We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, slow service”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Lympstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
exmouth, devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food, slow service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were a large party of 12, we sat down at 8pm and waited 35 mins before anyone came to ask us what we would like to drink, once we had ordered the drinks we waited another 20 mins for them to arrive. We loved the food! Good portion size, fab taste and presentation. However we kept having to signal the waitresses over for drinks! The restaurant was quite busy but if this was my restaurant I would make sure the largest party in the restaurant was looked after, we were prepared to order cocktails and more wine but I just took to long! That said the food was lovely but we left unimpressed with the staff!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckylouwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    136
    50
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“poor service, cold food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

kept waiting 1 hour 45 mins for meal then when meals came 2 were cold. the manager was not interested when spoken to. he did not offer any reimbursement. First time was ok but this last visit was appalling. found much better now.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Antipasti”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My daughter and I went for a walk around the village as I lived there many years ago and wanted to see what had changed.We had lunch at the Swan Inn. It was quite busy with cycling families and older people. The service was prompt and polite. As it was a hot day we didn't feel like anything cooked so we opted for the main course antipasti. What a feast! There were so many types of delicious cold meats, poppy seed bread and a tangy chutney. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely have it again if we go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie6930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak and Ale Pie”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited here on a Friday evening having booked first which was a good job as it was pretty busy. Both my husband and I had the steak and ale pie with chips and peas. It was very tasty and you could certainly taste the ale. For desert I went for the Lemon Cheese Cake wow it was out of this world. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked a table for 9 people for a special lunch in the restaurant. Arrived to find we were the only ones in that part of pub & so was unpleasantly surprised at the poor service. Felt like we were an inconvenience to them answering the phone or being elsewhere. When our main meals came they had totally forgotten one & offered as way of apology a bread roll ! Most had eaten half their meals by the time the burger did arrive. The food was good but felt uncomfortable with one person waiting. Excited about dessert we ordered a selection & I enquired about the surprise part of the brownie as my friend was torn between options. AGAIN there was a delay between all food coming out. not as bad BUT was told by another friend that this is not uncommon at The Swan. The surprise brownie was indeed that & so said to the waitress that her description wasn't right, her response was less than gracious .. It would be too strong to call the 2 waitresses incompetent & rude but with more training by whoever is in charge would I am sure help them achieve this. My friends were too polite to complain & they were paying so really hope no tip was made. THIS is my tip, sort out your staff as they spoil your lovely food

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicTB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing