We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not as impressive as it looks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“OK but not as impressive as it looks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Beautiful location, close to Marlow, a lovely little town with an eclectic mix of interesting shops and overlooking the Thames meandering off into the distance. This hotel looks very impressive and has the wow factor. We were having a girly weekend away and were well looked after. Cases taken to our rooms and offered complementary tea or coffee with homemade biscuits on arrival which was lovely. We were given rooms next to each other which was nice. The food in the Orangery was very minimalistic, very pretty to look at but not much to eat. Drinks in the bar were very expensive. The spa messed up my booking and so I never had my nails done but that wasn't a problem. Pool was nice but cold and there was a good selection of complementary magazines to read but not enough loungers round the pool for us to sit together. There was a wedding on when we were there and because of the band and lots of wedding guests about it was quite noisy in the lounge when we would have liked to have sat and nattered in the lovely lounge. Breakfast was OK but I have had much nicer breakfasts in lesser hotels. I don't know why but the high cost of drinks and the food and the whole noise thing really spoiled it for me which was a real shame.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the back of the hotel, the gardens and the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jivebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    305
    198
    99
    56
See reviews for
171
560
26
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you like country house hotels Danesfield should be on your list.
Had a great weekend break. Good choice of relaxed and formal dining. Overall everything in good share, just a bit of touch up to make it perfect.
Tops in value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Chip19521952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

And what a shame they don`t allow children entering the pool. Staff were helpful and the Orangery restaurant food was very good. Maybe they are targeting older couples who want to get away from children, but I think there is always room for "little ones" in a place like this.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LondonMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The impressive edifice, the magnificent gardens with the super view over the Thames and the helpful staff were the first things to promise a great stay, but unfortunately our dark room with tiny windows, the lack of a safe, the provision of a fan on a very warm day because there was no airco, the broken glass strewn on the grass in a number of places in the gardens, the 2012! edition of the Xmas booklet in the room, the failure to turn down the beds and to replace used cups, the inefficient flush in the bathroom, and the lack of an envelope in which one was supposed put the comments form rather detracted from the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acko_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My daughter and I had a two night stay at the beginning of August. Although this hotel caters for large groups the staff give individual service and attention to detail. The setting was awesome, the weather superb and the hotel and staff could not have been more attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for two days/one night and it was not long enough! We arrived for Sunday lunch, which was excellent - good quality, excellent service and fantastic setting. We stayed in a suite, Boseley (room 202) - this is really a large room with a four poster bed and a very spacious bathroom. It was very comfortable, very relaxing and overlooks the gardens and the river. The bed was very comfortable and I slept better than I had done in weeks. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath - lovely! the spa looked wonderful but we did not have time to use it - would definitely do so next time. Instead, we went to Marlowe and Henley, both well worth a visit. Danesfield House is large and has an interesting history. The gardens are beautiful but would benefit from more love and attention at the outer edges. I am surprised there is not a 'Friends of Danesfield House gardens' as this would not allow them to degenerate further and recommend to the management that they set on up asap. All in all a wonderful stay in a lovely old house in a great location.

Room Tip: Check the internet rates before phoning a booking and ask for a room overlooking the river. Suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doormouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have recently stayed here for a business meeting. The evening meal which was served in a private room was nice and the service was very good however I had been given a disabled room, with no view as often happens when a large group stays together. Although this initially did not bother me, when I got up in the morning to have a shower I found there was a dribble of water coming from the shower (and the water that was available was coming out at a 180 degree angle) and it was virtually impossible to wash my hair.it would have been quicker to use the sink if it had been big enough. Next, I tried to dry my hair, however, I had to hunt behind beds and cabinets to plug in the old, sticky hair dryer.
I will unfortunately either avoid staying here again or try to secure a much better room.

Room Tip: Ask if it is a disabled room when you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Property: Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing