We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under New Ownership Changes are Coming”
Review of Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Under New Ownership Changes are Coming”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

When we stayed all of the changes were still not complete at the inn but I took the time to ask the staff and they expected them to be completed in a few weeks. I was impressed with what had been done from the new carpet, painting, new furniture and fabulous beds in the motel units. The food was also fantastic. It was a little weird not having a phone in the room but with cell phones we really didn't need one. I also love the fact the new owners left the wood paneling so you still feel like you are up north on vacation. I can't wait to go back. Even my kids ages 10 and 15 loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jaymesmommy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
38
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We ate at the new restaurant in the Lakeside Inn on a Saturday night. The hosts greeted us and explained that they just got a lot of other customers so they could seat us right away, but they wanted us to know that the service might be slow. We sat in the garden room which was delightful and quieter than the main dining room. Our service was excellent--very attentive and not at all slow. We enjoyed the offerings suggested by the staff--fried asparagus, raspberry mousse, and the salmon (which has a delicious lemon relish on it). We highly recommend this restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank leeharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Due to the recent change in ownership, everything is highly unorganized. The staff needs more training and strong leadership. The facilities have seen better days. The rooms we rented were not as the website states. The rooms were moldy and stuffy with broken showers, toilets, and sinks (and no cable). The complimentary breakfast was very poor quality and consisted of breads/starches only. Our rooms had several things stolen and rummaged through. Buzz was made aware of this and nothing was done. Buzz was hard to deal with and very grumpy. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzz k, General Manager at Buzz'sLakeside Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Robin-

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience during your visit. You are correct that as a new owner the operations can be unorganized at times and staff needs more training and direction. We are leaning every day and striving to improve.

We are doing everything we can to update the rooms and I am sorry you felt the room was musty and did not meet your expectations. I have spoken with housekeeping to make sure we address this. Cable is still out thanks to Charter Communication and it is out of my control to fix it. As for items stolen and rummaged through I am confused. I was told that both the watch and lottery ticket were found by yourselves in the rooms you thought they were take from. I was told someone came to the desk to tell the staff all was well.

As per my being grumpy and hard to deal with - I am sorry. I don't recall any direct discussion on any of the above issues, but I apologize if I did not meet your needs. Usually only my children call me grumpy. Some of your group has already expressed interest in booking for next summer. If you accompany them I hope you will take the time to visit with me and share your opinions on how we can better serve our guests.

Sorry for the lengthy reply but I wanted to make sure I addressed all of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been staying at an Inn nearby for 24 years and when it burned down last year we had to look for a new place. Well we found a delightful place and enjoyed our stay at the Lakeside Inn. Our room was spacious and had a great view of Whitehall Lake. We did miss hearing the waves from Lake Michigan, but got a lot of water time for our kayaks. Several friends from our previous lodge are also staying at Lakeside so it feels like HOME! We have made our reservations for next summer. They also have a great pool and the grounds are well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Pros: Grounds are nice, staff is very courteous and helpful. Secluded location (if thats what youre after). Free Wifi.

Cons: Tiny rooms, with doubles instead of queens. No coffee pot, no iron, no hair dryer in room. Tiny shower in a tiny bathroom. Everything needs a makeover from the old worn carpet to the cracked tiles and rusty pipes on the toilet. the faucets were missing labels and the water came out in a weird spray into the slow runningdrain. Not to mention the 19" tube tv with wires hanging down which was operated by a remote I had to hold up and point at an angle. Dismal selection of channels. Everything felt cheap including the cheap sticky chairs in the dining area. The cereal was soggy and the danish was tiny. No bananas. As you can tell there are too many "no's".

Bottom Line is we expected more. The pretty grounds and location were not enough to make up for the condition of the place. It just needs major renovation. Its really more of a motel in a nice location than a resort.

The staff was very pleasant and our stay wasnt terrible but I think my critique is fair and honest. At almost $200 a night one could do better.

Helpful?
3 Thank telemanstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Channahon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Lakeside Inn Resort is like the quaint old resort featured in the movie Dirty Dancing (but smaller). There are no phones or WI-FI in the rooms. There is a basketball court, shuffle board, tennis court, and heated pool right outside the rooms. I was a little worried about our motel room not having A/C, but the nights were cool so it wasn't a problem. It's old school motel. Don't expect granite countertops, top-of-the-line bathrooms, or too many other luxuries. I've stayed in plenty of hotels in my life, and the best time I've ever had was at the Lakeside Inn Resort. Unplug your family and spend time at a family-owned place that is not a cookie cutter chain. My 11-year-old and 8-year-old LOVED this place. We spent our time participating in family activities when we weren't at Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp for Suzuki Family Camp. The young man at the front desk was awesome! Very helpful and nice. We will return again next year for sure!

Room Tip: We like the motel rooms because they have a front and back door and open up right onto the lake on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine4448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have stayed here many times. it is a family owned resort on whitelake very close to lake michigan. Im sure we will stay again. if you do go stay on the second floor,,we stayed in hotel room 22 very large. Great for kids nice pool great place to stay 15 mins from Mi Adventure..after many years they closed the very fine resturant they had there..I guess they just couldnt make a profit to bad food was great..they do have a ice continentel breakfast though.. I have listed places to eat near by below.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michigan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehall
4.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
17.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Whitehall
Days Inn Whitehall
#4 of 5 in Whitehall
2.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzz'sLakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzz'sLakeside Inn

Property: Buzz'sLakeside Inn
Address: 5700 Scenic Dr, Whitehall, MI 49461-9645 (Formerly Lakeside Inn Resort)
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Whitehall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Whitehall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Buzz'sLakeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open under new ownership with many new amenities including a 22 seat bar, patio, and updated docks for guests. Serving lunch and dinner 7 day a week thru October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Buzz'sLakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Whitehall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing