We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whole Package!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Whitehall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I have never had a more enjoyable B&B experience! Lisa and Larry have found their calling. Their beautifully restored home is the perfect setting for a relaxing weekend & they make you feel like family during your stay.

We went up to Whitehall without having done much research on the area. It turned out to be a delightful town - not too touristy, but plenty of things to do. The first day we went down to Muskegon to tour the navy ships and the lumber baron's homes - both were well worth it. The second day we kayaked on the White River with the Happy Mohawk outfitter - it was awesome! Larry & Lisa recomended several restaurants to us during our stay - all were fantastic & two were within a few blocks of the B&B. I also recomend evening walks on the beach to see the amazing sunsets. There is an amazing local potter (Terrestrial Formings, I think) with very unique work - we came back with a huge box of presents for our family. And breakfast! Did I mention Larry's breakfasts? Unbelievably good!

With two small children, we don't get away very often, so if you're reading this, THANK YOU for the perfectly rejuvenating weekend! We will be back soon and we hope to bring our kids up when you expand & open suites in the farmhouse nextdoor!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktbug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 106 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2008

Wow! A chocolate themed house! There was chocolate everywhere, by the door, in the room, snacks, breakfast, too--even the rooms are named after chocolates! The home-made snacks were outstanding and who would have thought chocolate for breakfast would be good?--the chocolate zucchini bread was out of this world! The room was fine, but the hospitality and the food were spectacular. You never forget your best breakfast ever--mine was at the Cocoa Cottage!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MiMisterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Larry, the Inn Keeper, was very personable, and went the extra mile to make us feel at ease and at home, and made sure we had everything that we needed. The house and our room was beautiful, comforting and a wonderful oasis to relax in.
Lisa is an amazing artist. You see her talents throughout the house and Larry is an Awsome Cook! Best breakfast that I've ever had. And the chocolate desert was to die for.
Would highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank DesignerCheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Larry's cooking is top notch. Very good ingredients prepared in an imaginative way. We had the scotch eggs for breakfast, but, true to their name, chocolate was an important part of the meal.

The property is one of the most authentic arts and crafts style cottage, beautifully restored and true to itself in every detail.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank castlecycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

What a wonderful weekend!! Very quiet and restful, close to excellent restaurants and two lakes (one of them Lk. Michigan). The host and hostess very friendly and accomodating. Breakfasts were excellent. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank RaceHorseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2005

The Cocoa Cottage is the best Bed and Breakfast I’ve been to! Two long time friends and I decided to go there on a Saturday night to celebrate all our 60th birthdays….It was the perfect place to pamper ourselves. We arrived late afternoon to the guest's reception:..wine, cheese and flourless chocolate tarts! The host had pre-booked our dinner reservations at a near-by nice restaurant. After dinner we relaxed in the living room and had hand and foot massages given by a local masseuse (a suggestion by our hostess when I first called to reserve the room.) We found chocolates on our pillows before turning in. The next morning the breakfast was VERY yummy…with shirred eggs in crepe cups, baked bacon rolls, chocolate zucchini bread, and strawberries with chocolate dip.
The Cocoa Cottage is a lovingly restored Arts and Crafts bungalow…the owners show wonderful attention to detail and are truly helpful and warm. I highly recommend this place…you will love it!

4  Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
0.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
446 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
18.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amanda's Bequest - A Heritage Immersion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 223 S Mears Ave, Whitehall, MI 49461-1042
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehall
Price Range: £103 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocoa Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Best Breakfasts & Best Innkeeper, the historically restored Cocoa Cottage B&B, featuring CHOCOLATE! is a beacon for those looking for simplicity in a setting of natural beauty. Escape to the heart of peaceful W. MI and expect a warm welcome. Our focus is simple: Be passionate about what we do & do it well! Minutes to Lake Michigan’s white sand beaches, Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp, Hart-Montague bike trail, shopping, golf, Howmet Playhouse, restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing