We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Picked this up through secret escapes, and to be honest we were not sure what to expect. Whatever expectation we had was more than surpassed. Location is beautiful, and the hotel is superb. Friendly team with great cooking. My wife was very impressed with the standards and felt they were the best she had seen. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the Hotel had a relaxed air about it. The pool was perfectly adequate but again, did I mention that the food was divine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time and leaving this wonderful review. There is nothing better than reading that we have “surpassed your expectations”, after all we have just as high expectations of ourselves. I hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    149
    55
    23
    25
See reviews for
219
404
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol - England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Brilliant location for walking the coastal footpath a short walk from Soar Mill Cove. Really, really good food with great views to the sea from the dining room. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Lovely large room with a wonderful sea view and a good sized seating area. We had a great weekend and plan to go again.

Room Tip: Definite choose a sea view. It's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable weekend break! Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving such a wonderful review. Hopefully you can enjoy many weekend breaks here at Soar Mill Cove Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I haven’t written a review in a while, but this hotel deserves a mention.

The staff are certainly their strongest asset – they all go out of their way to make you feel welcomed, comfortable and looked after. I was personally welcomed by every member of the front of house team (including the gorgeous Labrador!) in such a friendly manner – which was lovely after such a long journey. Throughout my stay, every member of staff went out of their way to ensure I was happy – really 5* service.

My room (Rosemary Rose) was fantastic, at least 3 times the size of your average hotel room, furnished beautifully and with everything that you would need for a comfortable stay.

The location is breathtaking, with a little beach just a short stroll from the front door (I ran down in the almost-darkness when I arrived and it was still beautiful!) It feels like you’re in the middle of no-where, although the hotel is very well situated for exploring the surrounding area.

The food… oh yum, where do I start? It really deserves a review of it’s own and I truly hope the restaurant is fully booked at weekends and Summer months, because it deserves to be! The dishes I selected were served in innovative and delicious ways, not out of place in a Michelin star kitchen. The restaurant itself is lovely, spacious and completely glass fronted looking out onto the landscape, I also liked that even though I was dining alone they didn’t stick me on a miserable table in the corner as so many places often do (incidentally, they also offer room service – but the food sounded too good to eat from a tray!) Breakfast was also fantastic, with a great choice to suit all.

I guess my only small niggle was that it would be nice if there was Wi-fi access in the guest rooms. There was zero mobile phone signal or 3G access in the area (which might be a blessing if you are travelling for leisure!!) so you were rather cut off from the outside world without the internet. They do offer Wi-fi in the bar and reception – and it’s a warm and inviting space to use, so it’s really not a huge issue – but sometimes it is nice to relax in the privacy of your own room.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay - I was only sorry I was staying on a business trip – I will most definitely be back, next time with my fiancé (and our dog!!) and hope to make full use of this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
What a stunning review! We all take such pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your stay. The staff are core to making our hotel a fabulous place to stay, always offering service with a smile. Rosemary Rose is a lovely room, we are so very lucky to offer 22 bedrooms all of a good size with comfortable king or queen size beds. Due to our location WIFI is often a struggle, having to convert to a satellite method of broadband, rather than more conventional methods, we do however hope to expand this throughout the hotel in the near future. I hope that we can welcome you back soon; Farley loves to see familiar faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Soar Mill for the first time this October. Perfect for a few nights get away from the hassles of work, added bonus of no Vodafone reception! Horrah!.

Food was simple amazing, 100% spot on every time, could not fault it, same class and style as many of London's best, would like to see more fresh seafood on the menu though :)

Service was great in the restaurant and reception, although I think there could be more staff patrolling the lounge area, I could have certainly be tempted into 'relaxing' in a little more beverage!

Dogs are not allowed into the lounge which was a bit of a shock for dog friendly and family hotel, they are only allowed passage to the rooms. If we stayed for longer than two nights this would be an issue as we like to 'chill' as a family, not shut the dog away.

Rooms were top draw, bouncy carpet, luxury sheets and fab views, recommend room 23... massive room and direct access to the front lawns and majestic views of the sea.

The pool is simply amazing, for a small hotel to have such a facility is fantastic.

If you want a hotel you never need to leave (apart from walks and the cove) then this is it. Marvellously isolated but close enough to drive out if you wanted to, but why would you?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilD843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
We are all about tranquillity! After all a holiday is all about relaxing and enjoying what beautiful surroundings/facilities we have to offer. Our salt water pool open last May has been a huge success, the ideal place to enjoy some family time. We choose not to allow dogs in our lounge due to the amount of guests we have using it, however dogs are allowed in your room and our coffee shop. I will pass my congratulations onto the staff for their continued high level of service. Thank you for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a dinner, bed and breakfast break at the beautiful soar mill cove hotel. The service was faultless, having stayed there before the staff remembered us and were very attentive, giving us a complimentary bottle of prosecco for our wedding anniversary. The hotel had undergone some renovations since we stayed there a year ago. The bigger salt water swimming pool/gym area has been finished to a very high standard, and I found the swim very relaxing. The dinning room looked fantastic, the new decor adding to the outstanding views of the sea. Dinner, breakfast and the cream tea were delicious, and great to know that it was from locally sourced produce. This is a great place to stay to unwind and enjoy some beautiful, rugged scenery, with the added bonus of a beautiful walk to soar mill cove beach and coastline.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must - allows you to enjoy the stunning scenery from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving such a wonderful review! I believe it’s been 3 years since you said your wedding vowels here at Soar Mill Cove, and it’s always such a pleasure to welcome you back for your anniversary! I’m delighted that our refurbishment has impressed you, so lovely to hear such great comments. I’ll pass my congratulations onto the team and we all hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms are good size and clean with comfortable beds, unfortunately there isn't a fridge which you would expect for a hotel and the price charged per room. Loved the patio and sea views. I have stayed in much better hotels for less money so although it's nice we thought the room was over priced especially for October. The sunsets and night skys with shooting stars are stunning and worth at least one trip. The restaurant was a big let down, the quality of food was very dissapointing, lunch and evening meal were over cooked and well over priced. We were offered another evening meal after returning both of ours to the kitchen, but didn't want it so we weren't charged. The dining room is too quiet for conversation, light background music would be nice.
The road to the hotel is extremely narrow and if there is a sea mist it's quite hairy going back when it's dark so be aware. Meet and greet should be done either on arrival or in the lounge not when guests are in the middle of eating their breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 3, next to reception so can pick up wifi even though it's a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
So sorry we did not live entirely up to your expectations and thank you for your feed back.I apologise if you did not like us welcoming you at breakfast, all guests are very different and we will know for another occasion.
We were a little perplexed re dinner which were 2 Medium Ribeye Steaks and lunch 2 Poached Salmon with homemade Hollandaise. Perhaps they would have been better Medium Rare. Salmon seems to be in fashion a little rarer nowadays, although this of course is not to everyones taste, so please do just let us know another time. As you say though you were not charged. So glad the view our amazing natural light show and the sunset lived up to expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed last week for the first time. From our arrival we were made so welcome by Lizzie.

The setting over the cove is unique and the standards of service, housekeeping and food are very very good.

What a fantastic new swimming pool

How relaxing to stay in a hotel that welcomes well behaved dogs!

Mat is a highly professional executive , hands on and so very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we left wanting to go back asap but will have to sadly wait until next year.

Room Tip: Avoid the Makepeace suite or rooms next to it The one1st floor bedroom is above them and floor ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Lizzie and Matt are true stars and they are core in setting the standards of service that the team provide. So glad you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
2.3 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
14.1 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soar Mill Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Property: Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Address: Near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soar Mill Cove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soar Mill Cove Hotel near Salcombe is a family run hotel & luxury self catering. A good base for walking holidays, short breaks & in holiday times popular with families enjoying caring service. A great base to explore South Devon. No stay is complete without dining in our sea view 2 Rosette Restaurant and the hotel offers best value when taking an inclusive break. All rooms have DVD library, flat screen TVs, WiFi free throughout, but limited connection speeds and no mobile phone signal in this rural idyll. 10 Acres of grounds and plenty of free parking. NEW salt water indoor heated swimming pool , sauna, gym & Spa Treatments, "just for fun" pitch and putt golf, table tennis, lawn tennis in season and snooker. Near Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe, Thurlestone and Dartmouth. Luxury Self Catering Villas with up to 5 bedrooms. Available for exclusive use sea view weddings, so that no other guests are disturbed. New for 2015 the rather rugged approach road has been replaced with a lovely smooth driveway, the first of our new bathrooms are been rolled starting with The Makepeace Suite now ready for you holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Soar Mill Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soar Mill Cove Salcombe
Hotel Soar Mill Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing