We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocoa Cottage” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cocoa Cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The food was delicious and the hospitality was wonderful! We felt very at home and very relaxed there. I was slightly disappointed in how much chocolate we received. I would have appreciated a bit more chocolate scattered throughout (although there were chocolate bowls around and you had chocolate at each meal). But it would have been nice to have hot chocolate at night if wanted upstairs in the sleeping area, things like that. But, a wonderful stay none the less!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Larry and Lisa truly know how to pamper their patrons body, mind and taste buds. Valentine Weekends in Michigan are chilly, but in their abode "toasty and comfortable" rules from relaxing by the fireside to making sure our needs (and many 'wants') are met. Larry's delectables should be on everyone's need to do list. Lisa wants you to enjoy to the fullest.
You will want to stay much longer than planned.
This is a must stop when traveling to this beautiful area with quaint shops and beautiful lakes.

Room Tip: The Hershey room is masculine with it's snowshoes, antique snow skis, fishing pole, log furnitur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outaboutandgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were welcomed with a decadent chocolate delight, and a very warm welome by Larry. The "Hershey Room" was adorable, and the art deco theme of the home was a visual delight. Lisa is an overall "gem," offering directions to local sights, and recomending the "perfect" dinner establishment. We sincerely felt like visiting family, and invite you to enjoy the amazing cuisine that Larry prepares. Wow!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a great weekend getaway at the Cocoa Cottage. The food was delicious, the conversation with Lisa and Larry, as well as the other guests, was pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. We can't wait for another opportunity to leave our little one with Grandma and Grandpa and visit the CC again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Larry and Lisa provide a top of the line and somewhat unique experience. cheese, chocolate, outstanding breakfast, comfortable accomodations. highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Cocoa Cottage has a "chocolate" theme, but it's not all about the chocolate. Innkeepers Lisa and Larry are welcoming, cordial, helpful and accommodating. On the day of check-in, we enjoyed hors d'oeuvres and visited. Breakfast, of course, was a delight on both mornings we stayed. Not being a "morning person", I don't usually gush over breakfast, but I loved Larry's french toast. And the shirred eggs the next morning were delicately herbed with a hint of cheese. Of course, no meal is complete at the Cocoa Cottage without chocolate. The homemade chocolate fudge is a perfect match for the fresh strawberries and chocolate zucchini bread. REAL Hot chocolate is available (try it half and half with coffee!)
Whitehall is a small town that connects with Lake Michigan through White Lake. It is a good walking area, the small downtown area has several shops, Nearby Montague - just across a bridge - offers more. There is a nature trail through wetlands. It is near several golf courses (Old Channel Trail is our favorite), in season, the Michigan Adventure park, and, about 15 minutes, Muskegon, canoe liveries etc.

Room Tip: We have almost always stayed in the Godiva room. The Ghirardelli room is also excellent, larger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

This was our sixth anniversary stay at the Cocoa Cottage and we can honestly say the food, accomodations and hospitality just keep getting better. Larry and Lisa do everything possible to anticipate any needs and the breakfasts are incredible. They put their guests first and are a wealth of information about the area restaurants and entertainment. We tried a couple of new restaurants such as the Brown Bear Bar and Grille which offers a 1# burger ( I chose the Wimpy burger and had my hands full of sloppy goodness). It was a fun dive. Another good eat was the Harborview Restaurant was also a good choice for good food in a down to earth setting. Try the Cocoa Cottage and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We have tried all the rooms and the Godiva was ou.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knfmker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#3 of 5 in Whitehall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Swan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 223 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1042
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best Breakfasts & Best Innkeeper, the historically restored Cocoa Cottage B&B, featuring CHOCOLATE! is a beacon for those looking for simplicity in a setting of natural beauty. Escape to the heart of peaceful W. MI and expect a warm welcome. Our focus is simple: Be passionate about what we do & do it well! Minutes to Lake Michigan’s white sand beaches, Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Hart-Montague bike trail, shopping, golf, Howmet Playhouse, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing