We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”
Review of Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have stayed here many times. it is a family owned resort on whitelake very close to lake michigan. Im sure we will stay again. if you do go stay on the second floor,,we stayed in hotel room 22 very large. Great for kids nice pool great place to stay 15 mins from Mi Adventure..after many years they closed the very fine resturant they had there..I guess they just couldnt make a profit to bad food was great..they do have a ice continentel breakfast though.. I have listed places to eat near by below.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michigan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Lakeside Inn is a historic Inn on Whitehall Lake. It has a kind of old fashioned feel. Knotty pine paneling is nice, but the carpet is awful and should be replaced with hardwood or at least Pergo flooring. The staff is very nice and accomodating. This is a very family friendly place! Breakfast is sufficient, but on the busy weekends when something ran out, it was not replenished.

Room Tip: There's no swimming on Whitehall Lake. The pool is nice and you can drive to Lake Michigan not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2like2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

IF - you want to travel back in time to a place where you can drift in old world luxury, sleep deeply in AC rooms with the window cracked to hear the water, and not lock your doors. Play lawn games with your family on long grassy lakefronts, fish, sail, read under 100 yr old willows, then this is your place. If you want to play on real shuffle board courts, tennis courts, walk up the road to get an ice cream like they did 50 yrs ago, golf across the street, take the family to the piers or even the Dunes. This place is it. I come back year after year, to a non manufactured, real, cottage home. No fake old wood, flowers, hotel hallways, or $8 hr staff who couldnt care less about your day. How bout near butler service, fountains, real meaningful nastalgia ? How bout sneaking off and finding a path that led us to Lake Michigan right at sunset, and noone was around ? How bout NOT using your Hilton card and go back to an owner operated Inn that delivers top quality food, service and most of all ----- relaxing laid back environment. ok so Michigan Adventures is 10 min away. Kids love the water park and rides. We ended our trip at the Pier, I fished and caught a 5 lb small mouth bass, while my teen boy and his friend met kids and dove 10 feet into lake Michigan, while my daughter and wife found shells on the beach. 5 min from the hotel. Best trip .... since our last stay. How bout you try it cause I really recommend this hidden diamond on White Lake.

Room Tip: The Ranch Houses are bigger, and have AC, secluded, and worth the extra money. We brought our boat a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSchoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Lakeside Inn Resort is a family owned local business that is charming and home grown - NOT part of a commercialized chain. The staff are welcoming, the setting is beautiful and peaceful, and the Lodge is full of White Lake and Lakeside history. I have never had anything but perfect sleep and have left rested and re-energized. In short, I find it to be perfection. That said, it is an older building that is not in perfect shape - but that is part of its charm. If you love out of the way places that are unique, warm and full of history - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more modern, ask for upper motel. For the more traditional and 'old school'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Overpriced, tired, old. No place to set anything in bathroom, sheets wouldn't stay in mattress. Nice breakfast, staff, and view. Would not stay here again considering the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brglvsbstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesideinnresort, Owner at Buzz'sLakeside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you for your review of Lakeside Inn Resort this past summer. It is helpful to us to receive feedback on where we have strengths and where we can improve.

Our establishment is over 120 years old, which is what offers the unique atmosphere that many of our guests seek. We do not strive to be a lavish hotel, but do strive to provide amazing customer service, beautiful grounds, and clean rooms.

My apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

All the best to you~

Sincerely,
Todd and Jodi Groessl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The resort is located on beautiful White Lake and very close to beaches on Lake Michigan.
The resort is clean and wsell maintianed with caring staff. They offer a free breakfast.
The restaurant has excellent food and lake perch for evening meals.
My wife and I plan to return in two weeks for a family reunion. We highlty recommend
Lakeside Inn for a summer vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soberman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We love Lakeside Inn! We have been comIng here for 15 years! We request the rooms that join so our families & kids can all be together!
Todd is more than accommodating, he specifically makes sure we have what we need. Jodi his wife, is more than gracious they both treat you like family! The rooms are clean & roomy! A little sofa to relax on & table & chairs to share a snack etc!
The biggest bonus for parents & kids a built in lovely pool & 8 mi bike ride to grand Lake Michigan!
There's a restaurant too with a Great wine list! Keep up the great work - as we continue to make memorable family vacations here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
4.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
256 reviews
6 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
22.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Michillinda Lodge
Michillinda Lodge
#2 of 2 in Whitehall
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzz'sLakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Address: 5700 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9645 (Formerly Lakeside Inn Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range: £111 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Buzz'sLakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open under new ownership with many new amenities including a 22 seat bar, patio, and updated docks for guests. Serving lunch and dinner 7 day a week thru October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Buzz'sLakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing