We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty spot, but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty spot, but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Overpriced, tired, old. No place to set anything in bathroom, sheets wouldn't stay in mattress. Nice breakfast, staff, and view. Would not stay here again considering the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brglvsbstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesideinnresort, Owner at Buzz'sLakeside Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for your review of Lakeside Inn Resort this past summer. It is helpful to us to receive feedback on where we have strengths and where we can improve.

Our establishment is over 120 years old, which is what offers the unique atmosphere that many of our guests seek. We do not strive to be a lavish hotel, but do strive to provide amazing customer service, beautiful grounds, and clean rooms.

My apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

All the best to you~

Sincerely,
Todd and Jodi Groessl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The resort is located on beautiful White Lake and very close to beaches on Lake Michigan.
The resort is clean and wsell maintianed with caring staff. They offer a free breakfast.
The restaurant has excellent food and lake perch for evening meals.
My wife and I plan to return in two weeks for a family reunion. We highlty recommend
Lakeside Inn for a summer vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soberman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We love Lakeside Inn! We have been comIng here for 15 years! We request the rooms that join so our families & kids can all be together!
Todd is more than accommodating, he specifically makes sure we have what we need. Jodi his wife, is more than gracious they both treat you like family! The rooms are clean & roomy! A little sofa to relax on & table & chairs to share a snack etc!
The biggest bonus for parents & kids a built in lovely pool & 8 mi bike ride to grand Lake Michigan!
There's a restaurant too with a Great wine list! Keep up the great work - as we continue to make memorable family vacations here!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I have stayed at Lakeside many times. It takes me to another world. We held our family reunion there and had a great time. We had lots of side trips planned but couldn't bring ourselves to leave the front lawn of Lakeside and talking about old times. This was a perfect place for us. Staff is wonderful. We found our accomodations comfortable. Not the Hilton but that wasn't what we were looking for. We will surely be back to this charming place.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IKESTER8114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We just ate dinner there and the food was really good. I wasn't happy with the cesear salad with the dinner. It was extremely small, had no flavor and the croutons were hard to eat. They were really chewy. I know you don't need a huge salad before dinner, but this was ridiculously small. Maybe a handful of salad thrown on the plate. If the lettuce doesn't cover the bottom of the plate, that's pretty bad. And 3 of us ordered prime rib, which was delish, one of them was more than twice as thick as the other two. You should have all the same size at one table or some people will feel like they got ripped off. The perch is very good also. The service was extremely slow. So don't go there if you are in a hurry. My husband ended up not getting a beer he had ordered. We will go back for sure, but not if we are in a hurry or thirsty!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dawn0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, IN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed with my two sisters for a long weekend. Rooms were spacious and clean. There's plenty to do at the resort - swimming, basketball, shuffleboard, fishing.
Continental breakfast is included and is adequate: cold cereal, yogurt, pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. We ate dinner at the restaurant our last night there and the food was absolutely delicious!! The server took very good care of us throughout the meal.
Everyone at Lakeside was friendly and responded to all our questions quickly. I would recommend the resort to anyone who wants to get away from it all to a secluded spot on the lake. There were lots of folks at the resort who had been coming back for many years, actions which speak much louder than any words.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murnkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I spent many summer vacation here as a child. I have wonderful memories of this place. I wanted to go back some 30 yr later and take a trip down memory lane. I brought a friend with me. Raved about this place all the way there. I suggested she bring her kids back too.

Upon arrival, I found a very welcoming staff. The grounds were still beautiful. The restaurant still delicious!!! The rooms.......terrible. The room was very dated! I am all about the quaintness of this place but for $200/night, I want cleanliness. The airconditioner leaked so the carpeting was soaked and it smelled terrible in our room. We had to wear our shoes in the room because the carpet was squishy. There were extension cords hanging from the TV. We also found some green "stuff" on the drain of the tub. I believe you get what you pay for, so for 200 bucks I had alot more expectations.

I was actually in awe that the owners would even rent this out. They should shut it down and do some much needed renovations.

I will say when I left the staff were very kind and apologetic and compensated me well. They knew and felt bad. The only way I would go back is if they made some changes to make it clean. Please, do some work to this place, so I can come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chi_Town_ER_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesideinnresort, Owner at Buzz'sLakeside Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
My regrets for not responding to your comments sooner.

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at Lakeside Inn Resort this past summer (2011).
I am sure it was even more disappointing when you had such fond memories of your time spent at Lakeside as a child. We cherish that we have been a part of many guests' childhood memories and work hard to preserve the uniqueness our family owned resort has to offer.

I remember the issue you refer to distinctly. It was an unfortunate problem with the air conditioner, which my husband and I both immediately responded to in an attempt to solve the problem. We also made a point not to charge you anything for your stay at Lakeside, showing that it was important that you received good customer service.

Hope you will give us another try again in the future.

Best Regards~
Todd and Jodi Groessl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
4.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
23.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzz'sLakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Property: Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Address: 5700 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9645 (Formerly Lakeside Inn Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Buzz'sLakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open under new ownership with many new amenities including a 22 seat bar, patio, and updated docks for guests. Serving lunch and dinner 7 day a week thru October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buzz'sLakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing