We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice, clean place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Friendly & helpful staff. Clean rooms, comfy beds, one of the best breakfasts I've had at a Hampton Inn. Would recommend a friend or stay here again myself in the future. Decent restaurants nearby to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dragonflytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi M, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear dragonflytoo:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the kind words regarding our friendly staff, abundant breakfast, and clean guest rooms. I can't wait to share your comments with our hardworking staff.

We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    99
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
128
72
21
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fowlerville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Nice, quiet room. Clean hotel with a friendly staff. I was looking for a place to stay in Grand Rapids, but the hotels in the downtown area were more expensive; some were much larger with many floors. I liked the idea that this hotel only had a few floors and ample parking. This hotel was about 6 miles away from the downtown activities, but it was just a short drive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laure F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi M, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Laure F:

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent experience at our hotel. It's great to receive your complimentary feedback on our location and friendly staff. We appreciate you choosing our hotel during your travels, and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very clean, very helpful staff, check in was quick. I would stay here again. The lobby was set up nice and it was very clean. The guy who checked us in was very helpful and quick. If you are attending an event downtown Grand Rapids, this is very close (within 6 or 7miles) not a bad drive to get there and the prices are cheaper than staying in one downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi M, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Lisa R:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service, comfort, and convenience of our suburban hotel. We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you to the Grand Rapids area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
367 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

For an older Hampton Inn property, this hotel is in great shape concerning its rooms and lobby. The staff is extremely friendly, along with the rooms being exceptioinallly clean. Good choice of restaurants around. Breakfast is great with many choices as well. Definitelly worth a stay if you are in the Grand Rapids area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear ECU1987

Thank you for your kind review of our property and taking the time to share you experience with our hotel with the TripAdvisor Community.

I have shared your review with our staff and hope to serve you again if you are ever back in the Grand Rapids area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Rockwood, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

To me, Hampton Inn means good quality and a very good value. This hotel exceeded that expectation. It is very clean, very nice, and the staff very friendly. I would definately stay again. The location is great for a stay in or around Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear S P :

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the TripAdvisor Community. We are thankful for your kind review and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve again you again next time you are in the Grand Rapids area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn just before Christmas. An ice storm hit and we lost our power very early that day. We came to the hotel and were given a room right away. Very comfortable, quiet in all the right places. The pool was fun, the whirlpool tub was hot & felt great, after braving the cold to get there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you sharing your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. Communication is a powerful tool to help us better our service and product.

I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you so early in the day and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Overall it was a good stay, however when compared to other Hampton Inn's I would say it's just below average, which is not a bad thing as Hampton typically tend to be excellent. It's in a good location, close to restaurants, stores, downtown GR, and even an indoor Craig's Cruisers which is always fun. The pool area was nice, however, the pool was cold and the hot tub too hot. The breakfast was below average. There was a decent amount of food, but a little less than most Hampton's. The breakfast area was very nice though. The front desk staff was very friendly which is a trademark of Hampton Inn. The hot chocolate during the winter was nice. You could grab a cup right by the door and head out. Not a bad stay, if I were back in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurt B, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Michael W

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review and sharing your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community.

I am happy that overall you had a good stay with us, but sorry that there were things you thought could have been better. I have gone over your comments with our maintenance staff and encouraged them to keep a better eye on the pool and hot tub temperatures.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our property if you are back in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyoming
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
3.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
8.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#12 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Property: Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
Address: 755 54th St SW, Wyoming, MI 49509-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming
Hampton Inn Wyoming
Wyoming Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing