We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tradition continues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The tradition continues”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was our 6th annual weekend getaway at Cocoa Cottage. We have found a gem in west michigan. Lisa and Larry are not only the nicest inn keepers, but our friends away from home! We have already made our reservations for next year. Lisa and Larry, we love coming up in June for our anniversary weekend, and look forward to many more, Tom and Cherie.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our second stay here was just as great as our first 2 years ago. The house is immaculate with incredible attention to detail and service. The Godiva room is a nice size with a very comfortable queen bed and the added bonus of a balcony with two chairs. The common areas are beautifully decorated with arts & crafts furnishings and fixtures. Breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed the port and chocolates in our room in the evening. Chocolate is abundant with bowls of treats throughout the house, in your room on arrival, on your pillow each night and at breakfast in the form of a rich fudge spread to accompany fresh strawberries, chocolate zucchini bread and lemon ricotta bread. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

What a great place! What great people! Lisa and Larry truly know how to make you feel special, especially at breakfast time, where their food is phenomenal. I broke my 6-month bacon-fast here and it was really worth it. And that's not even mentioning the chocolate and strawberries. The cottage itself is impeccable, and the furniture and attention-to-detail only serve to make it a more luxurious experience. We shall return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrowbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Do you like chocolate? That's just an added bonus to the hospitality that Larry & Lisa will show you when you stay here. It's a beautifully restored cottage that's close to Lake Michigan in the sleepy little town of Whitehall. It's our 2nd visit and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The food was delicious and the hospitality was wonderful! We felt very at home and very relaxed there. I was slightly disappointed in how much chocolate we received. I would have appreciated a bit more chocolate scattered throughout (although there were chocolate bowls around and you had chocolate at each meal). But it would have been nice to have hot chocolate at night if wanted upstairs in the sleeping area, things like that. But, a wonderful stay none the less!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Larry and Lisa truly know how to pamper their patrons body, mind and taste buds. Valentine Weekends in Michigan are chilly, but in their abode "toasty and comfortable" rules from relaxing by the fireside to making sure our needs (and many 'wants') are met. Larry's delectables should be on everyone's need to do list. Lisa wants you to enjoy to the fullest.
You will want to stay much longer than planned.
This is a must stop when traveling to this beautiful area with quaint shops and beautiful lakes.

Room Tip: The Hershey room is masculine with it's snowshoes, antique snow skis, fishing pole, log furnitur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outaboutandgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were welcomed with a decadent chocolate delight, and a very warm welome by Larry. The "Hershey Room" was adorable, and the art deco theme of the home was a visual delight. Lisa is an overall "gem," offering directions to local sights, and recomending the "perfect" dinner establishment. We sincerely felt like visiting family, and invite you to enjoy the amazing cuisine that Larry prepares. Wow!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
242 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
341 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
46 reviews
4.5 mi away
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Whitehall
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 223 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1042
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best Breakfasts & Best Innkeeper, the historically restored Cocoa Cottage B&B, featuring CHOCOLATE! is a beacon for those looking for simplicity in a setting of natural beauty. Escape to the heart of peaceful W. MI and expect a warm welcome. Our focus is simple: Be passionate about what we do & do it well! Minutes to Lake Michigan’s white sand beaches, Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Hart-Montague bike trail, shopping, golf, Howmet Playhouse, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing