We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Pros: Grounds are nice, staff is very courteous and helpful. Secluded location (if thats what youre after). Free Wifi.

Cons: Tiny rooms, with doubles instead of queens. No coffee pot, no iron, no hair dryer in room. Tiny shower in a tiny bathroom. Everything needs a makeover from the old worn carpet to the cracked tiles and rusty pipes on the toilet. the faucets were missing labels and the water came out in a weird spray into the slow runningdrain. Not to mention the 19" tube tv with wires hanging down which was operated by a remote I had to hold up and point at an angle. Dismal selection of channels. Everything felt cheap including the cheap sticky chairs in the dining area. The cereal was soggy and the danish was tiny. No bananas. As you can tell there are too many "no's".

Bottom Line is we expected more. The pretty grounds and location were not enough to make up for the condition of the place. It just needs major renovation. Its really more of a motel in a nice location than a resort.

The staff was very pleasant and our stay wasnt terrible but I think my critique is fair and honest. At almost $200 a night one could do better.

Helpful?
3 Thank telemanstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Channahon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Lakeside Inn Resort is like the quaint old resort featured in the movie Dirty Dancing (but smaller). There are no phones or WI-FI in the rooms. There is a basketball court, shuffle board, tennis court, and heated pool right outside the rooms. I was a little worried about our motel room not having A/C, but the nights were cool so it wasn't a problem. It's old school motel. Don't expect granite countertops, top-of-the-line bathrooms, or too many other luxuries. I've stayed in plenty of hotels in my life, and the best time I've ever had was at the Lakeside Inn Resort. Unplug your family and spend time at a family-owned place that is not a cookie cutter chain. My 11-year-old and 8-year-old LOVED this place. We spent our time participating in family activities when we weren't at Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp for Suzuki Family Camp. The young man at the front desk was awesome! Very helpful and nice. We will return again next year for sure!

Room Tip: We like the motel rooms because they have a front and back door and open up right onto the lake on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine4448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have stayed here many times. it is a family owned resort on whitelake very close to lake michigan. Im sure we will stay again. if you do go stay on the second floor,,we stayed in hotel room 22 very large. Great for kids nice pool great place to stay 15 mins from Mi Adventure..after many years they closed the very fine resturant they had there..I guess they just couldnt make a profit to bad food was great..they do have a ice continentel breakfast though.. I have listed places to eat near by below.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michigan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Lakeside Inn is a historic Inn on Whitehall Lake. It has a kind of old fashioned feel. Knotty pine paneling is nice, but the carpet is awful and should be replaced with hardwood or at least Pergo flooring. The staff is very nice and accomodating. This is a very family friendly place! Breakfast is sufficient, but on the busy weekends when something ran out, it was not replenished.

Room Tip: There's no swimming on Whitehall Lake. The pool is nice and you can drive to Lake Michigan not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2like2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

IF - you want to travel back in time to a place where you can drift in old world luxury, sleep deeply in AC rooms with the window cracked to hear the water, and not lock your doors. Play lawn games with your family on long grassy lakefronts, fish, sail, read under 100 yr old willows, then this is your place. If you want to play on real shuffle board courts, tennis courts, walk up the road to get an ice cream like they did 50 yrs ago, golf across the street, take the family to the piers or even the Dunes. This place is it. I come back year after year, to a non manufactured, real, cottage home. No fake old wood, flowers, hotel hallways, or $8 hr staff who couldnt care less about your day. How bout near butler service, fountains, real meaningful nastalgia ? How bout sneaking off and finding a path that led us to Lake Michigan right at sunset, and noone was around ? How bout NOT using your Hilton card and go back to an owner operated Inn that delivers top quality food, service and most of all ----- relaxing laid back environment. ok so Michigan Adventures is 10 min away. Kids love the water park and rides. We ended our trip at the Pier, I fished and caught a 5 lb small mouth bass, while my teen boy and his friend met kids and dove 10 feet into lake Michigan, while my daughter and wife found shells on the beach. 5 min from the hotel. Best trip .... since our last stay. How bout you try it cause I really recommend this hidden diamond on White Lake.

Room Tip: The Ranch Houses are bigger, and have AC, secluded, and worth the extra money. We brought our boat a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSchoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Lakeside Inn Resort is a family owned local business that is charming and home grown - NOT part of a commercialized chain. The staff are welcoming, the setting is beautiful and peaceful, and the Lodge is full of White Lake and Lakeside history. I have never had anything but perfect sleep and have left rested and re-energized. In short, I find it to be perfection. That said, it is an older building that is not in perfect shape - but that is part of its charm. If you love out of the way places that are unique, warm and full of history - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more modern, ask for upper motel. For the more traditional and 'old school'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Overpriced, tired, old. No place to set anything in bathroom, sheets wouldn't stay in mattress. Nice breakfast, staff, and view. Would not stay here again considering the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brglvsbstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesideinnresort, Owner at Buzz'sLakeside Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for your review of Lakeside Inn Resort this past summer. It is helpful to us to receive feedback on where we have strengths and where we can improve.

Our establishment is over 120 years old, which is what offers the unique atmosphere that many of our guests seek. We do not strive to be a lavish hotel, but do strive to provide amazing customer service, beautiful grounds, and clean rooms.

My apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

All the best to you~

Sincerely,
Todd and Jodi Groessl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
4.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzz'sLakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Property: Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Address: 5700 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9645 (Formerly Lakeside Inn Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Buzz'sLakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open under new ownership with many new amenities including a 22 seat bar, patio, and updated docks for guests. Serving lunch and dinner 7 day a week thru October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Buzz'sLakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing