We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend in the country”
Review of Glenburn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisemans Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburn House
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the perfect escape from the city. It really is a lovely guesthouse in every way... Hosts Malcolm and Jennifer are welcoming and generous with their lovely home yet we felt our privacy was well respected. We loved the whole experience , lovely rooms and a beautiful sitting room with open fire not to mention the scrumptious breakfasts. For us the best part however was that we were able to bring our Labrador along too. The gardens are fully fenced and our dog was able to sit with us at all times... This is a true luxury for dog lovers as it is meticulously clean and comfortable yet dog friendly. We were so well looked after, on our last night Jennifer set a lovely table in the sitting room for us to enjoy our various nibbles complete with linen napkins, silver and crystal glasses.... A lovely touch and very thoughtful. The day trips to Bathurst and Millthorpe are a must as is the drive from Lithgow via Tarana... Thus is one of the prettiest drives in Nsw. My husband left a jumper in the room which arrived 2 days later in the mail ... Such kindness form our lovely hosts. We will definitely return ..

Room Tip: If you have your dog choose the room in the garden with the little deck.. Otherwise they are all lov...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We love Glenburn House so it's great to share it with our guests. Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Glenburn House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just what you would want for a get-away in the country. Lovely, quiet location with excellent accommodation. The rooms are well heated and the bathroom was very spacious. The hosts, Jennifer and Malcolm, are extremely welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. Close to Oberon and the O'Connel Pub. Will go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Saturday afternoon. Lovely homstead. Had dinner at the O'Connel pub and drove back to Glenburn House where we sat by the open fire in the sitting room. Room and ensuite was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Ask for the scrabbled eggs. They were amazing. Jennifer & Malcolm were so friendly and nice. Whatever you do.....don't come into the kitchen through the wrong door....just ask Malcolm...a funny story. Enjoy!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank willscullypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review - we appreciate it. That door has been Malcolm's bugbear ever since we've been here! Mal apologises for not responding with more curiosity to you telling us about your father - he remembers the achievements clearly (we both do) but his hearing is not good and it was only when I mentioned it to him after you left that he realised what you'd said.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very clean rooms, they looked brand new. Very large bathroom and excellent room heating. We found the location a great place to get away to with being just a short, but beautiful drive out of Oberon. It was an excellent location for view the stars and set up a telescope. A delicious breakfast was provided and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms looked like they had a balcony, might be worth asking for.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review - we really appreciate it. Great that the skies were clear (with no moon) when you were here so that you could enjoy observing the stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a very nice stay. Perfect location if you want to take in the surrounding sights and towns or to simply relax in the lovely garden.
Very confortable room and very nice hosts who were always more than happy to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungryforcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review- we greatly appreciate it. Hopefully you'll be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Jennifer & Malcolm were consummate hosts who made us feel very welcome & cared for. The accommodation is gorgeous & incredibly comfortable in a beautiful setting. Breakfast is generous & very tasty. Great for couples or families, or even the weary solo traveller.
A super place to stay if you're in the area & if you're not, the. Make the effort to go.
(It was suggested I mention the painting! - it is indeed very fine work on Malcolm's part.)
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I'm sure we'll be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review - we greatly appreciate it. Next time you visit the sun-room (and the painting!) should be finished. All the best for the expected imminent addition to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

As we arrived Jennifer came out to greet us - no having to knock or ring! She had a home made cake & plunger coffee and tea as a great welcome and we immediatley felt we had known both Jennifer and Malcolm before & were coming to stay as friends. We chatted as if we had known them for years.
The room was very comfortable, well appointed, with nothing lacking for our comfort. Malcolm had built the room we were in and he had thought of all comforts such as NO step from the bedroom into the well appointed bathroom so you did not stub your toes in the night!
Breakfast was a grand feast with home made mueslei, fresh fruit, large cooked breakfast plate, home made jam with grain bread toast and plunger coffee again. And of course the friendly chatter.
The only additions I would suggest would be to have an illuminated clock in the bedroom.
The property is the original school at Wisemans Creek and the extensions have been added sympathetically. There are two acres of gardens which are a pleasure to walk through & sit and enjoy, listen to birds and relax.

Room Tip: From what we could ascertain - they are all good
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Owner at Glenburn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it. We'll attend to the illuminated clock as soon as we can. We love sharing Glenburn House with our guests and really enjoyed your company too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Glenburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburn House

Address: 2899 Beaconsfield Rd, Wisemans Creek, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wisemans Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wisemans Creek
Price Range: £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation consists of three guest rooms, each with en-suite bathroom, housed in a separate new pavilion plus the old school room which is now a welcoming sitting and dining room for guests. Verandas, terraces and a spacious garden provide many other delightful spots to sit and relax. Cooked and/or continental breakfast is included. For evening meals why not try the local O'Connell Hotel or one of the many fine restaurants in Bathurst. If you want to get out and about, the district offers many attractions but if you want to simply sit and enjoy the peace of the country you can relax by the fire or find a chair in the garden. Once night has fallen, don't forget to check out the starry sky. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing