Oatmeal, honey, brown sugar, cereals, toast, croissants, English muffins, waffle-maker, cheese slices, cheese cubes, sandwich-shaped & hard-boiled eggs, sausage or ham, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, juices, coffee, 2% and whole milk.
Check-out: easy

We would definitely use this hotel again if we happen to go to Detroit. Breakfast was very good and included in the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have a dog, so you can easily take your pet out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

Your review titled "2 acres, 2 sinks & breakfast included" was such a nice compliment about our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our guestrooms and amenities to be such a great value. We are glad you also had an opportunity to stop in our morning breakfast café and sample some of the new menu items we have recently added to our hot buffet line. We strive to make everyone's experience exceptional. On behalf of our entire Comfort Inn team, we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First, I can't get over how inexpensive this hotel is and it's not a dump. Although everything appears slightly outdated (bathroom/sink counters, décor, general building), it is incredibly clean and everything is taken care of. We had a very fun room with a hot tub and an interesting glass wall separating the bathroom and the room. The only thing that was slightly bothersome about the glass wall was that whenever someone went to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the light from the bathroom would shine through this wall. Additionally, the bathroom is rather large for a hotel - which was nice.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and always greets everyone with smiles. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel! There was a lot of business at this hotel and I know why.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCC586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are so delighted to hear that you had such a satisfying stay. Thank you for mentioning the high level of service and positive interactions with our guest services team. This is what we strive for with each and every guest.

We are glad you also had an opportunity to stop in our morning breakfast café and sample some of the new menu items we have recently added to our hot buffet line. Our staff prides themselves on being personable and helpful in every way possible, so I’m delighted to hear our entire service team left such a favorable impression.

Please accept my apologies for the accommodations that include the glass block wall design not being ideally suited to your expectations. Fortunately we have several different room designs and I have made a note on your guest account to reserve an alternate room type on your next visit.

Thank you again for the helpful feedback and please reach out to me if I may personally assist with your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a great location for us half in the middle of going to the out lets In auburn hills & the Pro Bass. there is good shopping were we where. fast foods & the post office just a mile up the street. Not far from my favorite restaurant California Pizza Kitchen just down the street less than 10 mins & a great out door mall there also & other restaurants as well.

The breakfast was good , & very clean the lady that runs it so friendly & wonderful.

Front desk & manager also very friendly & very helpful.
Heather Gonsalves Ontario Canada

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherWGonsalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much! I am so pleased that you choose to give us a try this visit and that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We accommodate hundreds of our good Canadian neighbors throughout the year who visit the area regularly to enjoy excellent shopping & dining experiences. We hope to add you to our list of regular and frequent guests and to welcome you back again soon!

The Holiday Shopping Season will quickly be upon us and Comfort Inn will continue to put forward attractive rate options that offer real value to our guests. Please let us know when you’re returning so we can tell you about our upcoming Black Friday & Holiday shopping packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for ten days last year and a week in July this year while visiting our daughter, son-in-law and six grandchildren. We love this motel because the room is clean and roomy, the bed is TOTALLY RAD, so comfortable we slept like babies (five pillows too) and the bathroom vanity is long and roomy. The lighting in bathroom is also excellent, which I alway like. Also has a fridge and microwave. Plenty of room for all our "stuff" on a one-month trip! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGigiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for joining us again this July. We understand you have numerous options in the city and we are delighted that you once again selected us.

I know that you are very busy and very much appreciate the time that you took to let us know how your recent stay was. I was truly pleased to read your compliments about the cleanliness of our hotel and that you found our new Comfort Cozy bedding package to be so comfortable!

I will be certain to share your comments with our guest services team.

Thank you for continuing to be a repeat customer – that is the greatest compliment of all! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Staff is always friendly!! Always clean and comfortable. Rooms and beds are nice and you will get a good night sleep. I recommend this one if your in the area for sure. All kinds of Restaurants close to the hotel. I'll come back here every time I'm in town.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for sharing you recent stay experience with us here on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the room and that service was superior. Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. Everyone on our team is thrilled that you enjoyed yourself so much.

We value your patronage and thank you for calling out what makes our hotel special to you.

We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After staying at the Marriott Courtyard this was an oasis. The room was spacious the bathroom had plenty of room. The pillows and bed very very comfortable. The staff was more than accommodating. The complimentary breakfast had a tremendous variety. Only negative was the TV reception wasn't the best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Izzy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah J, General Manager at Comfort Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Comfort Inn of Utica. We understand there are many fine lodging choices available in the area and we are so pleased that you chose us.

We are so delighted to hear that you had such a satisfying stay. Thank you for mentioning the positive interactions with our guest services team. This is what we strive for with each and every guest

We are thrilled that you found our new Comfort Cozy bedding package to be so comfortable. A comfortable night's sleep is an important part of our experience. We are glad you also had an opportunity to stop in our morning breakfast café and sample some of the new menu items we have recently added to our hot buffet line. We are pleased that you found a nice variety to choose from. Each season we change up the menu to continually give our guests new selections to enjoy.

I apologize that the television reception was not satisfactory during your visit. I have notified our Maintenance team to inspect the television in your guest room and make any necessary repairs or replacements. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

On behalf of our entire Comfort Inn team, we thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Utica
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit / Utica
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Detroit-Utica
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#4 of 7 in Sterling Heights
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Utica

Address: 11401 Hall Rd, Utica, MI 48317-5900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Utica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 10 Time Platinum & Gold Award Winning Comfort Inn of Utica offers guests Exceptional Quality and Service. Guests will enjoy Free WiFi throughout the hotel and premium cable television with 122 channels of premium in-room entertainment including 88 High Definition channels plus HBO & Cinemax. All Guest Rooms feature 42' Flat Panel LED TV's, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, and more. 70% Of Guest Rooms offer Microwave & Refrigerator's for your added convenience. 24 Hr Fitness Center and In-Room Whirlpools add to your relaxation. The Comfort Inn Cafe offer's Free Hot Buffet Breakfast featuring a rotating menu of Eggs, Ham, Bacon, Sausage, Hash Browns, Biscuits & Gravy, Yogurt, Fresh Seansonal Fruits, Hot & Cold Cereals and much more including your choice of Warm Freshly Made Waffles. The Lobby Business Center is available 24 hrs a day for our guests. Be sure to take advantage of the hotel's on-site Conference Room and Business Services. Join us every Tuesday for our complimentary guest reception. Located near all Detroit area attractions as well as World Class shopping. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to a wide selection of corporations, hospitals and medical centers, including Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Henry Ford Macomb Hospital - Clinton Township, St. John Macomb-Oakland Hospital and Mount Clemens Regional Medical Center. The Comfort Inn is conveniently located at Hall Road and Van Dyke near fabulous shopping that includes the Lakeside Mall, Shelby Town Center and the Mall at Partridge Creek. Whether it is shopping, eating out or enjoying Michigan's fine parks and recreations, Comfort Inn of Utica is the place to be. Experience the fashion, dining, and entertainment destinations in Macomb County. The Mall at Partridge Creek is home to over 90 distinctive stores and restaurants; the 130 fabulous stores at Lakeside Mall; or catch some amazing deals at the Great Lakes Crossing Outlet Mall. The nearby Stony Creek Metropark Nature Center provides opportunities for hiking, biking, boating, and ice skating. Mark your calendar and enjoy the local festivals, orchards and cider mills. ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Utica Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing