We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
204 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Somewhere there is a very good hotel struggling to get out of Danesfield House but, probably due to lack of investment and lack of training, it is just not managing to show itself.

The hotel looks impressive with really nice gardens but this is just a façade. Built in 1901 but you would imagine it to be much older and whilst the public rooms are clean and quite impressive it starts to go wrong when you look more closely.

The room we had was well overdue a refurbishment. The paint was peeling and stained from water ingress, the curtains dirty and faded and the shower a joke.

The real problem though was in food and beverage and service. At dinner they brought 3 people's dishes and then took 8 minutes to bring the dish for the 4th person. At tea they got the order wrong, at breakfast not enough tables and people queuing and the wrong order 3 times. The food itself was mediocre and the Orangery was cold.

It is a real shame because the hotel has a good position with lovely views over the river and a very good spa. With some better training and a program of refurbishment it could be a really good hotel. As it is, the average rating is on the generous side.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear mbqandco

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and sharing your thoughts following your stay with us and I was of course sorry to read that you found your stay disappointing.

I will be in touch with you directly to learn a little more of the specifics.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    310
    202
    101
    56
See reviews for
178
573
27
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Used to live next door and come twice weekly. Some years later back for a light lunch and we were served a dry bread sandwich with plain crisps and a comical salad. Then a soup which tasted only of vinegar and mushy broccoli on the side, I do not normally make negative comments but this soup was truly disgusting, not just a little off.
Danesfield is a beautiful place but that was such a significant let down what a real shame.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Patrick L

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor, and my apologies that we didn’t meet your expectations. I have tried a couple of times to contact you via trip advisor this week to no avail sadly which is frustrating for us as we are struggling to place when you joined us for lunch.

We welcome all feedback both the good and the not so good, and I would always urge people to let us know so we can rectify something immediately when we can, or as people do on reflection, to drop us a line or give me a call.

I hope we have the opportunity to speak soon and will keep trying to reach you!

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
679 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Have visited this Hotel, Spa & Restaurant so many times over last 20 years for everything from Business to Weddings & Spa Days and have loved and recommended it non-stop until now. The building and surrounding grounds are beautiful, the Spa is nice as are some of the bedrooms. The restaurant was the jewel in the crown but the crown has slipped. Our Christmas lunch there was overcooked, burnt and revolting - two menu wines not available, Hot dessert served cold and Santa forgot our child's present. The shredded partridge cottage pie I last had for lunch was so full of shot despite sifting through carefully, that I cracked a tooth. Other lunch guests throughout restaurant also complained it was not edible yet not one apology - no alternative offered just plates removed. They said shot normal in game birds - yes we all know that for whole/half birds but not in shredded. Indifferent service, slopped drinks - Luke warm coffee hmmmm - not good. Hopefully management will take note and return Danesfield to it's former fabulous status.

Room Tip: River views are super - rear Car Park can be gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear regulartraveller01

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to us in December. Christmas lunch by all accounts went off extremely well however thank you for bringing this to our attention and I will be in touch personally.

Very best wishes,


Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We arrived a few minutes early and were shown straight through to the bright and airy Orangery by very friendly staff for our tea. First job was to choose which tea, from the dozen or so available, we each wanted. The service was quick and efficient. The Danesfield Afternoon Tea consisted of selection of finger sandwiches, selection of scones, strawberry jam, Cornish clotted cream and home made pastries. As a diabetic I was offered sugar free jam, a bowl of fresh strawberries, blueberries and blackcurrants with a panacotta instead of the pastries, all of which were very tasty. My daughter was asked about any dietary requirements when booking but the menu also had details of diabetic and gluten free options. Altogether a very enjoyable time was had by all....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear smdear

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Danesfield House Afternoon Tea. We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your afternoon with us.

Afternoon Tea is always very popular here and it's so lovely to hear you had a thoroughly wonderful afternoon and that we catered to all your dietary requirements. This will be passed on to the Food & Beverage Team.

Please come and see us again soon and thank you once again for your review.

Kindest Regards

Georgia Lacey
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Second stay at this hotel, was invited back for free night due to poor stay on first stay.
Hotel and staff very nice also good food with great choice but the Spa is not good at all, on first visit booked 90min aromatherapy massage only to have an unqualified therapist so when we were invited back was promised a really good AROMATHERAPY massage. Again was given a masseur that wasn't trained for that treatment. Very poor and unprofessional .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Caroline M

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on trip advisor, and also for your lovely letter received this morning complimenting all of the other elements of your stay. Unfortunately due to illness we were unable to fulfil your aromatherapy treatment, so my apologies that this unforeseen circumstance impacted on an otherwise excellent stay. I know our spa director has been in touch also to offer her apologies once again and I look forward to welcoming you back Danesfield soon.

Very best wishes,

Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My best mate and I were long overdue a trip away and found this on secret escapes. The room was clean and had everything we needed, fresh milk for drinks a bonus. Bathroom well equipped with lovely smelliest. All staff very friendly and pleasant, our bags were taken to the room while we lunched in Marlow. Dinner was lovely in the Orangery and service was efficient if a little quick. Breakfast had lots of choices and it was nice to sit overlooking the beautiful gardens down to the river at the same time.
The spa was okay, facilities in changing rooms fine but poolside a bit underwhelming and sauna etc quite small. That said my rose facial was amazing and Martha was very pleasant.
All in all a great stay, couple of minor things would have made it a 5 - bedside tables very sharp on corners and we had to move them away from the bed after my friend caught her arm, shower head very low (am 6ft and a bit so had to duck!) and the plug was nowhere near the kettle or to reach a hair dryer in order to see the mirror. Minor things and certainly did not stop us leaving relaxed and happy.
I would go again but only if there was another good deal as we saved over £250

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank abbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear abbiew,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your treatment with Martha. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Liz Wilson
Spa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great potential, some staff were brilliant some not! Waiting staff were very efficient but one in particular was so efficient he seemed to forget to be friendly.
Food was excellent.

Room was tired, bathroom dated and damp, shower dodgy!

Spa treatments were nice, very pleasant therapist and overall she did a great job, but felt she was slightly under trained.

But the biggest problem was at checkout, the receptionist was very nice but overall the experience very disorganised there was some discrepancies with bill which were delt with but service charges put on bill which if not questioned would have been paid without noticing. If I want to leave a tip I want to be the one to decide, thankyou.

Generally we enjoyed our stay, but right from the booking date there were issues, including being phoned and emailed from both spa and hotel reception about treatments etc including a call to check if one of us had cancelled a treatment, which was absolutely not the case, so haven't got a clue what that was all about.

Think perhaps the hotel and spa are a bit detached from one another. Also there was nowhere to sit around the pool not enough beds by far.

At this time if we book another spa break it probably wouldn't be at Dansfield.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmarchspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear bmarchspa

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor and my sincere apologies that your stay was not as organized as it should have been. In terms of poolside we do try to maximize all available space for loungers, and in the warmer months we do have more lounger space on the south facing terrace.

Taking all of your points on board I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and I will be in touch.

Very best wishes,


Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Property: Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing