We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COST!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COST!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I made the terrible Mistake of taking two of my Baseball teams to this hotel. We were promised a rate that the owner/manager/desk clerk (all the same person) later never stood by charging team members anywhere from $5-$30 over the promised discounted group rate. The 1st level rooms were disgusting with paint peeling off, mold growing, Black Muddy water frequently came out of the shower faucet, mildewy smell could not be overcome with sprays, dampness never went away, sheets were dirty when guests checked in, breakfast materials were not iced. We spent over $2000 here and the owner/manager/desk clerk told us "He knows how the market works in this area and he doesn't have to worry about the agreements he made verbaly....do you have it in writing"" Completely dishonest business owner and a building that should be shutdown. the only clean rooms are on top level.

Room Tip: Buy a tent and camp in this area versus staying at a hotel like Americas Best Value? Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    5
    11
    40
See reviews for
47
12
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

OMG. This place is a dump. Bring your own sheets, towels, window screen, tissues, toilet paper, and cleaning supplies. Room stank, didn't clean between nights stayed, not even fresh towels. So gross. The mildew smell in the bathroom was so offensive and then I saw it. Yuck! Carpets are grimy and disgusting. Broken door hook and dresser drawer. Right next to a big landfill. Another guest had an overflowing toilet and manager would not refund for him. Awful. Better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We took a family road trip covering over 3500 mails in the summer of 2013, staying at dozens of hotels in the price range of $100-150. This hotel was by far the very worst hotel of the hotels were we stayed. It might be the worst hotel in which we have ever stayed.

We booked the hotel for five nights. After the first night, we canceled the rest of the reservation and changed hotels. If we had not arrived tired and late, I probably would have not stayed that first night either. Even though the hotel changed me a additional night’s stay for canceling, the hotel was so terrible that we felt it worth it to forfeit over $100 to move out early.

We booked the hotel for 3 persons, but the bathroom had only two towels. The towels felt thin and cheap. The AC was not on when we got to the room and the bed linens felt damp from the humidity. The AC was noisy.

The room was very small. The bathroom was tiny. The room was not clean; my wife sprayed the bathroom down with disinfectant spray before we used it. There were cobwebs in the corners of the room. The shower barely dribbled out a stream of water.

The hotel lobby seemed dirty and dingy. The carpets in the lobby and hallways were disgustingly dirty. The trash can in the front of the hotel was overflowing with trash.

I don’t often write reviews for hotels stay, but felt this hotel was so awful that others should be warned. I can’t see how anyone would enjoy staying here.

I will never again stay at an America’s Best Value Inn. We felt there was absolutely no value here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
921 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I need to visit this area again but this hotel is so bad I plan to stay 20+ miles away on my next visit. I rented two rooms for two nights. In both rooms we had to fix the showers (bath tub to shower water diverter fell out in one room and had to be screwed back in, and the drain was stuck in the other room and required a lot of force to open). The hairdryer in one of the rooms did not blow air but instead blew sparks. The clock radio in one room on the bedstand did not have a long enough cord to reach an outlet so it was unplugged. One room had only a single dim light bulb (the other room had three lights). Bath towels were small and scratchy and there were not enough for all guests (we had to wait for later in the morning to get a third towel for the third person on one of the rooms as they did not have any clean towels left to give out when we checked in). The carpet was not clean. There were no tea bags at breakfast, just coffee (although the coffee was OK). There was a common tub of cream cheese for bagels and cream cheese in the morning. The pillows were hard thick pillows leading to poor sleep. My money spent did not meet my quality expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were having a hard time getting a hotel due to it being a busy weekend in Ludington. So we ended up having to stay here. I don't get offended easily and I was amazed to be offended from the first step inside the hotel. The man behind the counter we overheard being very rude to someone on the phone. When he turned his attention to us he took it to a whole new low. My son is in a wheelchair. He rudely asked if we had requested a first floor room. We asked about if the hotel had an elevator and he told us Most Hotels Don't. You should always ask. Then he told it was our fault and we should make sure we request first floor. Now quick input here we travel a lot. We've only had one other hell hole oops I mean hotel have this problem before. Plus we were hurrying to find a hotel for the night. After a few more rude comments we just gave up and headed to our room.

When we entered the hotel room we were shocked by how tight the room was. We could barely fit between the wall and the bed. The carpets were in horrible condition. Then to top it all off we found several STACKS of bugs. One stack was under the desk and one large cricket was in the corner of the room. We quickly left the room. I was very offended by how my family was treated and very upset with the room condition. I agree with the other person who did a previous review. We asked for the gentleman's name behind the counter for when we file our complaint and he refused to tell us his name and then ended with Good luck with filing the complaint it's a family owned hotel. Do not stay here!! This place should not even be open!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestVaueInn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Katie G,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. I am very sorry you were displeased with your recent stay at our hotel. We value each guests feedback and greatly appreciate your time to do so. The front desk staff is a very important part of the hotel. I am very sorry that one of our front desk staff was not friendly and helpful as others. We have taken the appropriate measures to ensure that our guests receive exceptional quality service and rooms. We are in the midst of major renovations at the hotel and hope you will give us another chance when you're back in town. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful, clean room and warm and friendly staff. The bed was very comfortable which added to a great nights sleep. The breakfast selection in the morning with the daily USA today newspaper was great! They had the Belgian waffle maker which we loved using! We will be returning to this hotel on our next trip to Whitehall!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend while in town for a wrestling tournament. The rooms were very nice and clean for the price. You can see the hotel is working hard with the renovations. The young man working at the desk was very accommodating with our requests. I will definitely come back and stay here on my next trip to Whitehall!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Familyguy531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestVaueInn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Familyguy531, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We hold high standards for our hotel in regards to cleanliness and updating our hotel on a regular basis. We have completed many of our renovations and would love to have you come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
352 reviews
15.6 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
290 reviews
12.2 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3080 Colby Rd, Whitehall, MI 49461-9216 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Whitehall)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include coffeemaker, hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, table with chairs and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel is 100 percent smoke free. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located off US-31 BUS on E. Colby Road, and are near attractions such as Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Michigan's Adventure Theme Park and Duck Lake State Park. Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall is your best choice within the the mouth of the White River on Lake Michigan. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, vacation, sightseeing, music or food festivals, or simply passing through on your way to Grand Rapids or Lansing. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Whitehall, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Whitehall
Super Eight Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing