We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Larry & Lisa are fantastic hosts… They are very welcoming and accommodating and they have some great recommendations on what to see and do in the area
 
Breakfast:  AMAZING. Larry is a breakfast ninja and you can tell he takes great pride in the food that he prepares...  the first night we arrived he was making homemade lemon bread and the entire house smelled sweet. I couldn’t wait for breakfast! We ate breakfast three mornings and my favorite thing was everything… the food will not disappoint.
 
The Inn: Very clean and relaxing… though we actually didn’t spend much time at all at the inn except for our breakfast every morning on the patio and our wine and chocolate arrival the first night.
 
The town: Whitehall itself doesn’t have too much going on however, you are in a very central location which is a good jumping off point for day trips. We brought our bikes for the trail nearby but we never actually used them. We visited Silver Lake and tried SUP for the first time… we liked stand up paddle-boarding so much that we went again the next day. On your way to Silver Lake make sure to check out Fox Barn Winery and try some asparagus wine (yep, you read that correctly). Also, check out Cherry Point Farm Market… I fell in love with this market for the amazing baked goods AND a lavender labyrinth!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle19828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed a couple nights in the Cadbury room. The weather was not extremely hot, but Larry said there was central air. Everything was very clean and you could tell there was a lot of time picking quality items throughout the house. I really loved the choice of books in the loft on the floor with the bedrooms. Food was excellent. Larry is the cook and he is great - sometimes I felt bad leaving things on the plate and wondered if we could have had a little more choice about what was served since we were the only ones there the two nights we stayed. We had forgotten our beach chairs and were provided with them by Larry which made a day at the beach much more enjoyable. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Cadbury is the smallest room with sloping ceilings, but the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0riandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our experience with the Cocoa Cottage was an exceptional experience. The home has been beautifully restored and the hospitality of Larry and Lisa was wonderful. Larry is a fabulous cook with attention to detail in the quality of the food to the presentation of the breakfast. We loved meeting in the private gardens for either wine or breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia and Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Larry and Lisa's home warm and attentive hospitality is so appreciated and breakfasts are delicious! The weather was not too hot - otherwise the upstairs bedroom where we stayed may have been uncomfortable as there is only one large ceiling fan. I would still prefer to stay here rather than an air-conditioned hotel anytime! We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjkSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids Mi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautifully restored Arts & Crafts cottage with cozy sitting areas, patios & gardens, welcoming reception and delicious breakfast. Larry & Lisa keep the house and gardens clean & fresh (so many B&B's slide into shabby) and we always look forward to returning. After our first visit we gave gift cards for the Cocoa Cottage to our children - they all enjoyed their visits just as much as we did. A short walk from interesting shops in Whitehall and across the bridge to Montague & a nostalgic drug store/dinner/soda fountain run by the daughter of the original owner. Cocoa Cottage is a great place to stay before &/or after riding the paved 22-mile Hart-Montague bike trail.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This year was our 7th consecutive year staying at the Cocoa Cottage for an anniversary get-away. Each year has been wonderful. We are treated so well by Lisa and Larry, the accomodations and food are first class as well as the laughter and sharing that takes place at reception time, breakfast time, and just plain talking time! We consider them as so much more than inn keepers, they are friends that are a joy to be around. Reservations are already made for next year, and that will continue as long as they are there. We love you both.
Tom and Cherie

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichiganUSA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

The Cocoa Cottage B and B is a great place to rest and relax. There are books about chocolate throughout the house for guests to read, a lovely sunny porch and outdoor patio, as well as a common area with comfortable chairs. The chocolate theme is carried throughout the house with chocolate memorabilia and delicious chocolate treats. The evening reception and breakfast both include wonderful, gourmet food, and include chocolate, of course! Larry and Lisa are welcoming and friendly hosts and make guests feel like friends. We stayed in the ghiradelli room, which features an enormous bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower. Chocolates on the pillow at night and complimentary port before bed. The bed was wonderfully comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymoonerAug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
243 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
47 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
344 reviews
18.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 223 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1042
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best Breakfasts & Best Innkeeper, the historically restored Cocoa Cottage B&B, featuring CHOCOLATE! is a beacon for those looking for simplicity in a setting of natural beauty. Escape to the heart of peaceful W. MI and expect a warm welcome. Our focus is simple: Be passionate about what we do & do it well! Minutes to Lake Michigan’s white sand beaches, Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Hart-Montague bike trail, shopping, golf, Howmet Playhouse, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing