We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal”
Review of Al Oumara

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Al Oumara
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
197 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We descended with 18 hungry family members. They were expecting us, and served up a wonderful dinner with all the classics. Great service, fantastic tasty food, great location. Only complaint was that it was too much food! Have been going there for years, and it's always wonderful. My hey now have a bigger dining area, and have redecorated, so it looks great also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for dining in or carry out!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants! For Middle Eastern cuisine it is my "go to". The food and service are excellent and the service is always with a smile. Warm and welcoming atmosphere. My favorite is the Shish Tawook with grilled vegetables. I am a frequent diner there with friends or a quick take out for the family. I always feel like my business is truly appreciated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spanishteach910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Mediterranean style food. Very good food. Service runs hot and cold. Crushed lentil soup is very good. Food is always served hot. Very good puffed pita rolls. House salad is very tasty. We have gone with friends and family. Also, good carry out. Service staff could smile more, but we return because the food is always good. Moderate prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've eaten at dozens of good middle eastern restaurants in the Detroit area. Al Oumara stands out for consistently good food, fast friendly service and large portions. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Detroit
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Mideastern places.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Their service is fast and friendly. The place has recently been renovated. Their pita wrap sandviches and soups are always great. The entrees can be hit or miss, at least my last dinner order ( ground lamb sausage with rice) was soaking in fat to the point I just left half of it on the plate.

Still, I think it's a great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Oumara also viewed

West Bloomfield, MI
West Bloomfield, MI
 
West Bloomfield, MI
 

Been to Al Oumara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing