We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a truly lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chindonan Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chindonan Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a truly lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Spent two nights here after four magical nights sailing from El Nido. What a lovely spot to stay too. The rooms are huge, clean with sweeping vistas of the Sulu Sea. You can snorkel right off the pier and hunt for seahorses. The water is crystal clear and deliciously warm. The meals were tasty, varied and plentiful and what can be more fun than feeding the tropical fish as you eat your own breakfast. This is a really wonderful place to stay.
That said, the best thing about our time at Chindonan was the delightful hospitality we received from our hosts. A Danish family that are living the dream. Their enthusiasm for the region is infectious. It is obvious that they have a real love of the place and are eager to share their knowledge of coral gardens and shady hammocks! They were enormously helpful is showing us about and seem so natural in assisting weary travelers.
The vibe at this resort is really special. I loved it and would happily recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    25
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
65
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

If you want to really relax on vacation, go to Chindonan Island Resort! We had a great time! I am glad that there is a place like paradise in the Philippines. Here are some of my best experiences:

* FEEDING THE FISHES - what a sight to behold from Chindonan's restaurant/bar!
* SNORKELING - since I snorkeled alone and was afraid to go very far, I went as far as the water was knee-deep (Hahah! Seriously). Guess what? I still saw a lot of fishes. I even saw an urchin (cool!). Per, one of the owners, says you can see and hold a seahorse while snorkeling in (waist-high) shallow waters. Too bad I missed that opportunity!
* MILKSHAKES - their fruit milkshakes are addictive! Try this combo - mango/banana milkshake. Heavenly!
* Spacious, cozy COTTAGE - nice interiors, opens to a veranda and a great view of the ocean, own bathroom (with hot water in the afternoon), well-ventilated, and a walk-in closet
* SLEEPING and WAKING to the sounds of nature - marvelous!
* THE VIEW - it is paradiso!
* GREAT STAFF and FOOD
* WARM and VERY HOSPITABLE trio of Lona, Per, and Per

THANK YOU for making our experience at Chindonan Island Resort and Divecenter WONDERFUL! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Get the COTTAGE -great view, cozy, own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VenieRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

simply fabulos rooms, coralreefs, the food was amazing every night, with different fish, rockloobsters and many other kinds of fish, the other dishes was amazing, the staff was always smiling and ready to help. The owners was incredible to make you feel speciel, and told us about everything that we could see and experiense.
The rooms was big and always clean, and had a fantastic veiw from the terrace
My wife and i came home efter 9 days in paradise, and we will be going back for more soon.
The water was drinkable and totally clean.
My wife had a meeting with a big spider, not poison, but pretty fast running away

Room Tip: Al the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmtgwp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed here from 25th feb thru 1st March and I have to say that the location is simply great. The staff is super friendly and they will take really good care as far as your breakfast and dinner needs go. The food tastes delicious and since i was a solo traveller I use to end up having dinner with the owners. They were really helpful when it came to planning my day trips.
The rooms are simple. If you are looking for some lavish resort with jacuzzi etc then this is not the place for you. I use to tell the owners to advertise the resort as "Eco" resort. They have natural spring water which is very rare on these small islands in philippines.

With the help of the owners i was able to plans day trip to go on different islands and do snorkeling. The resort is centrally located and all the great dive and snorkeling spots are very close by. If you want to relax and enjoy then this is your place. Oh and don't forget to dive in the house reef and ask Pierre to show you some cool sea horses.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

A little hard to find making it the Philippine's best kept secret. Wonderful hospitality, minimum of guests, beautiful food everyday, dinner over the sea, privacy, cleanliness, a wonderful snorkelable house reef unspoilt and protected by the owners, and clean fresh water (a total scarcity in these parts). Divers paradise, with the reefs and WW2 wrecks just nearby. If it's glass, high-rise and swimming pool you're after, don't bother. If it's a healthy, comfortable, clean and friendly place to relax, download from a days (awesome) diving and prepare for the next day, look no further. Sangat (source of the major dive equip- new and well run/maintained) is a speedboat away.
Stop looking and trying to sift through all the options for this area and just get onto PERE, PERE and LONA via their Chindonan website.
For adventurers, lovers and adventurous lovers.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed for 6 days in this wonderful Resort. And we could easily have spend 1 week more. The life under water is FANTASTIC. Have seen so many funny fish and colorful corals. And after a day spending in the water, is was GREAT to sit in the cosy bar, just relaxing and/or have fun with thw owners and staff. They are all so kind and friendly. The food was excellent. Fish, meat, rice, soups, homemade bread etc. etc.
After a "busy" day under water and hanging around, is was nice to have a good night sleep in big clean rooms. And in the morning when the birds "have waked you up", it was so wonderful to sit in front of the room/house... just enjoying the great view.
WE WILL BE BACK....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helle1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

What a lovely place!!! It was everything I could imagine and more – from the gracious hospitality of the owners (Lona, Per x 2), the wonderfully pleasant and cheerful staff, the amazingly delicious foods from the spunky little chef, Aquila and the spaciously clean, comfortable, yet simple accommodations with a fantastic view – I DIDN’T WANT TO LEAVE!!!

Best place to recharge from a hectic life and just enjoy the nature and beauty of the Calamian Islands. Only spent three days, and wished we stayed longer.....definitely lots more to see ! Lona was fantastic at suggesting/planning daily itineraries, but she also left plenty of time to relax and enjoy the island as well.

Thank you Lona, Per x 2 and Chindonan staff for giving me an unforgettable and memorable experience !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cfletcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chindonan Island
2.7 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
12.4 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
13.6 mi away
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Popototan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
54.0 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindonan Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindonan Dive Resort

Property: Chindonan Dive Resort
Address: | Coron Bay, Palawan Island 5315, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Culion > Chindonan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chindonan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chindonan Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chindonan Island Resort & Divecenter is placed in center of this paradise, own marine protected house-reef in front of the resort, and Chindonan Divecenter has a unique location toward diving at the Famous WWII Wrecks of Coron Bay. Restaurant & Bar on columns in the water and hammocks under palm trees – indulge for true leisure! Hillside DeLuxe Cottages, located at different levels in the scenic area facing Coron Bay. Rooms with large double-bed or two single and space for extra bed, bathroom and walk-in closet. Budget Huts made in native materials, with same beautiful view as the Cottages. All rooms are equipped with electric fans and the Resort has its own drinkable natural spring-water from all taps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chindonan Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing