We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Hermitage Bed and Breakfast Traverse City
Ranked #1 of 3 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Jenison
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a great stay at a great B & B.
The Country Hermitage is located just outside of Traverse City. It is close to everything except the traffic. The home is beautiful. The rooms are lovely and very modern. The innkeepers are very helpful (gave us suggestions on places to go and places to eat). The breakfasts were delicious, made with lots of local goodies. Lisa & Carl were very welcoming. They made us feel very comfortable. If we ever head to this area again, this is where we would like to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay at Country Hermitage for our Traverse City-area vacation. The location is great, not far from downtown TC but it is also far enough to be away from some of the crowds and congestion. The property is beautiful, located on a cherry orchard and offers tons of places to relax (hammocks, deck chairs, beautiful living room, etc.) Breakfasts were tasty and very unique and every amenity you could think of was available, including dvds to borrow and popcorn to throw in the microwave. We were so glad we chose the Country Hermitage!

Room Tip: We loved the Kesner room which had a nice view of the orchard and was fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosko1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our stay at Country Hermitage was nothing short of perfect. You honestly get what you are expecting - there are no false advertising issues with this place. It's ideal! I had just finished taking the bar exam wednesday, and my boyfriend and I planned this weekend trip away so I could get back to "normal." It had everything I wanted and needed to relax again.

First, Carl and Lisa (the innkeepers) are amazing. They are so welcoming and want to give you everything they can so you enjoy your stay, including tips about the best things to do around town. Carl makes the most wonderful breakfasts - he puts so much thought into each one and they are truly the best part of staying at this place. They have beer, wine, pop, popcorn out for the guests each day, and Lisa bakes a treat in the afternoons and leaves it out. It's very nice to come back to after a day out in traverse city.

This home is located on a beautiful cherry farm. You can walk the farm and pick tart cherries at any time, and it is truly beautiful. The backyard of the home is kept in tip-top shape - beautiful landscaping and a small pond for catch-and release fishing, a hammock and a few chairs; It was perfect to sit outside and read in the morning or the evening. Even better - there is a fire pit in the back for bonfires at night. And it is all set up for you each day, you only need to light the fire.

Finally, our room was the perfect size for a 3 day stay (Amon Room), they provide everything a hotel would including the mini hotel sized shampoos, conditioners and soaps. They provide a housekeeping service each day should you want it.

This is 100 times better than staying in a hotel if you are looking for a way to relax in TC!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a quite one-night stop on our way to the UP. This B&B is immaculate - nice touches include cookies and a fridge stocked with local wines/drinks and a stocked pond with fishing poles at the ready for guests. The house is located right on a highway and you can hear the cars/trucks/Harleys outside, but it's not really a distraction. Care takers have a friendly and loving dog - Gemma - who kept me company while I read down by the pond.

Room Tip: All guests have access to the local health club/recreation area - nice touch. On a busy street, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our stay was absolutely amazing. We couldn't think of anything to improve on. Carl & Lisa we were warm and welcoming, and the house has been beautifully restored. The attention to detail was amazing. Every room was full during our stay and we never heard anything coming from other rooms - not even when everyone was up and getting ready for the day. Breakfast was served at 9 in the dining room and the food was Amazing. Quiche, steak, grits, fresh local asparagus, and sticky buns one morning; fresh fruit parfait, stuffed french toast and slow roasted ham the next. Amazing. We were full well plast lunch.

We came and went as we pleased and really enjoyed the location. Just far enough down the road to be out of the way from the hustle and bustle, but not too far to be inconvenient. It's an easy drive over to the Leelenau Penninsula or even to Torch Lake.

The room was very comfortable. We always travel with our own pillows because hotel ones are never 'just right.' Well, our pillows stayed in the car this trip! The linens were fresh, not overly fragranced with detergent, and amazingly soft. I wanted to take the comforter home with me. We stayed in the Pulcipher room which has a jetted tub; that was great to relax in at night.

There is a fridge stocked with beverages; tea, coffee, and wine are available during the day. There are tons of board games, books, and DVDs available.

We can't wait to come and stay there again!

Room Tip: The Fromholz suite is on the main floor; other rooms are upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Nothing less than perfect!
We were in TC for a mom-daughter vacation and were very lucky to find this spot due to a cancellation. An absolute beautiful location next to the Grand Traverse Resort -- a fishing pond and working orchards where you can enjoy a walk or a run. Wonderful hosts and great food. Very comfortable common areas -- plenty of room to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesLeelanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The owners and staff go up and beyond to insure that your stay here is perfect. We complained the first night that we could hear snoring from another room that kept me up at night. They explained in old houses the soundproofing is not that great. They then proceeded to move us to another room, and in fact, they did not charge us for the first night. This blew us away. They did not have to do this, but the owner said we want our guest to have the best experience possible, and do not want you to be unhappy while you stay with us. I can see why they have so many positive reviews. They are also very generous. They let us pick a ton of cherries and even packed them in ice for the road. You can not go wrong if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Recommend the music house room over the kesner as it is quieter and no rooms are adjacent to the mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamsburg
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
6.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hermitage Bed and Breakfast Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hermitage Bed and Breakfast Traverse City

Property: Country Hermitage Bed and Breakfast Traverse City
Address: 7710 US Highway 31 N, Williamsburg, MI 49690-9533
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Hermitage Bed and Breakfast is located just north of Traverse City, Michigan overlooking beautiful East Grand Traverse Bay. Discover the beauty and tranquility of this romantic bed and breakfast while you enjoy the gracious hospitality. The Innkeepers strive to help you have a relaxed memorable experience.This local landmark was built in 1883 by one of the Traverse City, Michigan's areas earliest pioneers as a promise to his wife. For a truly memorable Northern Michigan experience, visit the Bed and Breakfast that was built on a legacy of romance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hermitage Bed And Breakfast Traverse City Michigan/Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing