We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip to Spain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Santo Estevo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Santo Estevo
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

When we decided to visit the Rivera Sacra I knew it would be difficult to navigate without help from someone who not only spoke English but was on the same page culturally. Our visit to Casa Santa Estevo did not just fit the bill. My expectations were greatly exceeded. Ian and Irene worked tirelessly during our stay to ensure that we had the best stay possible. I won't repeat the comments made by other guests, just concur that we found our room exceedingly comfortable and clean and slept best at this place. Most of the other places we stayed at in Spain were very noisy whether it was noise from other rooms, dogs barking, roosters crowing, church bells ringing or traffic. Here we heard the sounds of silence at night! We were lucky and usually even had WiFi access in our rooms. It was a treat to have breakfast when we woke up rather than having to reserve a specific time. Unlike some of the other places we stayed at, the WIFI here worked the entire week we were here. As I was roaming, I also had incredibly good cellular reception here. Ian and Irene arranged visits to some of the smaller wineries for us and Irene translated into English for my husband. Before we arrived, Irene asked us if we wanted dinner included. Realizing that the dinner hour was 9:30pm and we were in the country we agreed as the price was reasonable. With a little nervousness as I don't eat meat and probably am a bit of a picky eater. We had no idea of the treat we were in store for. The experience was similar to being invited to a dinner party each night. The food was absolutely the best in home cooking. Irene made sure there was a vegetarian or seafood entrée for me each night and I enjoyed everything placed in front of me. The price included three courses, bread, water, and wine. We met so many interesting people. I would return just for the dinner parties! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Santo_Estevo, Owner at Casa Santo Estevo, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you taking time to post a review of Casa Santo Estevo.
Showing small groups around, our adopted country, is a pleasure for us. Having a delightful company for the evening meal makes our day(s).
Leaving such a wonderful review is humbling indeed. Reading through your other reviews, posted after this trip, we are glad to have been part of a wonderful vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in Casa Santo Estevo on May 2013. This is a perfect place to relax and rest outside of the real World. The Hotel is located near a very old church built near 1100-1200 AD that we had the opportunity to know 13 years ago. The owners Ms Irene and Mr Ian were very friendly, helpful and polite. The house is the typical Galician country house with thick stone walls and even with a typical Galician wood fired kitchen. It is a nice experience if you want to know one. Decoration was warm and cozy. Our room had excellent view to the Mino river and and the vineyards around it.

Our room and bathroom were extremely clean and everything was neat, provided with thick towels and a comfortable bed. The heating system worked very well. WiFi did not reach our room probably due to the thick stone walls. However, no problem with the connection was found in the hall and dining room. This problem could be overcome with a repeater or a range extender. Breakfast was excellent with home made jelly prepared by Irene.

A small inconvenient was experienced when paying. The credit card machine requested a PIN for our U.S. credit card . The same card had been used in many other places in Spain (before and after) without problem by clicking enter two times instead of entering a non-existent PIN, but it seems that there was not too much experience with this. Anyway we paid with cash and the problem was solved.

As said before, this Hotel is highly recommended if you want to expend some days resting or going around to explore the area. By the way, the place is located relatively close to Chantada, Escairon and Monforte de Lemos and all the Ribeira Sacra. We will come back if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Santo_Estevo, Owner at Casa Santo Estevo, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you very much for the review and the positive observations.

At the time we were just as mystified as you as to why the card did not work. It was not until after you had left that we established that there was actually a problem with our telephone connection. It took the ‘phone company 5 days to establish where it was and make the repair.

We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at Casa Santo Estevo from Australia, for 5 nights in March 2012. Our stay was memorable for a range of reasons. The B & B was very clean and comfortable and in a very pretty location. The owners were warm and friendly and helpful with tourist information. We also booked to have our evening meals provided and this was a gastronomic delight. Irena is the most wonderful cook. Probably some of the best food we have experienced in any of our travel overseas. As well as this, Irena and Ian were delightful and interesting dinner company. We had planned to revisit later in the year but it wasn't possible. However, we do hope to revisit again one day and continue our exploration of Galicia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank najneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Santo_Estevo, Owner at Casa Santo Estevo, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
It is very humbling to read your comments, especially about our meals; we appreciate them.
Sorry you were not able to make it back to Galicia. We can always give you more pointers when you do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencian Country, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night but it was really superb. Located in the heart of rural Galicia, the casa is the definition of peace and tranquility.
Like all the rooms in the house,our room and en suite were simply but tastefully furnished with all the comforts necessary for a memorable visit and the view was stunning !
The owners Ian & Irene are the perfect hosts, so pleasant and knowledgeable, and Irene's culinary talents are not to be missed !
We loved our all too brief stay and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa_Santo_Estevo, Owner at Casa Santo Estevo, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for our review.

It is very humbling to read your comments, we appreciate them.
We have to concur our location is peaceful and away from all the hustle of town and city life. But we are near to good road connections which will allow you to explore the area and most of Galicia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I spent just one night but two very full days at the Casa Santo Estevo this summer. I was walking one of the Caminos to Santiago, and took a break to soak up some of the stunning surroundings. The house itself is beautiful and comfortable, with gardens and terraces for outdoor enjoyment. I ate three meals there, all yummy and home cooked. For the British-Dutch couple who own the house, this is a labor of love. There is absolutely nothing I would do to improve this place. When was the last time you sat outside as evening fell, with its spectacular display of stars unimpeded by city lights, sipping on wine that came from a vineyard you could see across the river?

Santo Estevo is located on a hill overlooking the incredibly beautiful Minho River with its terraced vineyards. It is close to some terrific "off the beaten path" touring -- the towns/cities of Monforte, Ourense, Lugo, and Chantada, are all easy drives. And the Sil River gorge is close and incredibly beautiful, more dramatic and rocky than the part of the Minho this house sits on. The Sil joins the Minho at Os Peares, which is also very close. If you're a fan of romanesque architecture, the house is next door to Santo Estevo de Ribas de Minho (I think it was Spain's first national monument), about a 40 minute shaded walk up to the church at Diamondi, and within easy driving distance of the monastery of Santo Estevo on the Sil River(now a parador), and Santa Cristina de Ribas de Sil -- plus many more.

With lots of recent road construction (fortunately, several kms away), Casa Santo Estevo is extremely well connected for taking off in many directions. It's just the perfect combination for getting up and going to visit some of Galicia's prime sites and for coming back to the tranquility and beauty of the house and its surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lreynold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have stayed at this casa 3 times and will go back in September. The owners are welcoming and also, a lot of fun; the house itself seems to welcome the guest. Rooms are clean, well furnished and comfy. There is a wonderful outdoor area for guests to have some wine and listen to the birds chirp. Just around the house is a famous Romanesque church that is lit up at night. It is a very special setting.

Dinners are great - Irene is the chef and she is an excellent one. The table is communal, so if you are really shy or having an affair or something, maybe it would not work for you. In this case there are other places to eat around, but one of the best things about this place are the lively dinners. They have really good bread for breakfast and for dinner that is delivered by a local baker . They also offer some great local wines by the glass or bottle. The owners Ian and Irene will point you in the right direction when heading out for a day in the area. I love it there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rialtogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We selected Casa Santo Estevo as our home base for the Galician part of our 11 day trip through northern Spain based on reviews from various web sites, however nothing prepared us for the truly warm reception we found from our arrival till the day we departed. We especially enjoyed the isolated/hidden location next to an old historic church with views of vineyards and the river valley. Ian and Irene, the owners, are experts on the Galician area and are very proud of this region of Spain. During our 3 night stay, Irene and Ian introduced us and the other guests to places known only by the locals which we promised not to divulge. When we went to Santiago de Compostela, Ian went out of his way to ensure we knew how to reach the best parking garage, both for security and location. Also, I would be remiss if I did not mention the excellent evening meals prepared by Irene. At Casa Santo Estevo, Irene and Ian go out of their way to ensure your visit is truly one that you will remember.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank love2travel055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ribas de Mino
13.9 mi away
Parador de Santo Estevo
Parador de Santo Estevo
#1 of 3 in Nogueira de Ramuin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rectoral de Castillon
Rectoral de Castillon
#2 of 2 in Panton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mogay
Hotel Mogay
#1 of 1 in Chantada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cabo Do Mundo Casa Rural
Cabo Do Mundo Casa Rural
#1 of 3 in Chantada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
21.0 mi away
Fervenza Casa Grande
Fervenza Casa Grande
#1 of 2 in O Corgo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santo Estevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santo Estevo

Property: Casa Santo Estevo
Address: Santo Estevo | 4 - O Savinao, 27594 Ribas de Mino, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Ribas de Mino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ribas de Mino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
:CASA SANTO ESTEVO is a Casa Rural and is registered and operated under the regulations of Rural Tourism for Galicia, (Turgalicia).The house has been furnished to retain an old world ambience of a traditional Galician farmhouse; yet at the same time there are all the comforts that modern living requires. Inside the 6 en-suite bedrooms are spread over 3 storeys that are accessible using stairs.We are located in the heart of Galicia in the wine area known as the Ribeira Sacra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Santo Estevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing