We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't return” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Detroit/Greenfield KOA

Detroit/Greenfield KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ypsilanti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Detroit/Greenfield KOA
connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Sites too small and grounds in rough shape. Water slide in lake but only for admission fee. 5 showers not clean. Mini golf beat up. Stayed here to be close to Henry ford museum (which it was). Camp store expensive. Agree with last review about some heavy partying near the beach. On the flip side, lots of sunnies to catch which my kids loved. And one of the clerks in the store very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
13
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a former KOA, in need of updating. Our first impressions was that this was a beautiful campground, located on the lake. This campground has 200+ sites and they are packed in pretty tight. There are only 5 shower stalls for the entire campground and some of them don't even have working lights. While they do clean the restrooms, by evening they are trashed with that many people using the 5 stalls (at least in the women's room, can't speak for the men's room). This campground appears to be a gathering spot for the locals to come and party on the weekends. The campers accross from us had multiple visitors who came out to drink and party. By 3:00 in the afternoon they were falling down drunk, profanity was every other word coming out of their mouth and the woman was on top of their truck with her top off. Management came over to the campsite at least 8 times in one evening to ask them to tone it down. At midnight they were still yelling and swearing. The same thing started the next afternoon with management continuing to come over to the campsite but unwilling to evict them. We decided to leave before dinner time and demanded a refund of that night's fee. Management agreed and said they understood but there was nothing they could do about the campers. Not the kind of place we would camp at again with our three girls.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OhioFamily_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
339 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had a work project in the area, so decided to run by to check out this park. Next time we return, we will be in our fifth-wheel.

Detroit doesn't have many RV parks, so we wanted to see what this offered. We were pleased with the sites, spacious for large rigs, but heavily treed still. Will take an experienced driver to tuck into the spaces, but we saw large motorhomes & trailers comfortably situated.

There are spaces lakeside as well as a walk inland. There is a nice bicycle path around the park and lake. Not sure about the staff, we didn't interact with them. Just registered at the office, got a brochure and drove SLOWLY around.

Everyone seemed to be having a good time. It's about a 30 minute drive east to Henry Ford and farther to downtown, but there aren't many choices close to downtown. None that we know of. Yes we would stay here next time we are in the area with the RV.

Room Tip: I wish Trip Advisor had a special classification for RV parks because the rooms are ALWAYS going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

After reading some of the reviews for the Detroit/Greenfield RV park, formerly known as a KOA facility, I was a little hesitant to bring a group of 20 girl scouts down to stay for 2 nights but I reserved 4 tent spots anyway, and had high expectations for a good visit. Our group was well received, and treated with warmth and respect. Facility staff made sure we were comfortable, and had emergency weather information and safety procedures. They were eager to help us out, and provide for anything that we may have needed. Our tent sites were centrally located and easily accessible for all of our scouts/vehicles. The staff was polite, helpful and patient with the scouts. The camp grounds were clean, well kept, and enjoyable to visit. Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: Firepits were small and below ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcase4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

The park grounds themselves seem fine. The roads are a bit rough. It’s close to the Henry Ford Museum. However, I can only rate this campground as terrible as a result of their dishonest advertising and business practices. The problem we had is that we booked an advertised “Two-night Henry Ford Package” that included tickets to the Henry Ford Museum. After driving 150 miles to the campground, when checking in we were told there we no more tickets available, despite us having reserved the “package” a week in advance. The staff were completely unapologetic about this. They seemed to think it’s fine to bait people to come to the campground on the basis of a “package” deal, when in fact there is no package at all—they just sell tickets on a first-come, first-served basis. If they run out, they figure that’s your problem. After some discussion, the staff agreed to credit my account for the difference in the cost of tickets at their advertised discounted price and the tickets I needed to buy myself at the museum. Then, after I bought the tickets at the museum, they changed their story and denied ever agreeing to credit my account. If you’re visiting the Henry Ford, save your money and frustration. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank easycamper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We also read the negative reviews and my wife was a little nervous about the park. Upon our arrival I was greeted by a very friendly staff and clean office. We immediately noticed all the kids riding bikes and families around. We began backing into our spot and were greeted by our neighbor for the weekend. She couldn't have been any friendlier to us and we later found out that she was an employee who works in the front office. The park was very clean, families were having a blast everywhere we went. Our boys fished, swam, rode bikes all weekend and we never had one bad experience. What a pleasent, clean, friendly, place to camp. We will definately be back, we only wish that it was closer to our Indiana home, a 5 hour drive for us. We noticed alot of late night campfires and no one seemed to be bothered by any security guard. Maybe those others were just noisy and won't admit it. We had a great weekend at this campground, and we will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bklowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton,Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

After reading a couple of very negative reviews I must relate our experience. All visits have been a delight and minimum problems have been encountered! Maybe some updates could be accomplished but it still is a pleasant and convenient camping/RV site. Enough "modern" facilities and enough rustice environs. Most likely previous complainers are the inconsiderate "Not Noisy " persons in only their own estimations. A lot of people speak too loud around a campfire because they only think of themselves. We have all had the noisy experience throughout the US & Canada. Be toughtful citizens and you will probably be welcomed with no problems. Oh yes, I'll be back again this June and look forward to a congenial staff and comfortable campground! I'll again "Shush" after 11:00 PM ("Herb" from Ohio)

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ypsilanti hotels
3.3 mi away
Ann Arbor Marriott Ypsilanti at Eagle Crest
4.0 mi away
The Queen's Residence B&B
The Queen's Residence B&B
#1 of 2 in Ypsilanti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Parish House Inn
Parish House Inn
#2 of 2 in Ypsilanti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit/Greenfield KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit/Greenfield KOA

Property: Detroit/Greenfield KOA
Address: 6680 Bunton Road, Ypsilanti, MI 48197
Region: United States > Michigan > Ypsilanti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ypsilanti
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Detroit/Greenfield Koa Hotel Ypsilanti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing