We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chindonan Dive Resort
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After thirty hours of traveling, we finally arrived at our destination. This was my first time (my wife's 4th) in the Philippines and it was a memorable one. Palawan should be on everyone's bucket list, it's that beautiful! And definitely staying here at Chindonan was exactly what we needed. It's not your typical resort. There isn't the hustle and bustle of people coming and going, generators (electricity shuts down after breakfast, comes back on for lunch for about an hour and a half, then comes back on around dinner time), or an army of workers buzzing by you to complete their tasks. It's a time to slow down and enjoy what living is really about. Every level of the establishment from the owners to each and every one of the staff members made our stay the most comfortable, stress free, and fun as possible. The resort has about 3 concrete walled cottages split into two separate rooms and I believe two budget huts. Most of the time we had the resort to ourselves, but the few guests we encountered were all friendly and fun to be around. What we enjoyed the most were the day trips by banka and the diving across the way at Sangat. The day trips were spectacular, especially the one focused on snorkeling. Practically everywhere we went we were the only tourists on the entire island! Our guides, Michael and Nice, were both excellent. Not only are they helpful and funny, but good, honest people. They took the time to explain the history of Busuanga, what issues are affecting the area, and how tourism development has changed the area. Make sure to prepare your body for lots of activity on these trips and hopefully you have some sort of swimming ability before coming here. My wife and I workout regularly and found ourselves pretty tired after each trip. Chindonan has a partnership with Sangat, so if you’re interested in diving they pick you up in the morning to get your dives in. Over there you could have buffet style lunch afterward and continue diving in the afternoon. We contemplated staying there, but the differences are noticeable. If you want a more chill, relaxed environment stay at Chindonan. If you’re seeking a more traditional resort with a few more amenities and activities, then Sangat could be the better option.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Druthadamaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    27
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
65
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here 5 nights after a week and a half of stressful travel in Manila and Legazpi. It was so refreshing and wonderful. I love that there is nothing but the resort, which is small. The snorkeling was the best we have had and we've been to Moorea, Bora Bora, Fiji, the Galapgos, and Hawaii. Thank you to Nick for showing us the seahorses our last day. The breakfast was freshly cooked - be aware that you are charged for any fruit. The mango is delicious, but extra charge. Dinners were very well prepared and delicious. The room was large, the bed was very comfortable and the view was fantastic. The advertised "mosquito net" wasn't in our room, but there weren't mosquitos either. The relaxed atmosphere was great and we were free to explore around in the small bangka. Actually the best snorkeling is right in front of the resort. The staff is very friendly and do a nice job keeping the place looking great. It would have been nice to have a better hiking trail. The one is short and sort of fades into the mangrove or the forest, depending on which fork you take. But taking a day trip to Culion was interesting and provided some walking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights during Chinese New Year, and I can honestly say it's one of my top 3 favourite places to stay in Asia. The location on Chindonan Island is perfect - amazing sunsets in the evening and just a beautiful setting. The views are stunning, and there are so many different places to enjoy them from - your balcony, the cool restaurant area, the hammocks, the palm tree shades, or even on one of the resort's banca boats! The rooms are large, comfortable, and beautiful, and the food was sensational. Also, the owners helped arrange an amazing boat trip around some of the islands. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the owners were a lot of fun to chat with. Thank you Per, Per, Kenneth and the rest of the Chindonan team. We had an amazing time, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I planned this trip months in advance. I did lots of research to make sure we would get the best experience we wanted for the best value. It's not the cheapest place to stay and not the most expensive.

We told them in advance what flight we would be taking and we were met at the airport with a van to take us down to the town pier where we were greeted by Kenneth, one of the owner's son. We then boarded a boat and settled in for the pleasant 45 min. ride to the resort.

As soon as we arrived our luggage was taken to our room, we were handed welcome drinks and shown to our room. We settled into our spacious room, which was minimally furnished and sank into pure contentment. Wow, talk about a stress free environment. We were surrounded by beautiful trees and scenery. All you could hear was the wind and the waves. This is exactly what we wanted. The dinner buffet was always plentiful and good and breakfast filling. It became a routine to feed the fish beneath the dining area my leftovers. The fish always put on a good show. The resort also provides lunch at an extra cost as well as drinks (both alcoholic and not).

The four days we were there we snorkelled straight off the beach, took one of the two native canoes available to the guests out for exploration, saw a pair of parrots, saw the world's biggest butterfly and went on a day long tour around the area in a native bangka (boat). The best part though is the friendliness of the owners and the son who were always around to talk to. My husband had many interesting conversations with them. We felt like they were not owners but friends taking care of us.

If you are looking for a quiet, well run, stress free get-away, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feistM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The silence at the resort is nearly deafening! A relatively new resort, clean and well kept. Its a perfect location for diving some of Coron's WWII wrecks (several are a 10min boat ride away), wonderful snorkelling opportunities (one of which is right in front of the resort) and island hopping to name just 3 (all of which can be arranged for you). The food (breakfast/dinner included in the price) is great quality and there's plenty of it. Its run by 2 Danish gentlemen (Per & Per) with assistance from one of their sons', all of whom are very friendly amiable and hospitable people, always very happy to deal with whatever issues you may have. They have some lovely happy staff who are equally happy to help you whenever necessary. I'd recommend the resort to anyone, certainly people that want to get away from the real world and relax, there can't be many better places to do so.

Room Tip: My only comment about the room is to advise there are no A/C units, but the fans provided are more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family of four spent four days at Chindonan and had a really wonderful time. It is a great base to explore this beautiful and mostly untouched part of Palawan. Victorianlad's review accurately and thoroughly captured many of the details of Chindonan, and we too have many marvelous memories of our visit. We took several trips on the resort bancas - to various snorkeling spots and tiny island beaches, and to Culion town - each was outstanding.

Per, Per, Lona and Kenneth are excellent, genial hosts. The staff are all extremely kind, helpful and gracious. The rooms are simple but comfortable (and I slept very well each night despite the lack of a/c). Food was very good. We had a nice time chatting with our fellow guests. And what a treat to snorkel with seahorses!!

Chindonan is a really special place. I hope you get to go there!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Per & Per were fantastically hospitable - did a little snorkelling and had 2 days of just chilling - as I'm not a diver I thought I may get a little bored but it was great to be somewhere where all you hear is the sound of the waves, birds in the trees and nothing else - there are some fantastic things to see just snorkelling and if you're a diver you can go to Sangat Island for wreck diving - The dive centre at Sangat is expensive for stuff like using the Jet Ski - 6,000 PHP is a tad expensive IMO - but then again you are in a secluded place without the usual comercial trappings.

Would I go back to Chindonan Island Resort - most definitely

Great service and an excellent setting - just wish I had been there for a few more days!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chindonan Island
2.7 mi away
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Sangat Island Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Sangat Island
363 reviews
12.4 mi away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
192 reviews
7.8 mi away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
320 reviews
13.6 mi away
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Popototan Island
194 reviews
54.0 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chindonan Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindonan Dive Resort

Property: Chindonan Dive Resort
Address: | Coron Bay, Palawan Island 5315, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Culion > Chindonan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chindonan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chindonan Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chindonan Island Resort & Divecenter is placed in center of this paradise, own marine protected house-reef in front of the resort, and Chindonan Divecenter has a unique location toward diving at the Famous WWII Wrecks of Coron Bay. Restaurant & Bar on columns in the water and hammocks under palm trees – indulge for true leisure! Hillside DeLuxe Cottages, located at different levels in the scenic area facing Coron Bay. Rooms with large double-bed or two single and space for extra bed, bathroom and walk-in closet. Budget Huts made in native materials, with same beautiful view as the Cottages. All rooms are equipped with electric fans and the Resort has its own drinkable natural spring-water from all taps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chindonan Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing