We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Old fashioned service where the guest comes first. Very pleasant staff with a can do attitude
Great room service burger, served hot and within 20 minutes of ordering
Delightful to have a mini bar in the room rather than an empty fridge in some hotels
Excellent breakfast and prompt service

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Milly1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a catch up weekend with the girls. Ate in the Orangery restaurant which was fabulous (lobster with saffron risotto.. Yummy). Pool and spa area is a highlight. Hotel is near Marlow which is perfect for Christmas shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalisburyWelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We arrive in a typical Thames Valley fog, but the welcome in the hotel lifted the gloom. Our room was enormous, and had a beautiful view over the Thames (which we saw the next day when the fog had lifted).

An anniversary cake was waiting for us....lovely and to hell with the calories.

The spa swimming pool was lovely, and uncrowded.

We ate at the Orangery which was lovely.

Nex time we'll probably come back in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We booked an afternoon tea in July for my partners birthday. Very hot day and we got a table outside...lovely. 20 minutes later we finally got someone attention to get some drinks, pimms, bubbly and water. 15 minutes later whilst sweating in the heat we ask where are drinks were. the bubble and water turn up. then the full afternoon tea. still no pimms. The beef sandwiches were sent back as they were dry and stale...still no pimms. finally i went in search of Pimms. The waiter apparently didnt understand what i'd ordered. brilliant. the cakes were all very stodgy and heavy, nothing dainty or fancy. I made my feelings known but nothing was done about it. the wedding party had arrived by then and were having their drinks reception in the middle of all us afternoon tea's. not really what i'd hoped for at nearly £50 a head.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The hotel is architecturally and historically fascinating but the rooms really need to be renovated. There was paint peeling off the windows, all the curtains were stained, the door of the cabinet that housed the minibar came off in my hands and the gas pipe to the artificial log fire was disconnected and hanging loose. I could go on - but the number of lamps not working in our room was matched by those not working in the rest of the property. Those that were working were courtesy of low energy lamps bulbs that didn't fit the housing (those by the lift had burnt the housing). All rather sad.
We ate at the Michelin starred restaurant - where someone has forgotten to tell the chef that "nouvelle cuisine" and miserable portions are no longer in fashion. The "cheesboard" was oustanding in this respect. A small shaving of each cheese (the shavings were so thin that the hard cheese was transparent) were accompanied by half a teaspoon of other stuff (apple compote, bacon pieces, etc). I was convinced I was in a Harry Enfield sketch. Service and cooking excellent, portion sizes laughable.
The breakfast was very good - but in order to make it through to breakfast we had ordered sandwiches from room service.
Such a shame - this place could be truly great, but I'd avoid it for now.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanesfieldHouse, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear John

Thank you for sharing your feedback, I am most disappointed that you did not have the opportunity to share your feedback with our Duty Manager during your stay to highlight the issues you experienced and allow us to rectify them for you. You may not be aware but we are currently undergoing an unobtrusive refurbishment programme of our bedrooms and some public areas to ensure that we maintain the highest of standards moving forward, however we will of course rectify any issues immediately that we are made aware of.

The Adam Simmonds Restaurant has won various awards for its food from the Good Food Guide and Michelin, with this we have constant unannounced visits to monitor our quality to ensure we continue to offer outstanding food, which is why I was most shocked to read you were not impressed by the restaurant. I am truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion , I can assure you that we wish for all our guest to have a memorable time whilst dining with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Matthew Drinkwater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Our stay was a 2 night deal including a spa treatment each, breakfast and part-payment towards dinner in the Orangery one night and the Michelin star restaurant the other night. After agreeing and booking and paying for this deal, they rang back to say that they had made a mistake and they would not able to give us a booking in the Michelin Star restaurant which was very disappointing. We also upgraded to a junior suite, but it was just a larger room, not a suite of any kind. The food in the Orangery was good but the menu was very limited (only 4 choices of entree, main and dessert and no specials). After we left our room for breakfast the first morning, we found that we could not re-enter our room and went down to reception to be told that they thought we were checking out after only one night. We showed them their own check-in documents which showed we were on a 2 night package as well as the key folder which showed a 2 night stay!! As a result of THIS mistake, they had cancelled our dinner booking for the second night which then meant it couldn't be re-booked for the original time meaning we had to wait longer for dinner. The place is a bit tired and there seems to be a big focus on functions - there were 3 weddings in the 2 days we were there - to the detriment of in-house guests. They need to work out if they are a hotel or a function centre! The Spa however was good except that the relaxation rooms after treatments are separate male and female and we were not told this. The (indoor) pool is very large. The grounds are lovely and it is in a lovely setting near the Thames. This place has so much potential to be great but just doesn't get there. Orangery staff were the best for service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luabandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the second time we've stayed. This time was a one-night deal with a Spa treatment. We were lucky to get a complimentary room upgrade too! It included a 3 course meal in the Orangery Restaurant (superb) and Breakfast the next morning. Great hotel in beautiful grounds overlooking the Thames if you're lucky to get the South facing side. Pleasant walks in the grounds and beyond. Peace and quiet, great friendly service. Not the cheapest by any means but value for money? I think so.

Room Tip: Worth asking for views to the south but may be more to pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaughand106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
701 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range: £250 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is located between Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in Buckinghamshire, just 30 minutes away from central London. Surrounded by 65 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland with the River Thames and Chiltern Hills as a backdrop this romantic country house is home to 79 individually and beautifully presented bedrooms and suites, some with traditional luxury and others in a more contemporary style offering extra space over two floors. The Restaurant at Danesfield House is known for using seasonal local produce with menus changing regularly to reflect this and in warmer months The Terrace is ideal for alfresco dining especially enjoying a quintessentially British afternoon tea overlooking the gardens. Spa Illuminata at Danesfield House is an award-winning spa, specialising in overall wellbeing and relaxation. Featuring a 20-metre azure blue swimming pool, eight treatment rooms, studio and fully equipped gym, the spa offers residential experiences, day spa, treatments and health club membership. Visit Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, relax and experience ultimate British hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing