We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical winter getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolverine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Wolverine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you like the quiet winter sports--cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, wildlife viewing--this is the place for you. Hosts Rhonda and John are wonderfully accommodating. They emailed us about a local activity (a snowshoe outing at a local nature preserve) to see if we wanted to participate and even offered to rent snowshoes for us before our arrival so we wouldn't miss out.

The b&b has very comfortable rooms, and you can ski and snowshoe right on the property. Breakfasts were great with an effort to make use of local products (e.g., maple and fruit syrups for the pancakes).

Nice restaurants are available in Indian River and Wolverine for evening outings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Beautiful winter landscape everywhere you looked. The perfect escape for quiet moments. The hosts John and Rhonda were wonderful offering lots of conversation. The breakfasts were excellent. It was so quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed snow shoeing on the trails. We woke up to 8" of new snow and enjoyed helping shovel the snow. Great bird watching. While venturing outdoors we encountered rabbits, deer, woodpeckers and many other birds. We would highly recommend Silent Sport Lodge and plan on returning again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cedar Room. Large whirlpool tub. Great room for a romantic time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHAdventures2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Rhonda S, Owner at Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Winter is truly beautiful here especially if you get out and enjoy it as you did. Of course watching the birds from the warmth of the dining area lent itself to some great photos. Thanks for sharing those and for the fantastic cards you made with them! Hope to see you again (maybe for a quilting retreat as you mentioned.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just got back from a weekend trip to Silent Sport Lodge. We stayed in the Mountain room which has a king bed and is ever so comfortable. Breakfast today was so pretty I had to take a picture!
We snowshoer on their groomed trails today and yesterday cross country skied on their property. Great bird watching, deer and just lovely winter scenery.

Rhonda and John are hosts extraordinaire offering entertaining stories, great ideas for things to do in the area and restaurant suggestions.

Pros. As the name implies, silent sports only at the lodge, so no snow mobiles. They have a river cabin and cottage for the snowmobilers Groomed skiing and snowshoeing trails, lots of acreage to roam. Great views off the family room. Great service, food and hosts. Year round access to rivers,lakes, you name it
Cons. Can't think of any. I will keep coming here summer, spring, winter and fall

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wow, I can't say enough about this wonderful place. A true log cabin that is back in the woods nestled by a river. The owners, John and Rhonda were great! Pleasant to talk with and very knowledgeable about the area. Gosh the food was awesome too! My husband, Jim, and I have not had the opportunity to be away together in over 20 years. The room was very neat and clean. We enjoyed the inspirational books, petting the kitty, and walking their property to uncover surprises (the old house, hunting blinds, wild animals, and the wonderful colors of the trees). We have never been to a bed and breakfast but now that is all we will do. The two were genuine, warm, and treated us like we were part of their family. Rhonda and John are fantastic hosts who made us completely at ease and welcome! Loved meeting their parents (grandpa and grandma Smit) who treated us like we were one of the family. Jake Smit - what a treat! I can't wait to come back and make snow shoes and enjoy the tranquility. Great cooks; their homemade food is wonderful (loved the apple Carmel sauce over the wheat pancakes).

Room Tip: River room - has a wonderful view and balcony. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the river cottage. It was a nice, quiet, cozy place. It was so relaxing to just sit in the yard and listen to the river flowing by. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manleygthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

we traveled to northern Michigan for a wedding. We had no idea what to expect during this trip as we have never traveled to Michigan (north Michigan at that).What a surprise we had. We picked the Silent Sport Lodge because it was a B&B. It was fantastic. the innkeepers where so gracious and helpful. The property was beyond beautiful. Breakfasts were truly remarkable. John and Rhonda are your hosts that can not do enough for you. We had a fly fishing lesson from John that I know tried his patience but it was so much fun and instructive. This is a place to go if you are looking for a serene spot to relax and get away. We will be back.

Room Tip: they offer wilderness themed rooms that are comfy and lovely. Our room had a shower, no tub which we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbyt1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place is wonderful...nicely nestled in the woods away from everything. Great central location to take in day trips to Petoskey, Cross Village, Mackinaw City, Gaylord. John and Rhonda were incredible hosts, having an excellent knowledge of the area and make you feel like one of the family. The breakfasts were delicious. Their home and overall atmosphere was very welcoming and inviting. Looking forward to a visit during the winter season!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Rhonda S, Owner at Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay for your birthday celebration. We enjoyed having you! Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silent Sport Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14750 Old Sturgeon Rd, Wolverine, MI 49799-9642
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Wolverine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wolverine
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing