We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Went for an afternoon tea with some friends for a catchup. The house and gardens are amazing, so when being seated for tea I was in absolute heaven. The staff members who served us were very good and one waitress was extremely welcoming and helpful throughout. The tea, cakes and everything was wonderful and thoroughly enjoyed the occassion. If I were to be picky then I would say a smile from some staff would not go a miss, an offer to poor the tea for us and an offer for a top up would have also been nice, little touches I believe which would make the service even better. Overall it was a wonderful occasion and would definitely return and hope to stay for a night next time to.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear James D

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit for a “heavenly” afternoon tea. The team will be delighted to read your comments, both the superlatives and the areas where we can focus on even more.
Noting your desire to stay a little longer next time, when you have some dates in mind please contact me directly so I may make the arrangements for you personally.
Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
There are newer reviews for Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked a table for lunch Saturday 5th july for 6--- the food was very good as was the service.
The 3 course set menu was top class and those who chose the a la carte were not disappointed.
We ate in the orangerie and although there was a wedding in the hotel the service and enjoyment of the very fine location was not diminished. On the drive home we thought that if the hotel would have been within a 30 minute drive we would have been a regular visitor as it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankHarris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear FrankHarris13

Thank you very much for posting a review following your “Top Class” lunch with us last weekend.
The team will be thrilled to read your comments, and whilst we are a little way up the road from you I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Danesfield House is the most fabulous building with some great furniture, lovely helpful staff, in gorgeous grounds set in a beautiful and peaceful location with a good new spa. So why only three stars?

This is our third stay in this hotel and our second stay in this particular room possibly three years apart and I am convinced they haven't done any housekeeping since!
Our room which was nice, was extremely tired and needed a good clean, we had a canopied bed with headboard - the canopy was full of cobwebs and the corduroy headboard quite badly marked from usage, the mattress was long overdue for replacement. The beautiful windows which we were lucky enough to be able to have open, were covered in cobwebs too. The lovely thick old curtains needed a good vacuum as every time you pulled them clouds of dust filled the room. The sofa was in dire need of more filling, and across the whole of the hotel there were things that could have been cleaned, or paint that could have been touched up, and as a result the whole thing looked very sad indeed. The last time we stayed there I wrote a letter to the general manager complaining about the standard of the housekeeping and had rather hoped it would be better this time.
My second grievance was with regard to the Michelin star that they advertise as having - one of the main reasons for returning to Danesfield House was because despite it's tiredness, it had the most amazing restaurant, but apparently the chef left eighteen months ago taking his star with him. We were extremely disappointed with the food for dinner, it was a good menu, our fish not cooked too well and some poor quality meats, six of us ate at the restaurant for three different nights and not one of us thought we had had a good meal, although we did like 'bits' of it. Each Night they ran out of our choices of Champagne and wine.

We did eat in the bar for one evening and the food was great there!

Having said all of that, the waiters were extremely attentive and lovely, looking after us very well and going the extra mile for us. They were a good team but they needed better management, one young man in particular was great. Breakfast was good, but in the daylight you could see how badly the Orangery needed cleaning (look behind the waiter's buffet by the doors that lead to the terrace, everyone who walks in and out of that door will see how bad the cleaning is)!

When we came to settle our considerable account, we found that 'they' had added our guests' already paid wine and Spa bills, and even with the production of receipts that were all packed away, there wasn't any humility for the attempt to overcharge by quite a lot, and one of our guests was acutely embarrassed because she thought the receptionist still didn't believe she had paid! Not good Danesfield!

One of the doormen was an absolute treasure and the other was very rude and surly towards us and others. We will need to be convinced of some changes before we ever stay there again, how sad because it could be so good. You can't blame the cleaners as people need to be taught how to clean, and how to see dirt and dust, I suspect it is a change of management that is needed.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any newly renovated rooms...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear AEW22
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, and I will be in touch personally.
I was, however, disappointed to read your comments in respect of housekeeping. The new team have worked very hard over the past six months, and ironically the headboard and canopy had been scheduled to be replaced this week.
Due to the scheduling of some guides, and despite advising them ahead of Adams departure last year after almost seven years, there will inherently be some cross over in “collateral” that is beyond our control, until the next round of publication.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights around the Henley Regatta. 1st night had nice meal until we asked to sit outside for desert, waiter said no problem, great...then they simply forgot about us, we had to ask to order, ask for drinks, chase and generally remind them we were here! Then one of the worst nights sleep due to a broken bed. Manager in charge next morning resolved with an upgrade to a suite, which was great service, they moved us and made it easy, which was appreciated. Upgraded room was great and bed comfy which was much welcomed after such a terrible nights sleep. However the place is let down by some team that are simply not well trained enough for the standard of service you are paying for. They talk loudly about other guests, and generally gripe about things in an inappropriate way. I also wonder if they are on commission for drinks....first night, bottle of wine, poured by team gone in 4 huge glasses, then in the final hour while waiting for a taxi, we were "up sold" when we asked for a double gin and tonic, it cost a staggering £30 for one drink, which we didn't know until the bill came, for me, this is not on...food, generally average. Eggs on first morning were terrible, next morning great, so no consistency. Steaks not cooked as ordered etc...

Room Tip: As for a decent view, first room overlooked the extension they are building with noise at 6:55 am!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jennie J
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us over the Regatta, and my sincere apologies that we didn’t quite hit the mark in some aspects of your stay, that we will revisit as a team. I will be in touch personally to learn a little more.
Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in some lovely rooms overlooking the Thames. Perhaps in need of a revamp now. The shower leaked all over the floor due to a poorly placed and cheap shower curtain.
These were our only gripes though. We had a marvellous dinner in The Orangery. The service was friendly and helpful at all times. They do a fantastic breakfast.
The grounds are lovely to walk around and the spa is superb..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear MarkM,

We are delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Orangery which have been passed on to the staff who very much appreciate them.
Thank you for all your feedback, which we value and I can ensure that the appropriate corrective action will be taken.

Kindest Regards

Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Danesfield House and Spa for one night, before heading to the Hand and Flowers for food.

From the spectular setting, the magnificent grounds, the great room to the great staff, almost everything was perfect.

The room we stayed in had a beautiful view over the grounds, a wonderfully large, comfy bed and a great bathroom. Despite being an old building, the normal creaks and groans that can keep one awake were mercifully absent.

The only two downsides were the shower temperature (describing it as lukewarm would be be too kind) and the buffet breakfast, which, again, was lukewarm at best, with very little choice of items.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danesfield Hous... a, Guest Relations Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Matt K,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff here at Danesfield which I have passed on and were gratefully received.

I was extremely pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and have noted your feedback regarding the water temperature & breakfast, which we take very seriously.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards

Peter Faarup
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic hotel with amazing views over the river Thames. The SPA facilities are great. It has a big size swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. I enjoyed my massage. Staff were friendly, if a bit overworked and slow.

On the downside, we were put in a room with a view of the back of the hotel bar and next to an extractor fan which droned on through the night. In fairness, this was recognised at check out. The room therefore to avoid is Room 224 or any room at that side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 224 because of extractor fan noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatNiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C, General Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear TatNiall

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us and I was delighted to read you had a fantastic time with our Spa and views a highlight.
My apologies for the disturbance caused by the extract fan, due to a faulty timer that we have now rectified and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please do contact me directly should this be the case so I may make any arrangements personally.

Very best wishes,

Anthony
Anthony Cox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
5.9 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
792 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range: £236 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is located between Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in Buckinghamshire, just 30 minutes away from central London. Surrounded by 65 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland with the River Thames and Chiltern Hills as a backdrop this romantic country house is home to 79 individually and beautifully presented bedrooms and suites, some with traditional luxury and others in a more contemporary style offering extra space over two floors. The Restaurant at Danesfield House is known for using seasonal local produce with menus changing regularly to reflect this and in warmer months The Terrace is ideal for alfresco dining especially enjoying a quintessentially British afternoon tea overlooking the gardens. Spa Illuminata at Danesfield House is an award-winning spa, specialising in overall wellbeing and relaxation. Featuring a 20-metre azure blue swimming pool, eight treatment rooms, studio and fully equipped gym, the spa offers residential experiences, day spa, treatments and health club membership. Visit Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, relax and experience ultimate British hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing