We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not 5 star but a good hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
MarBella Corfu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Not 5 star but a good hotel"”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

First of all we would stay again, it's a clean relaxed hotel. Good food and great kids club.
But it's not a 5 star hotel. The entertainment is poor, in fact it's very poor for a 5 star hotel. The restaurants lack any real atmosphere, think about a Greek restaurant and you would expect check table clothes, candles and lanterns outside, just to add that bit of charm. What you get is a restaurant that could be anything from a posh McDonalds to a nice cafe in the London.

Pool area, you carry towels down from your room and then carry back at the end of the day wet!! What hotel at this level asks this of their guests, you can only change them from 10am till 3pm. Wasps, we'll it's been mentioned many times and whilst I understand the hotel has tried to combat surely lids on the bins is your first step to resolve. Management can often be seen walking about but not once did they ask how your stay was.

Forget long trousers for dinner you can wear what you like, if your a fat Russian with a tee shirt and football shorts, or an Englishman with a Wayne Rooney football shirt and flip flops this your place for dinner, saying that food is very nice.

Management: get the hotel perfect, most comments are repeats on this trip advisor so don't acknowledge with the usual we value your opinion etc etc.You have the chance here to be a really great hotel in a lovely setting, it's not hard to correct the negative points so get the place up to 5 star standards and see the repeat business.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rix186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying with us an reviewing us here.
Of course we are glad you started with the promise to return, however some of your points concern us a lot and be sure that every negative comment cause an immediate reaction on our team. However some suggestions that cannot be immediately applied due to the necessity of a bigger intervention are certainly kept on our agenda of improvements.
We hope you will be returning soon to check it out.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    560
    137
    38
    18
See reviews for
721
1,019
42
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile


This summer three families from the same neighbourhood spent two amazing weeks holiday at Marbella Beach Hotel in Corfu, Greece.
The accomodation was explicit, two pools (salt-or freshwater)which always was cIean and refreshing. The pooIguys were ready to assist with sunbeds, parasols and towels,- always smiling friendly.
And then,- the most amazing holiday gift of all;morning yoga with Effie and Labeto. Effies mild and loving approach and sincere eager to make every one of us leave the session totally renewed and ready for all the day would bring, was balm for a stressed soul and made my holiday worth every penny used. She also offered a shiatsu massage in the hot jacuzzi pool called Watsu. This was completely new to me, but gave more stress-relief than I could ever have imagined. For those who wanted to get a clean consiusnes, the activity -team also offered aeral acrobatic, water aerobic, tabletennis- and volleybalI games.
The buffet at the hotel was the best I have ever had, and the small taverna Akrogiali at the beach amazingly made place for all 11 of us and custommade lunchdishes for all the strange orders we made.
lf I should mention the one thing not being "my cup of tea"and which really should be reconsidered, is the entertainment at night. I'm 45 years old, but really,-the music played was more suitable for my parents than for me.... The beach is so wonderful at night,- why not make some great beachparties down there and give the nights some more sparkle?
You will have to be prepared for some butt-training, walking steps from the hotel to the beach, - but you get there without crossing any roads which makes it secure to let children switch between staying by the pool and playing in the waves of the crystal-clear blue ocean. Us adults had great fun diving in the sea, securely lead by Apollo at the diving centre.
Back home I still on a daily basis do the yoga I learned from Effie at Marbella Beach Hotel. I will always be grateful for this new aspect of life that I was given during this fabolous holiday <3

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Bente G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and took back home with you some special moments of your experience with us!
All MarBella team is proud to provide that little personal touch that makes our job special.
Thank you also for your tips!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Quality of the hotel and the hospitality of the stuff really exceeded our expectations. View from our suite was ok. WI-FI coverage was relatively poor. Kids naturally loved different pool areas. The suite and actually the whole hotel was clean. We also liked the activities available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rammy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to have exceeded your expectation on a pleasant stay and very much value your comments.
On your next visit to the island we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

... and then some more.

To start with the positive. It is a real nice hotel and everything you see on the their website is actually true. However, I was under the impression that it is a lot smaller than it actually is. In all fairness I have to say that this was certainly my mistake. But just to be clear, it is actually a pretty big hotel with lots of rooms, restaurants, bars, etc.

Hence my personal expectations were not completely met. In particular the big buffet restaurant for dinner & breakfast was not what I had in mind when we booked the hotel. Again, in all fairness it was the middle of the high season and the hotel was completely booked.

However, regarding restaurants be advised that the hotel operates 2 other smaller restaurants (Italian & Greek) which you can book for 1 dinner each during your stay at no extra cost provided that you have booked half board or another similar package. These restaurants fill up quickly so book already when you check in. The Italian restaurant also serves a la carte breakfast (again at no extra cost) which is really good. I do not exactly understand how you qualify for that since we got booked there by Athina the guest relation manager (who is really fantastic) after we expressed our disappointment about the buffet restaurant.

The food in the Greek restaurant and Italian restaurant is really good. The buffet restaurant has a huge selection but the food quality is pretty much what you expect from a buffet restaurant of this size.

The good news though is that despite high season in all other areas we did not experience any issues with areas being too crowded. (Pool, beach, bar).

Let's talk about the room. We had booked a suite because we were travelling with 2 adults and 2 kids. It was absolutely fantastic! Spacious, clean, well maintained and well equipped. The suite consisted of 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms and a huge terrace (appr. 50m2). Sea view at the Marbella Beach hotel really means sea view! The hotel is built on the slope of a little hill and I would expect that all rooms facing the sea actually have a real nice and unobstructed view. (See picture 2).

The service is good. Not very good measured against 5 Star standards I have experienced before. My impression was that this mainly a Greek cultural issue. Everybody was very friendly and everything got done eventually but the staff seemed not to be in a particular hurry to get it done and the process of ordering was a bit cumbersome at times. However, after 2 days and getting into the Greek mood you hardly notice it any longer.

Personally, would I go there again? Probably not in the middle of the high season. But in off peak times it is a real nice place and i doubt you find anything better on Corfu.

Travel tips: Corfu town is definitely worth a visit. The bus leaves directly in front of the hotel and gets you there nice and easy in 25 minutes for a fare of 1,70€. Twice a week there is a shuttle boat from the hotel to Corfu town. Again book early/quick.

Bottom line: Highly recommended in off peak season. Still very nice and worth the trip in high season but you should know what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Bernd R,

Thank you for visiting us and expressing here your feelings about our hotel.
We agree that expectations are a personal issue that can not be always met 100%, however we in every way are very clear about our commitment on offering a pleasant stay to all our guests.
MarBella Corfu Hotel has 384 rooms in an area of over 72,000 square meters, on a green hillside, looking towards the sea and we understand that space is important to guarantee a relaxing stay for about 900 people.
We are glad you enjoyed the overall and will be looking forward to welcoming you again in any time you believe would suits you better.

Kindest regards,
MarBella Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely relaxed holiday at Marbella Beach on a Half Board basis. The hotel is very clean and we found the staff within the hotel couldn’t be more helpful or friendly. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. We always found sun beds by the beach and a cabana for my elderly mother who preferred some shade.

Our room. Although disappointed by our ‘Garden View’ at first, we were subsequently grateful for the privacy and late afternoon sunshine that these rooms offered. The room was kept spotlessly clean and we all slept extremely well in the comfortable beds. WiFi connection was not a problem.

The restaurant/s. We ate relatively early each evening and specifically sat in a quieter area of the dining room (to avoid screeching children). The choice was good and the food was always fresh and well presented. We easily obtained bookings for both the greek and italian restaurants, which we all enjoyed.

Dress code. If the hotel is not going to enforce it - why have one? 50% of the men during our stay wore shorts and unfortunately, some couples did not make any effort to dress appropriately for dinner.

The wasps. The problem with wasps spoiled the joy of sitting outside and enjoying a drink in the late evening sunshine and we never ate outside for that very reason. They didn’t spoil it nearly as much as the uncontrolled children who, on occasion, seemed to run amok around the hotel. On one occasion the poor traditional greek dancers had to contend with uncontrolled children running through their dance routine. Not the hotels problem - that’s bad parenting.

Overall. We wold have no hesitation recommending this hotel and, if we ever travel to Corfu in the future, we would definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_Columbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate you taking the time to show MarBella Corfu Hotel as you experienced it and thank you also for your tips.
We regret y the annoyance caused by wasps and noisy children and assure you that measures are taken in order to avoid it.
Again, we are glad you enjoyed the overall stay and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The main reason for this review is to respond to the response that the hotel gave to a previous review. They seemed to suggest that the situation with the wasps was one that was only problematic at certain times of the year and that they did take the situation seriously; but if the wasps, of which there are an enormous amount, are there whilst you are trying to eat at the beach restaurant and are there whilst you are trying to relax by the pool it matters not whether it is at certain times of the year. The fact is that they are there. I know we must feel better about it because at another time of the year another family can have a relaxing holiday, despite the fact that our holiday was plagued by wasps. The hotel needs to understand that they will for a fact lose custom if they do not do significantly more to rid themselves of the wasp problem.

The fact is that this is a beautifully set resort; the rooms are beautiful and the children's pool is the best that I have experienced. It is true that the night time entertainment needs to be improved and the so called children's disco is quite frankly an embarrassment but many other aspects of the hotel are wonderful; the food; the service and the private beach will make for a beautiful holiday. If I was told that there were no more wasps and that there was a little more in the way of night time entertainment for young children I would love to go back; but until that time I would not even consider it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Stephen m,
Thank you for your suggestions.
We assure you that we take very seriously any problematic aspect which can make our guest stay less enjoyable.
We are also very straight forward on admitting when we are at fault yet always do our best to guarantee our guests satisfaction.
Look forward to welcoming you again and have the opportunity of attending to all your expectations.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I read lots of reviews before we arrived at the hotel so I was a little apprehensive. The hotel was lovely, we had upgraded to 2 superior sea view rooms which I would recommend, the views and rooms were stunning and very comfortable, thank you Amarylis for the rooms being next door to each other. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. The food was good and we enjoyed eating in the Italian and Greek restaurants-no problem with booking! Both meals were very good. The seafood restaurant, although expensive was really good, the location was stunning. We also booked the boat trip organised by the hotel to Corfu Town which is free-book early. The hotel will supply a picnic if you order in advance. The service by the staff is what makes the hotel special and why would consider going back, the staff in the beach restaurant are friendly and good fun, Magda in the main restaurant-Outside area was brilliant and Nicky in the Italian always made us laugh. The a la carte in the Italian at lunchtime was excellent-good food-very few wasps, we never ate in the buffet restaurant during the day. Beach restaurant was good but lots of wasps at times.
The buffet restaurant in the evening can be busy and noisy, we therefore chose to sit outside where the insects screens are as the view is amazing and there is a really nice atmosphere-inside was a bit like a canteen. We upgraded to All Inclusive which worked well for us.
For us the biggest problem was there enormous amount of wasps that plagued us at meal times and when having drinks outside, on the beach and by the pool. After a really bad day when 2 meals were abandoned and teenage children in tears we complained to the catering manager who was brilliant and the hotel manager who we noticed during our last couple of days setting traps and monitoring the situation. The Thomson rep said that wasps are usually a problem-to eat indoors-not what we wanted as most restaurants were outside!, The manager said it is hard to treat wasps when you don't know where they are coming from. We understand that, but it needs to be on the hotel details then. The catering manager and hotel manager took it seriously and were much more active than the rep, thank you to them for at least arranging for us to eat elsewhere at breakfast and for taking the time to track us down a day or so later to see how things were. Both very professional and considerate. We very rarely complain but I really believe that if things are not right let them know so they can try to tackle the problem at the time. We will definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior se view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay despite the wasp problem.
We also thank you for your consideration to all effort made to solve this problem that appear time to time in the entire island.
The MarBella Team will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis Peristeron
10.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
11.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
22.7 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
5.8 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarBella Corfu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBella Corfu Hotel

Property: MarBella Corfu Hotel
Address: Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — MarBella Corfu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort complex consists of two main buildings and cluster buildings of Mediterranean architecture, all overlooking the graceful Corfiot costline and the colourful sub-tropical property gardens. Marbella Corfu reveals luxurious and spacious accommodation, combined with elegantly decorated restaurants, terraces, lounges and bars offering unique views of the Ionian Sea.The lush greenery along with a brand new cascade sea-water swimming pool invites you to indulge in comfort and style.Various water sports facilities await you at the beach. An idyllic area with olive trees and straw umbrellas is located next to the beach, providing the perfect scenery for sport and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your MarBella Corfu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Beach Hotel Agios Ioannis
Marbella Hotel Benitses
Hotel Marbella Corfu
Marbella Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing