We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Wow, where to start This family orientated pet friendly hotel is found at the end of a rather bumpy country lane, the hotel is nestled into a small hill with views out over the ocean and has direct access to the sea and a stunning cove. The hotel is smartly decorated, professionally run and has a real family centric mentality. Their indoor heated swimming pool and gym is clean, modern and a real asset. The food is excellent and the Devon cream tea was to die for. Nothing seemed to much for the staff in this hotel, on Saturday night the receptionist even made sure our 7 year old daughter got 1 on 1 entertainment from the hotel magician. My only negative is of the pot holed lane that leads to this hotel. To be fair this lane is not owned by the hotel and is run by the National Trust, who really should get this sorted out as its condition will only get worse but to be clear this is not the hotels fault. Would we stay at Soar Mill again? YES PLEASE!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WraggUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving such a wonderful review, I’m delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay. I’m so pleased to read that you liked the hotel décor; we have tried our utmost to make sure it looks stunning! The new salt water swimming pool has been a popular addition to the hotel and really does provide all year round relaxation. The pot holes are indeed an issue for which we are working endlessly to sort, unfortunately the road as you said is owned by the National trust, which means we are unable to carry out any repairs ourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a family garden room with sea view. The room was spacious and comfortable. Big bathroom though it was the only part that was not renovated. The hotel itself was lovely, perfect size so intimate enough but still allowing enough privacy and without being overbearing.
The service was great, personal and attentive. On our first morning a couple of families (including us) asked for pancakes for the kids which are not on the breakfast menu and so the chef prepared them especially on the following days.
The hotel includes really nice amenities - a lovely lounge, great indoor swimming pool, ping pong etc, so enough to keep the kids entertained in case of rain.
But the best part was the location - right on the edge of the hills going down to a beautiful wild beach. Gorgeous walks literally as you open the hotel's gate.
Overall fantastic family holiday, we were just sorry we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tali07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

The Soar Mill Cove Hotel has been family run for 37 years and I’m delighted that we can share our lovely hotel and location with our hotel residences. We aim to offer everything required to ensure that our residents have the ideal holiday, I’m so pleased that the staff offered you all that you requests. I hope that we can welcome you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location is central to the success of this fabulous hotel, along with the fabulous staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they were keen to cater to our every whim. The room was great, although we did feel we were missing out on a sea view- next time! Would definitely recommend, especially if you are looking for a hotel which is not part of a chain and is flexible to suit your requirements. Indeed we are checking the diary to see when we could steal away another few days break.

Room Tip: Definitely try to book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I’m so pleased to hear that you’re already planning your return trip! The team works very hard to ensure our guests are well looked after; we try our utmost to provide all that our guests require. Our sea view is indeed delightful come rain or shine it always takes my breath away. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This really is a lovely hotel in an absolutely gorgeous location. It's been refurnished relatively recently and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Great food too. We had a garden room which. Was absolutely lovely, but I imagine that the sea view rooms are equally beautiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We have spent a lot of time ensuring that both our Garden View and Sea view rooms are of a high standard, I’m so pleased you liked yours. I will be sure to pass my congratulations onto the team for looking after you so well, indeed nothing is too much trouble. Thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are quite fussy. Every expectation was met, every need catered for. Our experience was enhanced by very pleasant friendly staff who were unobtrusive and without exception helpful. Wonderful views, comfortable & spacious room with very pleasant patio area. Superb shower room, spotlessly clean & with lovely soft towels. A joy to have fresh milk easily available in our room for making tea, no plastic milk here! The food was a really a highlight. The swimming pool was excellent and such a good temperature. We hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: Few rooms face the cove but our garden room (no 20) was very pleasant & very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wunchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Firstly thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us! I’m delighted that you had such a peaceful and relaxing holiday, the staff really do try their best to make our guests feel well looked after. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We chose this hotel for a special family gathering and it didn't disappoint. The hotel is in a magical spot with great views over the surrounding countryside and down to the sea. It's a family friendly hotel that caters we'll for people of all ages - there is plenty to do for kids and adults alike. The food is of a high quality. We all left having had a very nice long weekend.

Just one word of caution/advice to the hotel: there are warnings, but the water in the bathrooms seemed unnecessarily hot. As a result it was difficult to regulate the shower temperature - it was either too hot or too cold. And the towel radiators were very likewise very hot. One of the younger members of our party burnt herself on one of them. Do they need to be so hot?

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

I’m so pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations and you and your family was able to have such a magical holiday! We do indeed have a beautiful location, I’ve been lucky enough to raise my beautiful family hear, in my eyes there nowhere better. I will have a look into why your shower had a mind of its own; this is not a common problem, our towel rails can be turned off on request to prevent little ones from injury. Thank you very much for leaving such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Gorgeous place with every comfort you could wish for ! Stunning location quiet with fantastic rural views with access to Soar Mill Cove Beach. Spa facilities and salt water swimming pool. Beautiful views into the valley leading to the beach.

Room Tip: Beautiful private terrace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 29nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malborough
2.3 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
895 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
685 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soar Mill Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Address: Near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ7 3DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Price Range: £121 - £998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soar Mill Cove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soar Mill Cove Hotel near Salcombe is a family run hotel & luxury self catering. A good base for walking holidays, short breaks & in holiday times popular with families enjoying caring service. A great base to explore South Devon. No stay is complete without dining in our sea view 2 Rosette Restaurant and the hotel offers best value when taking an inclusive break. All rooms have DVD library, flat screen TVs, WiFi free throughout, but limited connection speeds and no mobile phone signal in this rural idyll. 10 Acres of grounds and plenty of free parking. NEW salt water indoor heated swimming pool , sauna, gym & Spa Treatments, "just for fun" pitch and putt golf, table tennis, lawn tennis in season and snooker. Near Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe, Thurlestone and Dartmouth. Luxury Self Catering Villas with up to 5 bedrooms. Available for exclusive use sea view weddings, so that no other guests are disturbed. New for 2015 the rather rugged approach road has been replaced with a lovely smooth driveway, the first of our new bathrooms are been rolled starting with The Makepeace Suite now ready for you holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Soar Mill Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soar Mill Cove Salcombe
Hotel Soar Mill Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing