We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hyatt Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 November 2009

The Hyatt Place Grand Rapids in Wyoming, Michigan is probably the nicest Hyatt Place I have ever been to. It appears that it was built from the ground up to be a Hyatt Place, and was not a conversion from AmeriSuites, so none of the slight annoyances of most Hyatt Place properties are not present here.

For those who aren't familiar, every room has a bed, a couch, a desk, and a 43" plasma TV with high definition programming. This location also has a nice stand up shower as well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpetralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 568 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel is now my favorite in the Grand Rapids area. It's convenient to the shopping in Grandville and activities and events in Grand Rapids. The rooms are comfortable, with a sitting area that contains a nice-sized sleeper sofa and ottoman, as well as a work desk, The bathrooms are smaller in the King rooms, with a glass-doored shower only - no tub. Double bedded rooms are a bit larger and the bathrooms there have shower/bath combos. Sinks in both configurations are located just outside of the bathroom. Large flat-screen tvs can be swiveled so they can be viewed from the seating area or the beds. Little touches such as square bowls and plates in the breakfast area make this hotel different and special.

Service is very professional and friendly. As an example, my son had leftovers from his dinner and wanted to reheat them later in the evening. The clerk showed him the guest kitchen that is available for guests to use whenever they may need it, and he took his meal, transferred it from the styrofoam to-go container to a dinner plate, and reheated it for him. So even though there may not be a microwave or dishes in your room, they are always available to you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElCheapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This is a wonderful hotel. Easy access off of highway, friendly staff, free wi-fi, free breakfast, rooms were very large & clean and there is room service if you desire. If your traveling with children or find yourself sick, there is a hospital right next door. Also near a CVS & Walgreens should u need that. Dining options around the area are kinda limited. Only complaint was that the pool water was very cold for being an indoor pool.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLMORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

The Hyatt Place exceeded all of my expectations. The rooms are huge! The couch in the sitting area and the beds were all comfortable. The TV turned enough for viewing from either the sitting area or bedroom. There is a fridge that kept our things cold. I thought it was nice that there was a thermostat by the door in addition to being able to set the temperature on the heater/air conditioner. The thermostat and lights are motion sensored. The only problem we had with that was the light going off in the bathroom while showering. So, we just took faster showers. The towels and washclothes were big and fluffy. The bathroom sink is outside the bath/toilet area. There is plenty of counter space and a small closet. We were not bothered by noise from neighboring rooms or the outside. The only noise we heard was children running up and down the halls.
The work-out room had 2 treadmills, a stationary bike, and an eliptical machine. The pool is indoors and on the small side. I think it would be crowded if you have 4 or 5 families trying to use it. There is an outdoor area for taking in the sun. You do need your room key to access both the work-out room and pool.
The business center is just 2 computers and a printer. This area is located right behind the check-in desk in a high traffic area. There is no privacy at all.
As we did not take advantage of any of the food service, I can not comment on the quality of the food. The area where the continental breakfast is served is decent sized (probably about 12 tables). There are plenty of places to eat across the road from the Medical Campus.
I really wanted to stay at this hotel even though it was not in downtown Grand Rapids. It wasn't more than a 10 minute drive to where we needed to be, but I was glad to have a GPS.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reece7r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
8.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#20 of 49 in Grand Rapids
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
19 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
920 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Address: 2150 Metro Ln SW, Wyoming, MI 49519-9692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range: £123 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing