We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit after several months was very disappointing!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bourbon's 72

Bourbon's 72
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Traverse City
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return visit after several months was very disappointing!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having enjoyed Bourbon 72 on multiple occasions over the last several years, we were VERY disappointed with the food, service, selection and value. The first disappointment was learning that they did not have two of their "signature dishes" (the Prime Rib, nor the Australian Lobster Tail). Upon further review of the menu it become apparent that the pricing had also gone up considerably, including a "split-charge" on several dishes.

We order the "spicy calamari" on the recommendation of our server. The flavor was bland and the dish arrived room temperature. It is also worth noting that the calamari we'd previously eaten there (prepared more traditionally) was much better. For a second course we had "green salads". This may have been the strangest part of the culinary experience. The greens came tightly wrapped in sliced cucumber (like a burrito) with the dressing on the side. The salad was almost frozen and lacked flavor as though it had been "pre-made". Both the NY Strip and filet were (while overpriced) well prepared.

As a final take away, the service was lackluster. The primary server was odd and seemed uncomfortable dealing with customers and created an awkward rapport with our party.

Needless to say, what had previously been a destination we looked forward to frequenting was a near complete disappointment. Considering whether or not a return trip is worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HawkeyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogers City, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“quality is diminishing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We always eat at Bourbon's 72 because it's so convient to just go downstairs. The past few visits haven't been as great as it was in the past. We ate there on Friday night. My husband ordered the filet and was sure he was served a sirloin instead. We asked our waitress and she said it was the filet. Certainly not the quality steak we have had in the past. And it was served with spagetti and sauce and a pile of onion sticks. the salmon was very good but the sweet potatoe fries tasted like they had been in a warmer for some time. Not very hot and almost soggy. Certainly not the quality we have had in the past visits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mbb1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

It's hard to beat Bourbon in the TC area for good beef and traditional fine dining. During our last visit the prime rib was excellent, salads great, desserts wonderful. Service was pretty much perfect. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHbouhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaylord
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food but ..,,,,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We haven't been here to eat in about 8 months the food we had, 10 ounce filet with an added lobster tail was was 69$. Most meals were quite expensive compared to many other great places to eat in the area. My husband and I actually split the meal and had enough to eat. Keep in mind there are no sides included in their meals so to add anything else adds $$

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food. Fantastic Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Bourbon 72 has recently changed their menu and I have to say "the food is awesome". Today, I had the crab cakes (yummy!) then the Alaskan king crab legs with a side of the new cream corn (spectacular) then a sweet potato pecan tart (OMG ths is good). My daughter had a filet and baked potato then cheesecake. She was also very pleased. The service here is always wonderful. Jessica is the best waitress anywhere. The environment is serenety inside of the busy casino. If you get a chance to eat here, I would highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BridjetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bourbon's 72 also viewed

Williamsburg, Grand Traverse County
 
Acme, Grand Traverse County
Williamsburg, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Williamsburg, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Bourbon's 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing