We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Clean, Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Updated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

They have very good service and a nice breakfast. I am highly allergic to feathers and they have them removed from our room BEFORE we arrive which is really nice not to have to wait for them to redo the bedding. (feather pillows etc) If you get a room with 2 double beds you will get a tub/shower combo with typical room space.... if you get a room with a king size bed you will only get a shower and the bathroom area will be really tight with the large door...you almost are in the shower area or bumping into the toilet to close the door once inside the bathroom. So if you would like a tub or space in the bath area select a room with 2 double beds. The pool is indoor and typical. This Hotel is updated and really really clean and nice for an overnight stay or weekend. (I would go to a resort for long stay for more services and large outdoor pools etc) We have stayed here many, many times and will continue when in the area. There is a mini fridge but no microwave in room. There is a nice desk area for working. They also have very nice large flat screen tv's in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    118
    48
    20
    11
See reviews for
177
89
23
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed at hotel during a recent visit with family. Rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Complimentary breakfast had some nice additions, including mini-pancakes and breakfast sandwitches, as well as the standard breads, fruit and cerel. Located near a hospital, but we didn't notice any noise from that during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

The room is very nicely decorated, and stylish. However, there are many things that are lacking. Biggest issue...no microwave. It's a suite hotel with a refrigerator in every room...but NO microwave. So to use the microwave, you have to go down to the kitchen area, ask someone at the front desk if you can use the microwave, and they have to get it out from the back. Housekeeping is also lacking. We were here over a holiday, and housekeeping was HORRIBLE. They are a LEED certified green hotel, so they have energy saving measures available, but when they provide 1 card to put on a bed to get them changed, and there are 3 beds in the hotel room, you need to change all 3 when the card is put on one bed. They only changed the bed that the card was on. One of the days we stayed, they remade the beds, quickly changed the towels, and left. Did NOTHING else. Did not provide more soap, clean the sink, change the dirty glasses, NOTHING. Breakfast is pretty nice, but coffee and tea are only free during breakfast hours and later are $2.50 a cup. The swimming pool is fairly cold, and there is no hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from M6 as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLSchaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear VLSchaap,

Thank you for your candid review. Please accept my apologies for the above. Know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering the highest standard of service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting.

Sincerely,
Nick Fischioni, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a follow-up review, based on my 2nd stay at this Hyatt Place location. In my first review, based on staying there in 2010, I commented about how the hotel was comfortable & stylish. Those adjectives still apply. However, a few things have changed about the hotel, so I wanted to make note.

First: breakfast has changed. They no longer offer hot food for sale at breakfast. That's both good & bad for me. I hated that they wanted to up-sell you on hot food. But, I wish the pre-made hot selections were better -- and that the the staff was more flexible to handle allergies. My mom is allergic to dairy, so the daily selections (which all had cheese) didn't work for her... and it's also hard for her to eat other things like bread (without butter), cereal (without milk). People with allergies are used to it, but it was still really annoying since most hotel breakfasts at least have meat/egg separate from dairy. They also scaled back yogurt & fruit options. Thankfully, they still had a great assortment of juice, coffee, and breads.

Second: this location, simply, is aging. The lamps next to the beds are stylish, but don't turn on quite right anymore, and there were a few minor maintenance issues in the bathrooms. It was also harder to maintain the right temperature for comfortable sleeping. The pool area does not have a hot tub, which is just fine -- since the chemical smell was too strong to want to sit in one anyhow. Thankfully, I noticed that the workout room was in good shape.

Third: the staff wasn't quite as friendly & helpful as last time. Housekeeping forgot to care for one of our rooms one day, leaving my parents in a pinch. The other staff weren't exactly bad, but weren't as extra-helpful as in the past.

Overall, I still like this hotel, but I hope they'll improve, instead of decline, for my next visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDSUGRAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Clean room, friendly staff, easy on off highway access, free breakfast, spacious room!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dream530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The room was nicely decorated, clean and quiet and the breakfast was pretty good. It's all the other things that were so disappointing. The worst was the heating system. If we set it to 74 degrees it was freezing in the room. 75 degrees was unbearably hot. There was NO in between. Housekeeping didn't restock 1/2 of the items in our room for the 2nd night, including TOILET PAPER. I've never, ever run out of toilet paper in a hotel room before. Seriously? We paid $18 to rent a movie only to have the English subtitles not work. That's okay - everyone speaks German, right? Our money was refunded. I had booked our hotel stay online, but then called another day to add an additional night. This for some reason took 15-20 minutes due to some sort of problem with the coupon I was using. As a result of said coupon, we were told upon check-in that we would need to recheck-in the next day. Ummm, okay. Which we did and had our keys re-activated, only to have them not actually work, which had us returning to the check-in desk yet again. On our way to the hotel we called for directions because GPS wasn't finding the particular street/court, and the staff just gave us the address again. Wow - thanks! How about a cross street? At breakfast another guest was asking for an egg to be prepared without cheese due to a dairy allergy. The kitchen did not want to comply stating that they weren't allowed to cook-to-order. Someone eventually did help this person out, but it was another example where customer service was clearly not a priority. This place left a lot to be desired, which the staff said she hoped would be better on our next return. After I had just shared all of our concerns, I was confused as to why anyone would think we were returning. Nice hotel, but seriously lacking in attention to detail and customer service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times. Every room is the same - a mini suite with king bed, large couch, fold out double bed, fridge, bath with large walk in shower, desk. There is free breakfast, nice pool, exercise room with 2 treadmills, an elliptical and a bike as well as free weights and a bench. The place is always quiet, the rooms sumptuous with poofy linens, huge tv, extra blankets and a million pillows. Reception is always professional, courteous, prompt. They do have a snack area with coffee and apparently you can order custom cooked meals, but we haven't ever used that. Breakfast always has fruit, a hot item (egg sandwiches this time) a selection of breads, cereal, hot oatmeal, and coffee and tea. It always feels peaceful here. We love the feeling of getting away from it all. And we often get a discount when we look for it on line.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
4.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids SW/Byron Center
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Address: 2150 Metro Ln SW, Wyoming, MI 49519-9692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing