We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in some lovely rooms overlooking the Thames. Perhaps in need of a revamp now. The shower leaked all over the floor due to a poorly placed and cheap shower curtain.
These were our only gripes though. We had a marvellous dinner in The Orangery. The service was friendly and helpful at all times. They do a fantastic breakfast.
The grounds are lovely to walk around and the spa is superb..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear MarkM,

We are delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Orangery which have been passed on to the staff who very much appreciate them.
Thank you for all your feedback, which we value and I can ensure that the appropriate corrective action will be taken.

Kindest Regards

Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    303
    197
    99
    56
See reviews for
169
558
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Danesfield House and Spa for one night, before heading to the Hand and Flowers for food.

From the spectular setting, the magnificent grounds, the great room to the great staff, almost everything was perfect.

The room we stayed in had a beautiful view over the grounds, a wonderfully large, comfy bed and a great bathroom. Despite being an old building, the normal creaks and groans that can keep one awake were mercifully absent.

The only two downsides were the shower temperature (describing it as lukewarm would be be too kind) and the buffet breakfast, which, again, was lukewarm at best, with very little choice of items.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Matt K,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff here at Danesfield which I have passed on and were gratefully received.

I was extremely pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and have noted your feedback regarding the water temperature & breakfast, which we take very seriously.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards

Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic hotel with amazing views over the river Thames. The SPA facilities are great. It has a big size swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. I enjoyed my massage. Staff were friendly, if a bit overworked and slow.

On the downside, we were put in a room with a view of the back of the hotel bar and next to an extractor fan which droned on through the night. In fairness, this was recognised at check out. The room therefore to avoid is Room 224 or any room at that side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 224 because of extractor fan noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatNiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear TatNiall

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us and I was delighted to read you had a fantastic time with our Spa and views a highlight.
My apologies for the disturbance caused by the extract fan, due to a faulty timer that we have now rectified and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please do contact me directly should this be the case so I may make any arrangements personally.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a weekend for a family wedding. The hotel and grounds are fabulous, and the staff were brilliant all round. I agree with previous comments about bar prices, they were very expensive, but the service was excellent.
It was very warm during our stay, but even with two fans, our room was really hot, affecting sleep quality. I would have expected air-conditioning as standard in a prestigious establishment like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilchillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear stilchillin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Danesfield House Hotel & Spa. Your comments have been passed on to the staff that looked after you and they are delighted with your feedback.

With regards to air-conditioning, Danesfield House is a Grade 2 listed building and we are sometimes faced with these challenges. However, our refurbishment project is due for completion in September and all 16 rooms will be fully air-conditioned.

We do hope to see you again, please let me know when you next visit and I would be more than happy to look after you.

Kindest Regards

Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came here for afternoon tea yesterday. We were greeted warmly and taken to our table which was in the oak room, a beautiful room. The waiters were extremely polite and friendly, we were made to feel very welcome. We ordered the danesfield afternoon tea. Sandwiches were delicious, lovely soft bread with a variety of fillings. The scones were light , served with clotted cream and jam. There was also a slate with a selection of 5 different small cakes, one of each type for each person, very generous. These were absolutely divine!
We finished our experience with a walk in the stunning grounds. The whole afternoon was perfect, I felt completely looked after and "away from it all"

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reality123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reality123
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor following your visit to Danesfield for Afternoon Tea and a walk in our grounds.
I was delighted to read the team looked after you completely and you felt “away from it all” and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Danesfield soon for another leisurely afternoon.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went there for tea. As I do not eat ham and I dislike eggs I asked for a cheese SANDWHICH. I know I should have given them 'notice' but the young waiter looked as if he never heard of such thing. At my third request the manageress came asking me what I wanted. I repeated the request I had made to the young lad. She "apologised" and said there had been a misunderstanding. It was anyway too late as I was eating cakes. The young waiter's understanding of English was minimal and his skills were not up to the standard of that establishment. The previous week I was with friends at Cliveden. (See My review) Danesfield in no way compare with Cliveden.

Room Tip: Did not stay and after tea experience would not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margherita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear margherita p

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with trip advisor following your groups afternoon tea with us in the Henley Room last week. I would like to apologise once again for the confusion, with one of the sandwiches as part of the tea was cream cheese, so clearly a misunderstanding on our part.

Despite this I understand the group had a wonderful afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the tour of the house by Peter, our guest relations manager and resident historian!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

A very special lunch to celebrate our daughter's eighteenth birthday. And she was expecting a great things, as you drive up to the house through the lovely gardens Danesfield House is very impressive. We had booked a table for lunch in the Orangery and, as it was a beautiful day we were offered a table on the terrace which would be laid for us. The table was dirty and needed a clean but this never happened, we asked for some water as we were thirsty and the water arrived but no glasses to drink from and I had to ask for them twice. The starters were good and as to the main course my husband's steak was over cooked, my crab linguine was very average and when we asked where the crab was from our waitress took rather along time to say she didn't know, though she did return with a rather poor answer that they were from Cornwall! We had ordered a second round of drinks by this time again we where kept waiting and I had to ask again for the drinks.
My daughter ordered a pudding which arrived her favorite Creme Brulle, which is how she rates all restaurants, unfortunately there was no cutlery to eat it with. When the cutlery was brought it was served from a dirty tray.
It was time to leave and the bill arrived which was wrong an extra glass of wine had been added and the bottle of water that we had to wait ages for had been left off, the bill was returned to us but it was still incorrect as they had charged us for a different wine.
These issues were raised with a supervisor and got the usual platitudes that it was unacceptable and wouldn't happen again.
It's not the our first visit to Danesfield but it could be our last.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Property: Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is an award-winning, luxury 4-star country house hotel located between the fashionable boutique shopping towns of Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in beautiful, rural Buckinghamshire. Privately owned, we represent a quintessentially British establishment overlooking acres of manicured gardens and the River Thames. Located near the M25, M4 and M40 motorways, just 45 minutes from the centre of London and 35 minutes from fashionable West London we are the ultimate Buckinghamshire Hotel to escape to. Each of the 86 rooms offers unique charm and character with the most enchanting traditional British interiors exquisitely combined with classical design. Our awards include: One Michelin Star awarded in Michelin Guide Great Britain and Ireland 2011AA, 4 Red Rosettes for Culinary Excellence, 12th Top UK Restaurant 2012 awarded by Good Food Guide 2012, Most Relaxing Spa UK 2011 awarded by Natural Health Magazine Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing