We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the remote north woods, serenity is cool but so is access to Gawker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wetmore
Certificate of Excellence
jersey city, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“in the remote north woods, serenity is cool but so is access to Gawker”
Reviewed 24 January 2009

This was a very delightful spot. The room was pristine and the lobby was pleasantly woodsy - I'm not sure if this was Michigan-specific decor but it was a good fit for the surroundings. More important, they had three computers in the lobby. I am reluctant to carry a laptop out of fear I'll leave it on the airport monorail or something so it's nice to see one computer available, let alone three.

While I preferred to venture into town for a bagel with smoked whitefish, my girlfriend is an avid proponent of hotel breakfasts, and was pleased with the offerings here. I think the Web site may claim 24-hour free coffee but on our visit this wasn't the case - so if 1am caffeine is important plan ahead.

The service was friendly and fast.

There's an adjacent Pamida store for all the basics, but it's one of the earliest-closing grocery stores I can recall. Nothing else is walkable - while I do appreciate being able to walk to things (especially in the AM, pre-coffee) the AmercInn is only 6 minutes so from bustling downtown Munising by car.

  • Liked — computers
  • Disliked — immediate area is a bit on the quiet side
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyguy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    135
    43
    18
    18
See reviews for
213
110
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

The AmericInn in Munising was a great place to stay. We were on a romantic fall foliage vacation, and trusted the advice here on TripAdvisor and it was correct.

The hotel was very clean and the workers very polite and courteous. They have the usual breakfast buffet which, while not spectacular, does save a trip into town to eat. The pool area looked very nice and well maintained.

We splurged a bit and went for one of their jacuzzi rooms, and it was well worth the extra $10.00. It was very large and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the maid staff did an excellent job.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatTravelinJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumner, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

My family stayed at this hotel during it's very busy season. Overall, we loved our experience. Our daughters could have lived in the pool. Our oldest, 8, did the Mile Slide experience and had a blast. The pool area is very nice for adults and kids, even though it gets busy. Parents can keep an eye on their kids from every part of it ... the sauna, hot tub, pool, slides, etc. We didn't have to worry about our youngest daughter, 5, too much in the pool since it is 3' 6'' at the deepest. Parents still need to keep an eye on kids (and sign a sheet stating this) since a lifeguard is not on duty. A pool attendant only watches the 100' slide to be sure it is being used correctly. They make this hotel very family friendly, in fact, there are games that you can check out at the front desk and even beta fish the kids can adopt overnight in their hotel room. The breakfast had a lot to offer, but was very crowded when we were there. The front staff was nice and friendly, but not always at the desk (you may need to ring the bell and wait a bit for them). Our only disappointment was that our final bill at checkout was much higher than the room price we reserved online. Thankfully, I had printed our confirmation from home and taken it with me so that I could show the front desk staff the price difference issue. To their credit, they quickly resolved the problem and gave me my lower rate.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Breakfast room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LilacMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This is a comfortable, clean and quiet hotel. The rooms were large and the bed was comfortable. The pool was clean and a lot of fun late in the evening when it was for adults only - it was packed with kids prior to then. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located outside of town, but the drive into town for restaurants was quick.

The only drawbacks: the breakfast was mediocre and there was only one washer and dryer in the laundry room, for which several people were waiting.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, and the pool was large and fun
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AmethystTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Stayed in 2 room family suite, which was only $20 for upgrade--had fireplace, 2 TVs, whirlpool & privacy. Grandson absolutely loved the pool--spent most of our time in it (he is 13). Have a competition wherein kids can log 1 mi. going down the 100' water slide & get their pic taken, posted on the wall, and a certificate. Was a big hit!! Staff were courteous and helpful, great to see so many people in the meeting area in lobby, room well equipped & private. Wi-Fi in lobby but we were able to access in room (204). Very complete comp breakfast. Easily gave extended check out & the hotel was booked solid night before. Glad we stopped early in day before the Pictured Rocks cruise. Overall--would highly recommend for families in the area. Had researched on tripadvisor & it paid off.

  • Liked — hotel itself
  • Disliked — surround grounds are boring
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HWAYMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

AmericInn is one of the nicest hotels in the area. They really seem to cater to the vacationing families. Our king suite room was perfect for 3 adults staying several days. Everything was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast bar each morning, hubby loved to make his own waffles. My daughter spent time each day checking her "facebook" on their free computers which are pleasantly located in the lobby, not buried in an isolated office. The hotel is just minutes from all the local attractions. Only problems were with the indoor pool and spa, while it is great, it was closed two nights of our stay and that was one of our main reasons for booking. Also there is only one washer and dryer for guests and while that is probably not an issue 350 days of the year, it is a very popular place Friday and Saturday nights in July. There is a very nice store (Pamida's) next door that has just about everything you might need while on a rural vacation (sodas, wine and beer, snacks, clothing, medicines, personal care items, camping and fishing equipment.) . I really loved the area and would stay at AmericInn again.

  • Liked — Brand New, Clean and Comfortable, Good Value
  • Disliked — Pool being closed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewLondonCTAdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetmore
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
3.0 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
3.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
2.7 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
15.5 mi away
Village Inn Motel
Village Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Chatham
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Address: 9926 M-28 East, Wetmore, MI 49895
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Wetmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wetmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge and Suites of Munising, Michigan. Centrally located in the beautifull Upper Peninsula of Michigan just miles from the shore of Lake Superior and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. While you are here enjoy the many area attractions and outdoor activities, then relax in one of our comfortable guest rooms. Enjoy our 100 foot waterslide, free breakfast, and quiet nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Munising
Americinn Lodge & Suites Munising Hotel Wetmore
Americinn Hotel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing