We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet relaxing weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“quiet relaxing weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay.We met members of our family, so it was a wonderful place to walk round the grounds and admire the views. There were plenty of quiet places to sit and chat, including the Orangerie where we had breakfast and our evening meal. The lounge was especially worth a visit with its wood panelling and high ceiling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbhscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear bbhscamp,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.

All the team were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Danesfield House Hotel.

The views are stunning, especially when the sun is shining and the grounds are very popular with all our guests.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed breakfast & dinner in The Orangery, the dinner menu, created by Billy Reid, our Executive Head Chef, is new, so we're very happy to hear positive feedback.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    300
    195
    98
    56
See reviews for
164
550
25
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St priest ligoure
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Luxury hotel with young unexperienced staff.
A fine selection of some of the best Cuban cigars for sale at the bar, but no smoking area, not even a covered part of the terrace.
The breakfast menu suggest a selection of fine French farm cheeses.
No cheeses on the buffet on request "i can get you some brie sir if you wish!
Not very impressive for a hotel of this category and these prices!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Bernard C

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor and sharing your views. Clearly some areas for us to work on, but I was pleased to note that you found our location and sleep quality very good.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Very best wishes


Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay with my husband. Overall we had a lovely time - beautiful building, full of character (and a very interesting history), gorgeous surroundings, lovely spa and attentive, friendly staff. Also gets plus points because my husband "won" the stay at a charity auction event and Danefield House was one of few SLH hotels that honoured the prize for a weekend booking without any fuss - extra brownie points!

We were very lucky with the weather, and had a lovely walk around the hotel grounds Saturday afternoon and a wander along the river in Henley on Sunday morning.

Some fairly minor annoyances (below) although these didn't spoil the overall feeling of coming home very relaxed.

If I'm nit-picking, points to note are:
- Wi-fi is free but you have to go through a rather convoluted process to register, which is just annoying.
- The Oak Room was lovely and we had a fabulous meal although a couple of oddities - particularly an amuse bouche of parsnip soup which was boiling hot and in a full sized tea cup and a pre-dessert of a slice of carrot cake - not sure what the point of that was and rather spoilt the actual dessert because it just filled us up even more. The rest of the meal was very good.
- The Orangery was pleasant - service rather amateurish in that we had to keep asking for the wine to be poured, but then the lovely young girl who took our coffee order asked if we'd like her to check if the fireplace in the grand hall was free for us to sit there - very friendly. Also good food.
- The spa was great and on Sunday afternoon when the weather outside was glorious we had the pool to ourselves - however, when we looked in on Saturday afternoon it was very busy and all beds taken.
- Toiletries weren't replaced overnight - seemed unusual in a hotel of this standard. Also a fruit bowl had a couple of decaying strawberries that weren't removed.

But as I said, these are nit-picking, purely because of the overall cost - but still worth it, and we would go back.

Room Tip: We had a Thames view - definitely worth it. Rooms not big, but have lots of character - traditional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Fordyber

Thank you for your great review of our Hotel and Spa and congratulations on winning such a great prize. I am glad that overall you had a relaxing stay with us and I do hope that following these experiences, this will not be your last visit.

I have noted your finer details that you raised and will discuss these points amongst the management team to review our operating procedures moving forward. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Kind regards

Matthew Drinkwater
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really lovely hotel -full of old world charm and history-views are beautiful over formal gardens and the river.
Lots of nice touches in the room-good toiletries,bathrobe,real milk for hospitality tray ,complimentary waters .
Staff very helpful.Read other reviews about dated decor-maybe a bit-but so nice not to stay in a chain hotel

Room Tip: room 304 overlooks Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Shaz1Uk

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We're thrilled you noticed the little touches, some of which are relatively new. Having Aromatherapy Associates products in the rooms has been very well received!

All the team will be delighted to hear your complimentary remarks, which will be passed on with immediate effect.
We hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have just returned from a short stay at Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, near Marlow, Bucks., and I cannot praise it enough. We don't live far from this hotel and I've been several times over the past 10 years or so both for special occasions and short breaks. The hotel is in such a beautiful position, above the River Thames, and the staff really know how to pamper guests and make them feel special. The food is excellent and the spa is one of the best I have experienced. Some hotels can vary according to management, chefs, etc., but this one has been consistently excellent each time we have visited. I look forward to my next visit and hope it won't be too long.

Room Tip: Every room I have had has been good. This time I was with my daughter and a young family friend, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherokeeGBPKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear CherokeeGBPKM

I want to thank you personally for such a glowing review of Danesfield House, the team work extremely hard to deliver the best they can for all our guests. They will be extremely pleased to hear that we have created such an enthusiast of the hotel in yourselves. I do hope that this means we will see you again very soon at the hotel. Should you return please contact me directly so that I may personally welcome you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Matthew Drinkwater
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Danesfield House Hotel And Spa is a must for those looking to be treated like royalty but at a snip of the cost. Everything from the location, the room, the spa, the views, the gardens, the food and most importantly the attentive staff is worth every penny.

I will start by complimenting the staff. They were friendly, well presented, professional but relaxed, always smiling and really could not have done enough for you. I would like to mention Peter Farrup who is a true Gent. He is a credit to Danesfield and would like to thank him for his help and attentive service.

Despite the recent weather and it being late winter/early spring, the gardens were well presented and maintained. It was lovely to wonder around them after our breakfast taking in some nice views of the surrounding countryside.

The room was clean, well presented and I have never seen such a massive bed. Executive Room upgrade is worth every penny. I slept like a baby!

Now Food is an important part of my life and it has to be said, the catering team at Danesfield know what excellent food is. Dinner in The Orangary was just fantastic. Very well priced for the standard of food and the service was fast, friendly and attentive. It is a must to book in the restaurant as we could not get in on our first night and had a mad rush to find a local place in Marlow to eat.

The Spa is also a great way to unwind, very nice facilities and enjoyed a relaxing time here. Clean and well presented again.

The critcism I have for Danesfield is minimal. I felt the breakfast was very nice, but not big enough, the spa could have had a few extra loungers and that they could have slowed time down so I could have had more time to enjoy the weekend and to take it all in.

This place is a must for any man looking to score major man points with his other half. I know she was impressed as much as I was. Get Booking now!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room. They are so spacious and will make your stay that little more special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Stephen B

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review on Trip, it made us smile! :) We are absolutely thrilled you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us at Danesfield House Hotel & Spa.

Personal mentions we always forward on and Peter Faarup, Guest Relations Manager will be delighted to hear your feedback, as will all the team here.
So pleased to hear you enjoyed The Orangery, Billy Reid, our Executive Head Chef has created a new menu which is proving very popular.

We have taken your minimal criticism on board and will of course address.
We hope to see you again and thank you once again for your comments.

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the valentines weekend for one night. The room was ok, looked nice on the surface however it could do with a bit of an update, ripped curtains, scraggy carpet. The hotel is quite impressive to look at from the outside and within however the whole place could do with a bit of an update as certain areas are looking a little worn. The spa is just ok, stayed at Pennyhill Park and that knocked spots off the Danesfield. Granted the price brackets are slightly different.

The service at dinner was first class from the bar man to the waiters and the food was incredible so that is definitely a big plus. We ate in the Orangery.

One downside was there was no hot water in our room, we put it down to the power cuts due to the weather so can't really blame the hotel for that, it was just lucky that we were close to the spa so we could wander down and have a hot shower there.

Overall it was a nice little break but I think the hotel needs some money throwing at it to bring it back up to 4 star quality.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Simon L
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us over the Valentines weekend and indeed your understanding in regard to the difficulty we had over the weekend in relation to the power situation.
I have to say we were all delighted in respect of your feedback in relation to the cocktail bar and dinner in particular. The team care passionately about delivering great service and it is always nice to be acknowledged in this way.
A number of our bedrooms are currently undergoing refurbishment programme, with the first of a multi-phase project (16 bedrooms) due for completion mid-2014 and together with a rolling programme of works scheduled for this year we will continue to sympathetically update the house
Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Danesfield personally on a future visit.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.8 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Property: Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing