We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food is great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Globe Inn

The Globe Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Lympstone
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“food is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

been here recently with a friend and had the soup of the day, it came and was presented beautifully with lots of bread and croutons. the service wasn't so good but what do you expect of a local pub

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila r, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
thank you for reviewing the globe our food is always of top quality thanks to our chef. weer sorry you didnt find the service as good please dont let this put you off making futher visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lympstone
1 review
“Lovely Christmas Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I belong to the court jesters and we decided to try the Globe for our annual xmas lunch after hearing such fantastic things about the chef Gary.We were not disapointed at all,everyone apart from me had Turkey and I had seabass,it was the best fish I have ever tasted. All of us aged between 60 and 90 cleared our plates and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of meal from starters to dessert. The service was excellent and Gary is a very talented chef and we will definetly visit again.Well done Gary on your fantastic meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have visited The Globe Inn,Lympstone many times in the last 6 months with family and friends to eat and every time we have had an excellent choice of well cooked food-if you like seafood this is the place to come- best in the area- Never disappointed

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I recently visited the Globe for a evening meal with my family,I have never eaten at this pub before. We were not dissapointed at all and will be visiting again. The food was excellent and if you love fish I would highly recomend visiting this pub.Gary the chef is a very talented young man with a very good and tempting menu.Well done Gary we will visit again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's a proper pub with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

My other half and I stopped here for lunch before a crawl around some of the pubs in nearby Topsham. We chose this pub because of favourable comments in the visitors' logbook at nearby Peters Tower.
When we arrived there were a couple of groups there for a Christmas dinner so there was a short wait before our order was taken. We opted to have the roast turkey and weren't disappointed. Tasty meat, stuffing with chunks of chestnut in and five types of perfectly cooked vegetables.
There is a lot to be said for proper pubs that do decent food. This place is not a pub-restaurant, gastropub or similar, just a no nonsense friendly boozer with really good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank napierterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila r, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
thank you for the review we like our customers to leave the globe inn happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing