We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Timey Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haab's Restaurant

Haab's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 167 Restaurants in Ypsilanti
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Timey Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is not fine dining. This is good food in a good place at a good price for
a good time. Fine meats with special signature dishes that have been there
forever--try the chicken in a basket, filet, onion rings, etc. I can return confidently knowing that what I liked 30 years ago will be as good. Servers are diner quality. Yet even in this simple,yummy place they had splits of
sparkling to toast my friend! Certainly worth your time; easy parking close by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank judithgmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
478 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Average Steaks...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a Groupon deal for this place. It was 2 entrees and an appetizer for $29. It was a great deal as we started with shrimp cocktail. The shrimp was average size though a couple of them were not completely defrosted. I ordered the NY strip while my daughter had the London Broil. Neither really stood out and the London Broil was probably a little over cooked. For the deal I had, no complaints. On the positive side, the service was excellent. I found the decor to be in keeping with the tradition of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
781 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“Back in the 1980s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The last time I ate here was decades ago. When I was a college student in the 1980s I had eaten at Haabs quite a few times. Then, just as now, the food was very good. They still have the cold pewter salad plates that I remembered.

I had the seafood platter which included clams, fish and shrimp. My wife ordered the whitefish... highly recommended .

The decor has changed very little... and I hope it never does. The charm of the old days is great for reminiscing fond memories.

Back in the 1970s and 1980s this was always the best restaurant in Ypsilanti. Even now, it still remains one of the top restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, "classic" decor.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

As others have said the place looks a little dated but I have found such places to have the best food. It might be the kind of place your Grandma would fall in love with but don't brush it off because good food takes time and this place has been around for a while! Try the chicken in the basket, or the ramaki, or darn near anything. This hidden gem of Ypsilanti makes me long for my old college days at EMU. Someday I will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Haab's Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The restaurant is a little dated by the decor, but if you can get past that, the food is really good. This is a great place for a family dinner, or date. I would highly recommend the deep fried mushrooms, they are phenomenal and huge! Dinner portions are perfect!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kabonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haab's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haab's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing