We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm And Outstanding Cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old World Charm And Outstanding Cuisine”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Room 100 in the Tower was charming and large. While slightly out dated in renovations my opinion is the charm supersedes.

We had restaurant dinner and needed to bring the chef out to clarify creative vegan, but it was outstanding. My pre selected vegan dinner was outstanding. And the lunch was top notch all around.

Watch for photos and when you come here enjoy the grounds , the friendly staff and the charm only found in the UK.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PHKOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    335
    210
    110
    56
See reviews for
197
606
31
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Received an offer to attend Danesfield House for the day, with massage and cream teas included. I went with my other half. We arrived by car and the grounds, building and surrounding area are stunning. We headed immediately to the spa and got changed. The dressing gown provided for the males was very small, and quite worn and tatty (but clean). We then both received a back massage which we both found extremely relaxing. The spa staff were very friendly and approachable. We were given use of the spa facilities but chose to head out to the restaurant for cream teas. The sandwiches and teas were of a good quality and then we hit our problem. As I was about to bite into a pastry something caught my eye and I looked down to find a beetle moving around inside! It had been face down on the plate since it had been served to us so there was no way it could have crawled in during the meal and can only have got in there prior to it being served to us. I am not one for causing a scene, but needed to alert the staff so that they could check the remaining pastries for other customers before they were served in case they also had insects in them. I called over a waitress, who took one look and screamed (not very discreet) and then headed off to find a supervisor, taking the plate with her (I did not think to take a photograph in time). I saw the waitress speak to her supervisor who then continued to go about his normal business for well over 5 minutes before eventually coming over to speak to us. He explained that he had been informed that we had encountered a problem with our food. I briefly explained but was interrupted by him, saying that the food is stored in sealed boxes and the insect must have flown in whilst the food was sat outside in front of us. I tried to explain that it was impossible to have happened as the pastry was upside down and had been all of the time. This staff member then interrupted me again and said it must have flown in and that this is a danger you face if you choose to sit outside! Clearly this chap hadn't excelled in customer service class and within a few minutes all of the relaxation from the massage had been undone and I was frustrated at his lack of ability to hold an adult conversation or even apologise on behalf of the company. I did not want anything for free and did not ask for it, I just wanted him to check the remaining pastries to be served to others for any insects that may have lost their way. He repeatedly said "Do you want anything? to which I did not, but eventually agreed for both of us to accept a glass of champagne 'on the house'. He could not have rushed the champagne out to us any quicker and when he placed it down he asked if "everything is okay?". When I replied "yes" it was as if the weight of the entire world had just been lifted from his shoulders and I had signed a waiver not to take legal action against Danesfield House. He replied quick as a flash "Good so everything's sorted then there's no more problems" and turned on his heels. Not wanting to completely undo the good work of the rest of the staff at Danesfield House, we voted with our feet, and made a hasty retreat. I'm very disappointed as we had a fantastic day, but unfortunately this was ruined by a minor incident dealt with wholly inappropriately by an unsympathetic, ignorant and rude member of staff. I personally would not return here again, but provided you have have no dealings with the ignoramus himself, you should have a great time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ollie J

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was of course sorry to learn of the incident on the terrace.
All of our afternoon scones and cakes are made “in house” daily and so as my colleague’s reaction demonstrated we were as shocked as you were with what you found, but remain confident that the “offender” appeared whilst you were on the terrace.
My apologies that this incident marred an otherwise “Fantastic Day” and I hope would hope you would give us another opportunity following this one off occurrence.

Very best wishes

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My daughter had her large wedding reception here and many guests stayed overnight. The staff were wonderful and the food we couldn't fault. Nothing too much trouble and everything we had asked for was provided. We were blessed with a glorious day, so sipping champagne and looking directing down over the Thames was amazing. Guests were fortunate in that they could enjoy walking around the grounds the following morning after breakfast and visiting the Spa.The rooms were very comfortable we had the superior ones with terraces. The décor is traditional country house, so could be described by some a needing updating, but for us it was all perfectly acceptable.

I have returned on a few occasions for afternoon tea in the glass terrace which is devine, with everything replenished as and when required, and also for dinner.

This is a great place to hold a wedding or reception. Apparently there is a ghost who roams the gardens, but she was elsewhere when we were there!

Room Tip: One with a terrace overlooking the gardens and Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Janet B

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I have shared them with the staff who are always appreciative of praise. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us together and hope to have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes
Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having stayed here many times before I really feel let down by service we have received
Staff wonder around with no interest in giving the customer a pleasant experience .
The rooms are now very tired and in need of an urgent revamp for the quality of this hotel
Our room has the river view which is beautiful but there is no mirror or plugs
To dry you hair ?.
Breakfast is most disappointing with the quality of the ingredients very poor,I am afraid to say
I will not be staying again due to my experience ,the whole team needs training to give the customer a pleasant stay that matches the location and quality of the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Chris M

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following you recent stay with us. I will be in touch directly to learn a little more about your experience, that is far from the norm here at Danesfield, particularly in respect to your comments about the team.

Once again my apologies on this occasion we failed to reach your expectations and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and restore your faith in us.

Very best wishes,


Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Came her with my husband for a big party. Our room was amazing and we had an amazing balcony and even better view! Slept like a log, very comfortable bed. Great big rooms with some great features and also amazing scenery around the hotel.
Breakfast yummy. Staff attentive and room service was quick.
Want a couple getaway, this is a good place to come

Room Tip: Book early if you are going in a big group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneillbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear oneillbex

Thank you for taking the time to review Danesfield House on Trip Advisor. Such lovely feedback is always good to hear and we really appreciate it. I will pass on to all the team at Danesfield House, who will be delighted to hear your comments.

Hope you visit again soon.
Best Wishes

Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had the opportunity to stay three days in this extremely well located hotel, 45 minutes away from London and next to the river Thames. It was almost a very pleasant experience. Danesfield should make the much needed investments to make this resort top notch. Rooms and bathrooms need an urgent uplift. I was given an excellent room (207), but when I tried to reach the balcony, the door handle came out. It took me ten minutes to get the right temperature for the water in the shower. Having said that, food was first rate, wine outstanding, service a delight. But unless the required uplift is not undertaken, I doubt Danesfield will survive in this highly competitive business.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden and river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Cocolo47

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on trip advisor and whilst I was delighted to read the superlatives about the food wine and most of all service, I was sorry to learn of the difficulties in regards to water temperature. The door handle coming away from the door when accessing the balcony, that sadly we can’t legislate for, is perhaps one of those idiosyncrasies of an older building.

I am pleased to report that we are making progress with the full refurbishment of 16 rooms and suites and once completed we will embark upon further selected upgrades. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back personally on a future visit, and would ask you to contact me directly so I may look after all of the arrangements personally.

Thanks once again for letting us know your thoughts.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a wedding anniversary meal and stay overnight. We had stayed there briefly following our wedding a few years before and had had a good stay that time. On this occasion, we were pleased to be offered a free 'upgrade' to the Tower Suite. This was very disappointing - the room was on three levels, sitting area, bathroom area and bedroom. The bathroom was like something out of the 1980's and I suspect hadn't been upraded since then - right down to the worn formica worktop with cheap inset basin and taps. Lounge and bedroom were traditionally furnished but again could benefit from refurbishment. Having said that, the restaurant was very good indeed with restaurant staff were helpful and attentive. However, in the lounge, service was patchy - we never did get the cream tea we so wanted!

Room Tip: Check whether the room has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelicopterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear HelicopterMike

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us and I am sorry the Tower Suite was not to your liking, It is indeed traditionally furnished in keeping with the rest of the house, but we find many guests love the additional space it provides and the view of the estate with its double aspect.

I was pleased to read your thoughts on dinner, but clearly we missed the mark in the lounge for which I apologise and will raise with the team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Danesfield on another occasion, we have a couple of bedrooms at Danesfield designed by Philippe Starck, that are more contemporary that may be more to your liking, and please contact me directly so I may make any arrangements for you personally.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
770 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Property: Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing