We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as ever, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have stayed here many times but wanted to add this review as at a time when they were very busy, christmas parties in full swing and full, the staff were so considerate and helpful, even when they were run of their feet. The hotel looks amazing with very festive decor - and its a delight to stay here. Only one tiny fault - room only had one socket for use....!! but a minor point in what is an amazing stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Battie1

Thank you for taking the time over this festive period to share with the team and other guests your experiences of Danesfield, we are most grateful.
Your comments regarding the power point has been noted and we will re-evaluate our facilities to ensure this is rectified where possible.

On behalf of myself and the whole team we hope you have a Merry Christmas and look forward to seeing you in the New year.

Yours sincerely,

Matthew Drinkwater
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I went with our 2 month old daughter for afternoon tea at this lovely hotel nestled away in the Chiltern Hills with stunning views of the River Thames. We arrived early with our buggy and decided to take a walk around the grounds; immediately a member of staff directed us through the hotel and helped carry the buggy down a few sets of stairs in the garden for us to enjoy our perambulations. When it was time for our tea we were seated in the Orangery; what a beautiful room and with a backdrop of the setting sun, well what an experience! The atmosphere was very relaxed with just the right number of people to create that nice 'conversational buzz' without it being too much. The service was very attentive but not intrusive and they always made sure we were ok with our daughter (showing us the changing facilities etc.). There are a few options to choose from for the afternoon tea but a very generous gift from a family member had given us the Champagne option; we didn't look to see the cost (obviously!) but one seemed to get a lot - we were pretty full! It consisted of champagne, a choice of tea's and to eat, a selection of finger sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and jam and to finish some tasty mini sweet treats. The bread on the sandwiches was very light and tasted incredibly fresh and the fillings were traditional (ie. salmon and cucumber, egg & cress) which is exactly what you want for an afternoon tea. The scones were delicious and it was nice to have a choice of two (one with currants and the other without). The mini sweet treats were delicious: battenburg, a passion fruit brûlée which was sublime, a fruit tart, a cinnamon macaroon and a very luxurious chocolate treat!
We would highly recommend Danesfield House to everyone; we stayed here on our wedding night in one of the Tower Suites and have enjoyed a number of spa days. All have been excellent with the staff always polite and attentive. We love it here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giggle_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Giggle_Moon

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed & complimentary review. We really value your comments.

I am delighted you and your husband enjoyed Afternoon Tea here at Danesfield House Hotel & Spa. I remember your 2 month old daughter and hope this will be the first of many trips to Danesfield!

I will pass on all your comments to the Food & Beverage Team, who will be very pleased indeed!

Kindest Regards

George Holloway
The Orangery Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I just had a wonderful stay last night (8th Dec'13) at this beautiful hotel. The views are stunning! We couldn't have been happier with our room. The atmosphere was very welcoming from the start and all of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed time in the spa (views of a misty countryside were very special at 7.30 this morning) and also a delicious dinner in the restaurant. The whole stay was topped off by a great breakfast brought up to our room - I thoroughly recommend the salmon and scrabbled eggs!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the river cant be beaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Valerie R

Thank you for taking the time to share the experiences of your wonderful stay. Your comments will be seen by all the team here at the hotel and spa, all of whom will be delighted that you stay was as enjoyable as it was. I agree the Salmon and Scrambled eggs are divine, but next time I would recommend you try the Eggs Benedict, they are my personal favourite.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the new year.

Yours sincerely

Matthew Drinkwater
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel in a junior executive suite . On arrival the hotel looks very picturesque . The staff are very welcoming and helpful . Lunch was good but only after waiting for a long while as the order had been lost ! Room 202 was excellent with its hidden room in the wall which leads to the bathroom and wardrobes . Alas the toilet broke and we were moved next door to 201 . This room ,although on first impressions appeared to be bigger ,turned out to be quite a cold room as most of the walls were outside walls on the corner of the hotel . Dinner in the Oak room was excellent and the staff again superb . The spa was quite crowded with no beds available around the pool .The biggest let down was the breakfast on Sunday . The choice of hot buffet food was limited ie one choice of egg and was at best warm . This coupled with a stone cold plate made for a rather cold breakfast !! Unfortunately you cannot beat a cooked breakfast made to order and brought to you on a hot plate ! With a hotel charging the kind of prices they do they ought to really not cut corners and cook breakfast to order . Thus said the hotel itself is very quaint with amazing views from the bedrooms and staff always available and helpful .

Room Tip: Room 202 was good 201 although bigger not so .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review of Danesfield House on Trip Advisor, and for your kind comments regarding our staff. We were so pleased to read that your experience of the Oak Room was a thoroughly enjoyable one.

I am so sorry that there were elements of your stay that were disatisfactory and fell short of your expectations. Breakfast is often the last memory our guests will have of the hotel, and with constructive feedback such as yours we constantly look at ways to improve our offering and ensure that our guests depart feeling completely satisfied. Poached eggs are available on the buffet throughout breakfast, but we do of course offer our guests alternatives from the breakfast menu that are freshly cooked to order from the kitchen. I must apologise if this was not apparent during your stay with us.

Thank you again for reviewing Danesfield House, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time.

Kind regards
Tim Healey
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I booked a suite here for my husbands birthday, we arrived for the most spectactular Champagne High Tea which was served perfectly in The Orangery; we were welcomed to our beautiful room with which we were presented with a cake and signed card from the staff; we enjoyed a wonderful three course meal in the evening, served again in the orangery by well informed and attentive staff; We spent hours with the host on the bar afterwards enjoyjng a range of cocktails and whiskies from another very well trainer bartender; the nights sleep was fantastic in an extremely comfortable bed with an excellent bubble bath in our marble bathroom.
The following morning we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast, with perfectly cooked scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, before embarking on a long walk around the beautiful grounds before booking in for lunch in Adam Simmons restaurant.
I must say the entire experience was absolutely FAULTLESS. My husband and I couldnt stop discussing how wonderful it all was all the way home and are usually very critical as we have very high standards! All I can say is YOU MUST GO HERE. It is worth every hard earned penny and I cant wait to return for another helping!!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MrsMooBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for one night for a friends birthday which was also taking place in the hotel.
Upon arrival the location/grounds are stunning and the hotel has loads of character with some amazing features. However, it needs some serious money spending on the bedrooms which were tired and definitely not worth the money we spent. We paid for a slightly more expensive room but the bathroom had paint peeling off the walls and a cheap looking blind covering an unsightly external window. The temperature in the room was either suffocatingly hot or freezing cold.
Having said that, the shower was hot and powerful and the bed was really comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.
For the price we paid the service left a lot to be desired. Check in was slow. We asked for confirmation of the timing of the party we were attending and the information was vague and incorrect. We then visited the spa, specifically saying to the receptionist that we were going to use the Jacuzzi/sauna. She happily checked us in only for us to find the Jacuzzi was out of order - it would have cost nothing to apologise and warn us of this. Finally at breakfast, we were in a separate room with the rest of the attendees of our function, but the juices/continental breakfast was in a different room. There were several staff waiting on us but none of them welcomed us and explained where the juices etc were. The existing guests ended up telling all the new comers where to find them - just poor service which I don't expect for £200+ per night.
Overall we stayed there as it was the location of our function but I wouldn't chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed account of your recent stay at Danesfield House.

I was disappointed to read that there were some elements of your stay that you found to be unsatisfactory. Our bedrooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme, with the first of a multi-phase project (17 bedrooms) due for completion mid-2014. I have, however, noted your comments and passed them to the relevant departments for action.

At Danesfield, we only employ talented people with a passion for the hospitality industry; our training is thorough and is verified not only by our recent accolades but also by the fantastic comments we receive from our guests. Your constructive feedback on our service, though, is very valuable to us and highlights an area of training that perhaps need to be revisited in our future programmes.

Thank you again for writing your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to Danesfield House in the near future.

Kind regards
Tim Healey
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A very enjoyable afternoon tea served in the Orangery as the sun sets, food and service both outstanding but maybe a little candle on the table would help with the lighting after sunset.
The pastries and the scones were the best we have eaten in a long time. After tea we relaxed in the bar and then admired the stunning lounge with its magnificent Christmas tree-our visit was a gift from a family member last Christmas so this put us in the mood for the coming festivities.
We have previously visited to eat in the Adam Simmonds restaurant which was also wonderful so we very much hope to return. We live locally so have not experienced an overnight stay but maybe one day !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessica-R-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Danesfield House on Trip Advisor, and for your kind comments about our afternoon tea service. Our team were delighted to read them.

I also note that you have eaten in our Adam Simmonds restaurant in the past – Adam has since left Danesfield, but we are delighted to have Head Chef Billy Reid on board for a winter residency in the Oak Room, showcasing local seasonal menus from £29.00 pp for lunch.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Danesfield House in the near future.

Kind regards

Tim Healey
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
722 reviews
3.5 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range: £244 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is located between Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in Buckinghamshire, just 30 minutes away from central London. Surrounded by 65 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland with the River Thames and Chiltern Hills as a backdrop this romantic country house is home to 79 individually and beautifully presented bedrooms and suites, some with traditional luxury and others in a more contemporary style offering extra space over two floors. The Restaurant at Danesfield House is known for using seasonal local produce with menus changing regularly to reflect this and in warmer months The Terrace is ideal for alfresco dining especially enjoying a quintessentially British afternoon tea overlooking the gardens. Spa Illuminata at Danesfield House is an award-winning spa, specialising in overall wellbeing and relaxation. Featuring a 20-metre azure blue swimming pool, eight treatment rooms, studio and fully equipped gym, the spa offers residential experiences, day spa, treatments and health club membership. Visit Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, relax and experience ultimate British hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing