We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dymond Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dymond Lake Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in the lodge for the Great Ice Bear Adventure in November 2013 and had a wonderful time. The lodge has good facilities, the food is amazing. The guides (and guards) did a great job walking with us through the snow and ice-covered tundra spotting bears and other arctic wildlife. They also shared stories and pictures in the evenings. Everyone was friendly, helpful and made us feel at home in a very exotic location.
The trip included dog sledging (which was nice, but was only a 15 min ride), and a buggy tour (which was great, but the wildlife spotting at the lodge was more successfull and exciting).

You will have to spend a bit of money, you will be cold at times, your eyes will hurt from staring at bears in the arctic wind and you will be tired from staying up for northern lights - but for us it was worth it all. We were very sorry to leave and can truely recommend this holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meister F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had booked the Oct 26 - Nov 1, 2012 tour. The Great Ice Bear Adventure combines 4 days at the Dymond Lake lodge with a day out on the Tundra Buggies. We were the first group to stay in the new building right by the frozen lake. Another new item was the fence around the camp which gives visitors more freedom to walk around in the compound. The hikes were awesome, there was a new piece of truly amazing arctic wonderland every day and the cloudless blue sky was a bonus. At the lodge we only saw one bear, but he was with us for the whole time of the stay. The guides took good care of us out "in the field" when the bear sometimes got almost too close. It was a really breathtaking experience to step off the small aircraft in one moment and to be about 10 meters away from a big polar bear in the next. The team at the lodge was superb and the food was lovely. The Tundra Buggy Tour completed our stay. We saw a lot of bears on that day. The Great Ice Bear Adventure is a fairly expensive tour, but every moment of it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Werner010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were on the "Great ice bear tour" from 7-13 Nov 2011, accommodated in "Dymond Lake Lodge". It was an absolutely awesome experience. We chose this tour operator because we liked the hiking aspect of the trip. The trip includes 1 tundra buggy day where you do see a lot of polar bears from the vehicle. But "walking with polar bears" brings your "arctic safari" adventure to a whole new level.
Before going on this trip I thought it would be really difficult to see polar bears and if one would be spotted it would run away immediately. But it seems polar bears are not afraid of people and are very curious. We had polar bears posing for us in all kinds of situations. We brought a big lens but the bears were so close we could easily have taken many pictures with our mobile phone and they still would have been awesome. The big advantage of the lodge is that the polar bears (and many other animals) come really close and even if you are not very much into hiking you can still see them right from the comfort of the lodge.
The guides were very social and funny and at the same time excellent, professional trackers who managed to find us a polar bear on almost all our hikes. I always felt very safe having them around.
The staff in general is very warm, caring and friendly and they all go the extra mile for you.
One night they woke us up because the aurora borealis was showing. It was in the middle of the night and all of us would have slept right through it if one of the staff wouldn't have been "on guard". That was really the "cherry on the pie". Even though it was the middle of the night and the guides have probably seen the aurora borealis a million times they accompanied us, gave explanation and helped us take pictures of this magnificent display.
The lodge itself is basic, warm and clean. Everyone has its own bathroom. It is quite a luxury for being so far out in the wild. The location is excellent. The food is very nice, expecially the home-made pies were mouth-watering.
Also the administrative staff in charge of answering our 200000 questions before the trip was awesome. She was extremely helpful and her replies came almost immediately. We never had to wait very long.
Transport to and from the lodge is with a small airplane and really is an adventure on its own. Beautiful scenery!
If you like the arctic and have some money saved to do "the trip of your life" this is the one trip you should do. It is expensive but definetely worth every euro/dollar.

Room Tip: Dymond lake exists of 2 lodges right next to each other. Ask for the one with the viewing tower &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RENARDANTWERP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaelle-Odile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dymond Lake Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dymond Lake Ecolodge

Address: Dymond Lake, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Dymond Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dymond Lake
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing