We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, welcome from staff odd!!”
Review of The Saddlers Arms

The Saddlers Arms
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Lympstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Saddlers serves locally sourced food, such as Kenniford Farm pork, Exmouth Mussels, Lyme Bay Crab. Our skilled team of chefs pride themselves on cooking good honest food. We have a vast garden for children to play in and offer live music on the last friday of every month. Tim and Shantell look forward to welcoming you to The Saddlers.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food good, welcome from staff odd!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

3 of us arrived at the bar, ordered drinks and queried if food was available, we were told yes, menus are on the tables and order at the bar. To then receive a barman interrupt with "at least 30 minute wait if they want food". Quite grumpy. We didn't mind, ordered our food. Food can in 20 minutes, chilli was very hot but great for us, steak & chips not tender but tasty. Odd welcome but food was lovely and the barman was really pleasant when we paid our bill.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 53thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    78
    27
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Service, Certainly Will Recommend”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I Came To The Saddlers Arms On Sunday And I Was Very Surprised With The Experience I Received. Ive Heard A lot Of Things About The Saddlers Over The Years But After Finding Out Myself, I Will Certainly Come Back And Will Let Everybody Know About How Good It Was.
From When I came Into The Building, James, The Barman Introduces Himself And Asked How We Where And If We Had Had A Good Day, My Dad Absolutely Loved Having Somebody To Talk With About 'Things' And It Really Put A Good Start To The Experience. He Told Us What The Specials Where After Taking Us To A Table. It was Busy With Large Tables But He Still Managed To Fit Us In And Make Us Feel Like There Was Nobody Else Who Needed Attending. A Young Lady Bought The Food Over To Us And It Looked Amazing, Theres Always Something About Wanting What Everybody Else Has Got But In My Case, Dad Didn't Get Any! I Had The Gammon Which Was Recommended To Me When I Ordered And It Was Great.Overall The Service, Food, Enviroment Was Excellent And I Look Forward To Returning!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We held our wedding reception at The Saddler's Arms and we could honestly not have picked a better venue. The function area was set up perfectly, tables laid up & decorated very well and the food was of a great standard. Darren and Tess certainly went the extra mile to ensure the afternoon & evening went like clockwork. The gardens house various animals and a play park which kept the kids happy for hours. Everyone had a great day. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thank you so much for making it a memorable event.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredibly welcoming!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We visited today for the first time to grab a bit of lunch & we so impressed! We only had a lunch of baguettes, which were fine & very reasonably priced but were bowled over by how friendly the owners were. After a confusion with food (on our part!) the manager came straight over to see us & was so lovely. The pets corner was perfect for my 2 year old & kept her occupied whilst we enjoyed a rare sit out & eat in the sunshine. The owner even got some animals out for my daughter to pet which she was so happy about! We definatley will be going again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edmondsonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely family pub!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited en masse on Fathers day, the new owners, Darren and Tessa had no problems catering for our party of 16 - vegetarians and coeliac included!!!! Lovely atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, and the food was gorgeous!!!! We all had the Fathers day menu of roast or steak, and the food was beautifully cooked, piping hot, and well presented. (Fab apple pie too!!!!! Generous with the custard!!!!!) Coffee in the lovely garden after while the kids played in the revamped play park.
If you've been to the Saddlers in the past and it's been less than great, give it another go! It's a completely different place now, very friendly and relaxing - brilliant family pub. Without a doubt we'll be back!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stone_simon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saddlers Arms also viewed

 
Lympstone, Exmouth
 

Been to The Saddlers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing